Write a Review
Logo of "reviewmobilityยฎ" in white lowercase letters on a black background, featuring a thumbs-up icon to the left of the text.

Best Mobility Hoists and Lifting Aids for Home: 6 Checked Against Their Makers’ Documents

Last Updated on September 25, 2026 | Published: October 13, 2024

Best mobility hoists and lifting aids for home

Last checked: 18 September 2026. Every specification on this page was read from the manufacturer’s own product page, leaflet, spec sheet or instructions on that date. We have not used these products; see how we checked. Links to Amazon are paid links, so we may earn a commission if you buy.

This page compares six home lifting aids sold in the UK: two Invacare Birdie EVO patient hoists, the Mangar Camel floor-lifting cushion, the Mangar Bathing Cushion, the NRS Riverdale bath lift and the Mangar Raiser chair cushion. We have not tested any of them. Every figure comes from the maker’s own product page, spec sheet or user manual, read on 18 September 2026, and where two of those documents disagree we say so and use the less flattering number. A hoist is a piece of lifting equipment for a person, so it should follow an assessment by an occupational therapist or physiotherapist; this page helps you read the paperwork, and it gives no clinical advice.

The headline: 3 of the 6 products have a figure that differs between two of the maker’s own documents, and the biggest gap is on the Birdie EVO Compact, where the product page gives a 1070 mm turning diameter and the manual gives 1210 mm. Only one maker, NRS, prints a warranty period in the documents we read.

The short answer

  1. Invacare Birdie EVO: best full hoist for bed, chair and floor transfers: 180 kg safe working load, legs open to 1020 mm inside.
  2. Invacare Birdie EVO Compact: best hoist for smaller rooms and car boots: 31 kg total, 17 kg heaviest part, 150 kg limit.
  3. Mangar Camel: best for getting someone up off the floor after a fall: 320 kg user limit, seat rises to 56 cm.
  4. Mangar Bathing Cushion: best bath lift with light parts: 2 kg cushion, 3.7 kg compressor, 150 kg limit.
  5. NRS Riverdale Bath Lift: best-value reclining bath lift: 136 kg limit and the only printed warranty here (5 years frame).
  6. Mangar Raiser: best for standing up from an armchair only: 190 kg limit, 23 cm lift.

What checking the documents turned up

3 of the 6 have a figure that differs between two of the maker’s own documents. Birdie EVO Compact (turning diameter 1070 mm against 1210 mm), NRS Riverdale (total weight 14 kg against 11.7 kg) and Mangar Raiser (product weight 2.8 kg against 0.60kg). The Camel and the Bathing Cushion documents agree on every figure we compared, apart from a half-centimetre difference in the cushion’s lowest height.

Only 1 of the 6 products, the NRS Riverdale, has a warranty period stated in the documents we read. The Riverdale manual gives 5 years on the frame and 2 years on electronic parts. The Invacare manuals refer you to the company’s terms and conditions, and the three Mangar manuals describe what the warranty covers without saying how long it lasts.

The documents for all 6 products set an annual (12-month) service or inspection interval; HSE says lifting equipment used to lift people at work needs a thorough examination every six months. Both Invacare manuals quote that six-monthly LOLER rule themselves. None of the three Mangar manuals or the NRS manual mentions LOLER.

Only 2 of the 6, the two Birdie hoists, move a person between bed, chair and floor. The other four each do one job: the Camel raises someone from the floor to sitting, the Bathing Cushion and Riverdale lower and raise in the bath, and the Raiser only helps someone sit down into or stand up from an armchair.

How we checked, and what we did not do

We did not buy, use or measure any of these products. For each one we opened the manufacturer’s UK product page and the documents it links to (leaflet, spec sheet, instructions for use), and in a few cases a copy of the maker’s instructions hosted by a dealer where the maker does not host its own. We recorded each figure with the document it came from.

Where two of the maker’s documents give different figures for the same thing, we apply the least-favourable-figure rule: the table shows the less flattering one and the text shows both. Buyers who plan around the least favourable figure are never caught out; buyers who plan around the best one sometimes are.

For a hoist, three numbers decide whether it works in your home: the safe working load (the person plus sling and spreader bar must stay under it), the inside width when the legs are open (it has to go round the chair or wheelchair base), and the turning diameter (it has to turn in the room with someone in the sling). We also record the weight of the heaviest single part, because folding hoists get lifted into car boots and cupboards. For cushions and bath lifts the equivalent figures are the user limit, the seat height range and the weight of the compressor or base unit. Makers of hoists give several widths (centre to centre of the castors, inside, outside with legs closed); we use the inside width with legs open, which is the one that has to clear furniture.

We only included products from makers with published UK documents, and only products currently listed on Amazon UK so each pick can carry a live price box. Rankings are our judgement from the documents. No manufacturer or retailer paid to appear, and none saw this page before publication. If you think we have a figure wrong, email hello@reviewmobility.co.uk with the document and we will correct it.

All 6 compared

Figures are the maker’s own. Where the maker’s documents disagree, the table shows the less favourable figure (see each pick for both). Amazon prices change often, so they are in the live boxes, not the table.

#ModelTypeMax userWeight: total / heaviest partLift or seat heightFootprintWarranty
1Invacare Birdie EVOFolding mobile hoist180 kg40 kg / 21 kg (base)1240 mm lifting rangeLegs open 1020 mm inside; closed 640 mm; turning 1400 mmPeriod not stated
2Invacare Birdie EVO CompactFolding mobile hoist150 kg31 kg / 17 kg (base)1060 mm lifting rangeLegs open 815 mm inside; closed 520 mm; turning 1210 mmPeriod not stated
3Mangar CamelFloor-lifting cushion320 kg6.5 kg cushion / 4.1 kg compressorFlat to 56 cm seat112 x 70 cmPeriod not stated
4Mangar Bathing CushionInflatable bath lift150 kg2 kg cushion / 3.7 kg compressor0.5 to 40 cm seatSeat 58 cm widePeriod not stated
5NRS Riverdale Bath LiftPowered reclining bath lift136 kg14 kg / 6.55 kg (base unit)6 to 48 cm seat36.6 cm base; 69.9 cm with side flaps5 years frame, 2 years electronics
6Mangar RaiserChair lifting cushion190 kg2.8 kg cushion / 3.7 kg compressor23 cm lift43 x 43 cmPeriod not stated

Table checked 18 September 2026. Max user is the maker’s safe working load or maximum user weight; for hoists this includes the sling and spreader bar. Where the maker’s documents disagree we show the less flattering figure. “Period not stated” means the documents we read describe the warranty without giving its length.

Photo Title Price Buy
Invacare Birdie EVO...image Invacare Birdie EVO 180 Patient Lifting Hoist 180 kg Limit ยฃ1,345.55
ELECTRIC FOLDING LIFTER...image ELECTRIC FOLDING LIFTER - Invacare Birdie Compact Evo ยฃ1,635.15
Mangar Camel Emergency...image Mangar Camel Emergency Lifting Cushion ยฃ3,200.00
Mangar Bathing Cushion...image Mangar Bathing Cushion with Airflo ยฃ679.98
NRS Riverdale Bath...image NRS Riverdale Bath Lift โ€“ Reclining & Lightweight for safe independent bathing, up to 50ยฐ recline, emergency stop function for safety, easy to use & clean ยฃ269.99
NRS Mangar Raiser...image NRS Mangar Raiser Lifting Cushion ยฃ572.28

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

1. Invacare Birdie EVO: best full hoist for bed, chair and floor transfers

The Birdie EVO is a folding mobile hoist that lifts to or from a bed, chair or the floor, with a 180 kg safe working load. It is the widest-legged model here, which matters when the legs have to straddle a chair. Invacare’s UK business now trades as DHCare after the merger with Direct Healthcare Group, and the documents sit on dhcare.co.uk.

Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)

The Birdie EVO is the safest general choice here for a person up to 180 kg, provided the room allows its 1400 mm turning diameter and a carer is trained to use it.

Best for: people who cannot bear weight and need carer-assisted transfers at home, including from the floor.

Not for: small bedrooms or tight bathrooms, since it needs a 1400 mm turning diameter and the base alone weighs 21 kg; and anyone over 180 kg including sling and spreader bar.

Safe working load180 kg (includes sling and spreader bar)
Total weight40 kg excluding spreader bar
Heaviest partBase 21 kg; mast with battery 19 kg
Lifting range1240 mm
Inside width, legs open1020 mm (product page)
Width, legs closed640 mm
Turning diameter1400 mm
Lifts per charge40 full lifts (battery 100% to 50%)
SlingsLoop slings for a coat-hanger spreader bar with hooks
ServiceAt least every 12 months (manual)

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

We have not listed a contradiction for the Birdie EVO. The UK product page gives “Base length 1220 mm” and “Inside width legs opened 1020 mm”; the user manual (60128520-F) prints separate columns for the EVO and EVO PLUS, and we could not confirm from the PDF text which figures belong to which, so we use the product page’s 1020 mm opening and suggest you measure the chair or bed base against it. One dealer we checked, John Preston Healthcare, lists minimum and maximum heights of 645 mm and 1,885 mm, which do not match the sling hook-up heights on Invacare’s product page.

UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: John Preston Healthcare ยฃ1,167.00 ex VAT, eligible for VAT relief (ยฃ1,400.40 inc VAT, manual leg opening); Tiacare ยฃ750.00 with VAT relief. Amazon’s live price is in the box below.

Photo Title Price Buy
Invacare Birdie EVO...image Invacare Birdie EVO 180 Patient Lifting Hoist 180 kg Limit ยฃ1,345.55

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Documents read: Birdie EVO UK product page (dhcare.co.uk), Birdie EVO, EVO PLUS and EVO XPLUS user manual 60128520-F, DHCare Safe Patient Handling 2026 price list, read 18 September 2026.

2. Invacare Birdie EVO Compact: best hoist for smaller rooms and car boots

The EVO Compact is the smaller Birdie: 31 kg in total, a 17 kg base and a 14 kg mast, and it folds without tools. The trade-off is a 150 kg safe working load and narrower legs. Its turning diameter is where the maker’s documents disagree most.

Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)

The Birdie EVO Compact is the lighter hoist to fold and carry, but its 150 kg limit includes the sling and spreader bar, and the manual’s 1210 mm turning diameter is 140 mm more than the product page says.

Best for: people up to around 150 kg total load who need a hoist that folds for storage or travel, in homes where the full-size Birdie will not turn.

Not for: anyone whose weight plus sling and spreader bar approaches 150 kg, or where the legs must open wider than 815 mm inside to clear a chair.

Safe working load150 kg (patient + spreader bar + sling)
Total weight31 kg excluding spreader bar
Heaviest partManual base 17 kg; mast with battery 14 kg
Lifting range1060 mm
Inside width, legs open815 mm (manual also lists 835 mm for one castor version)
Width, legs closed520 mm
Turning diameter1210 mm without lever (manual); product page 1070 mm
Lifts per charge40 full lifts (battery 100% to 50%)
SlingsLoop slings for a coat-hanger spreader bar with hooks
ServiceAt least every 12 months (manual)

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

The UK product page gives “Turning diameter 1070 mm”. The user manual (60133094-C, dated 2025-04-09) gives “Turning diameter without lever 1210” and “Turning diameter with lever 1245”. We list 1210 mm; if the push lever is fitted, allow 1245 mm. One dealer we checked, Essential Aids, lists a “Turning radius: 1070mm”, repeating the product page figure under a different name.

UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Essential Aids ยฃ649.00 at 0% VAT rate (VAT relief); CLH Healthcare ยฃ750.00 ex VAT (ยฃ900.00 inc VAT); Shire Mobility from ยฃ1,051 with VAT relief. Amazon’s live price is in the box below.

Photo Title Price Buy
ELECTRIC FOLDING LIFTER...image ELECTRIC FOLDING LIFTER - Invacare Birdie Compact Evo ยฃ1,635.15

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Documents read: Birdie EVO Compact UK product page (dhcare.co.uk), Birdie EVO Compact user manual 60133094-C, DHCare Safe Patient Handling 2026 price list, read 18 September 2026.

3. Mangar Camel: best for getting someone up off the floor after a fall

The Camel is an inflatable cushion that raises a person who has fallen from the floor to a seated height of about 56 cm, driven by the Airflo 24 battery compressor. Mangar is now part of Winncare, and the UK documents are on winncare.uk. It has the highest user limit on this page by a wide margin.

Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)

The Camel is the choice for repeat falls at home, with a 320 kg user limit and a 6.5 kg cushion, but the maker says the fallen person’s medical state must be assessed before every lift.

Best for: households where someone falls and cannot get up, and the carer should not lift them by hand.

Not for: transfers between bed and chair, which it does not do; and anyone who may be injured after a fall, since the manual requires an assessment before lifting.

Max user weight320 kg
Seat heightFlat to 56 cm
Cushion weight6.5 kg including hand control
CompressorAirflo 24, 4.1 kg
Size inflated112 x 70 cm
Rolled in bag76 cm long, 20 cm diameter
Lifts per chargeUp to 4 (product sheet)
InspectionAnnually (manual)

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

We found no disagreement between the Camel product page, product sheet (ML1019 Issue 2) and user instructions (MI0441 issue 5): all give 320 kg, 56 cm and 6.5 kg. The manual says the Camel “may be used with or without a helper” and that “the medical state of a person needing to be raised MUST be assessed before commencing a lift.”

UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Ability Superstore ยฃ2,874.99 with VAT relief (ยฃ3,449.99 including VAT), with compressor; MedTree ยฃ2,999.00 exc VAT (ยฃ3,598.80 inc VAT), with compressor. Amazon’s live price is in the box below.

Photo Title Price Buy
Mangar Camel Emergency...image Mangar Camel Emergency Lifting Cushion ยฃ3,200.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Documents read: Winncare UK Mangar Camel product page, Camel product sheet ML1019 Issue 2, Camel user instructions MI0441 issue 5, Airflo 24 compressor product page and user instructions, read 18 September 2026.

4. Mangar Bathing Cushion: best bath lift with light parts

The Bathing Cushion sits in the bath on suction cups and inflates to lift the bather to about 40 cm, then deflates to lower them. It runs from the Airflo 12 battery compressor. At 2 kg for the cushion, it is the lightest bath lift here to lift in and out.

Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)

The Bathing Cushion suits bathers up to 150 kg who need light parts, with a 2 kg cushion and a 3.7 kg compressor, though the manual says help should still be on hand.

Best for: people who can sit unsupported and want a bath lift that a carer can lift in and out easily.

Not for: anyone over 150 kg, or who cannot sit safely without support; it has no powered recline.

Max user weight150 kg
Seat heightAbout 40 cm down to 0.5 cm
Cushion weight2 kg
CompressorAirflo 12, 3.7 kg
Seat58 cm wide, 44 cm deep
Lifts per chargeUp to 8 lifts (4 bathing cycles) (product sheet)
InspectionAnnually (manual)

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

We found no material disagreement between the product page, product sheet (ML1018 Issue 2) and user instructions (MI0440 Issue 6); the page and sheet list minimum height as “Flat” and the manual as “0,5cm (approx)”. One dealer we checked, Essential Aids, lists a maximum user weight of “135kg (21 stone)”; the maker’s documents say 150 kg.

UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Essential Aids ยฃ419.95 at 0% VAT rate (VAT relief); Mobility Smart ยฃ419.95 with VAT relief; CLH Healthcare ยฃ575.00 ex VAT (ยฃ690.00 inc VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.

Photo Title Price Buy
Mangar Bathing Cushion...image Mangar Bathing Cushion with Airflo ยฃ679.98

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Documents read: Winncare UK Mangar Bathing Cushion product page, Bathing Cushion product sheet ML1018 Issue 2, Bathing Cushion user instructions MI0440 Issue 6, Airflo 12 compressor user instructions, read 18 September 2026.

5. NRS Riverdale Bath Lift: best-value reclining bath lift

The Riverdale is a powered bath lift from NRS, launched in September 2026, that lowers to 6 cm and reclines. It is the only product here whose documents print a warranty period. Its 136 kg limit is the lowest on the page.

Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)

The Riverdale is the cheapest bath lift here with a printed 5-year frame warranty, but its 136 kg limit is the lowest on this page and the maker’s two documents give different total weights (14 kg and 11.7 kg).

Best for: bathers under 136 kg who want a recline and a lift that splits into parts of 6.55 kg or less.

Not for: anyone near or over 136 kg, or who cannot keep an upright seated position; the manual lists both as reasons not to use it.

Max user weight136 kg
Seat height6 to 48 cm
Backrest adjustment0 to 140ยฐ
Total weight14 kg (product page); manual 11.7 kg
Carry weight10.8 kg
Heaviest partBase unit 6.55 kg
Width36.6 cm; 69.9 cm including side flaps
WarrantyFrame 5 years, electronic parts 2 years (limited)
ServiceAnnually, or more often under organisational policies (manual)
Expected life5 years

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

The NRS product page lists “Total Weight | 14 kg (2.2 st)”. The user manual gives “OVERALL WEIGHT (KG) 11.7”, with a base unit of 6.55 kg, an actuator unit of 4.25 kg and a handset of 0.58 kg. We list 14 kg. Both documents agree on the 10.8 kg carry weight and the 136 kg limit.

UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Manage At Home ยฃ199.00 with VAT relief (ยฃ238.80 including VAT); Complete Care Shop ยฃ224.99 VAT exempt. Amazon’s live price is in the box below.

Photo Title Price Buy
NRS Riverdale Bath...image NRS Riverdale Bath Lift โ€“ Reclining & Lightweight for safe independent bathing, up to 50ยฐ recline, emergency stop function for safety, easy to use & clean ยฃ269.99

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Documents read: NRS Riverdale Bath Lift product page (nrs-uk.com), Riverdale Bathlift user manual T00001, read 18 September 2026.

6. Mangar Raiser: best for standing up from an armchair

The Raiser is a small cushion that sits on an armchair seat and inflates 23 cm to help the user stand, or deflates to lower them. It is not a floor lift or a transfer aid. The maker’s documents disagree on its weight.

Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)

The Raiser helps someone up to 190 kg rise 23 cm from an armchair, but it only works in that one chair and the maker’s documents give its weight as both 2.8 kg and 0.60kg.

Best for: people who can stand and walk once up, but struggle to push up out of an armchair.

Not for: lifting from the floor, bed transfers or bathing; the manual says it is intended “solely” for armchair use, and the user needs “sufficient upper body strength”.

Max user weight190 kg
Lift23 cm inflated height
Size43 x 43 cm
Product weight2.8 kg (data sheet); manual 0.60kg
CompressorAirflo 12, 3.7 kg
Lifts per chargeUp to 25 (data sheet)
InspectionAnnually (manual)

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

The Raiser data sheet (ML1042 Issue 2) and the product page give “Product weight (base unit) 2.8 kg”. The user instructions (MI0364 issue 8) give “Product weight: 0.60kg”. We list 2.8 kg. Neither figure is labelled as including the Airflo 12 compressor, which its own instructions put at 3.7 kg.

UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Essential Aids ยฃ569.95 at 0% VAT rate (VAT relief); CLH Healthcare ยฃ598.00 ex VAT (ยฃ717.60 inc VAT); John Preston Healthcare ยฃ648.90 ex VAT, eligible for VAT relief (ยฃ778.68 inc VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.

Photo Title Price Buy
NRS Mangar Raiser...image NRS Mangar Raiser Lifting Cushion ยฃ572.28

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Documents read: Winncare UK Mangar Raiser product page, Raiser data sheet ML1042 Issue 2, Raiser user instructions MI0364 issue 8, Airflo 12 compressor user instructions, read 18 September 2026.

Which one fits your situation?

Your situationType to look atFrom this list
Cannot stand or take weight; carers move you between bed, chair and commodeMobile hoist with sling, after an OT or physio assessmentBirdie EVO, Birdie EVO Compact
Hoist needed in a small room, or it has to fold into a carCompact folding hoistBirdie EVO Compact (check the 1210 mm turning diameter first)
Weight near or over 150 kgHoist with a higher safe working loadBirdie EVO (180 kg); the Compact is 150 kg
Falls at home and nobody can lift you safelyFloor-lifting cushionMangar Camel
Can sit unaided but cannot get down into or up out of the bathBath liftMangar Bathing Cushion, NRS Riverdale
Can stand but struggles to get up from an armchairChair lifting cushionMangar Raiser
Can stand for a moment and shuffle acrossTransfer board or other low-tech aidNone of these: see transfer boards

Before you buy a hoist: safety checks from the documents

Start with an assessment. Both Invacare manuals say the intended operator is “a healthcare professional or private person who has received proper training”, and that “to select the appropriate sling, a risk assessment must be performed by a healthcare professional.” An occupational therapist or physiotherapist will look at the person, the transfers and the room. Ask your GP or council adult social care team for a referral; our guide to NHS and community equipment services explains who supplies what.

Check the sling fits the hoist. Both Birdie EVO manuals say: “Use only slings with loop attachments that are suitable for spreader bars (coat hanger style) with hooks.” A clip-style sling from another hoist will not do. The weight limit that matters is the lowest of the hoist, the spreader bar and the sling.

Measure the furniture. The Birdie EVO legs open to 1020 mm inside (least favourable figure) and the Compact to 815 mm. Measure the outside width of the chair or wheelchair base the legs must go round, and the space beside the bed.

Plan the inspections. HSE’s page on lifting equipment used for lifting people at work says the equipment “must be thoroughly examined at six-monthly intervals, or in accordance with the examination scheme.” The Birdie EVO manuals repeat that rule for UK workplaces and set their own service interval at “at least every 12 months”. If paid carers use the hoist in your home, ask the care provider or equipment supplier who arranges the six-monthly examination of the hoist and slings.

Hoist, lifting cushion or bath lift?

A hoist is for someone who cannot bear weight to transfer. It needs space, a trained carer and the right sling, and it costs the most; our guide on how much a mobility hoist costs covers buying, renting and council supply. If only one task is hard, a single-job aid may be enough: a floor cushion after falls, a bath lift for bathing, or a chair raiser. Our page on mobility hoist alternatives goes through the options.

Note the limits the makers set. The Raiser manual says it is “intended solely for use as a lifting aid to assist a person to raise themselves from and lower themselves into an armchair.” The Camel manual says “the medical state of a person needing to be raised MUST be assessed before commencing a lift.” The Bathing Cushion manual says its independence “does not negate the need to ensure that adequate assistance is on hand in case it is required.”

Paying less: VAT relief and free loans

If you have a long-term illness or disability, equipment designed for disabled people and bought for your own use is often eligible for VAT relief, which takes a sixth off the VAT-inclusive price. UK dealers usually deduct it at checkout after you sign a short declaration, and many Amazon listings say whether an item is eligible. Not every seller handles it the same way; our check of how UK retailers handle VAT relief covers this. This is general information, not tax advice.

Before you buy, ask whether you can borrow it. Council community equipment services and the NHS lend a lot of this kind of equipment free after an assessment. Our guide to the NHS wheelchair service and council community equipment explains who to ask.

Watch: using a mobility hoist

This training demonstration from Shropshire Community Health NHS Trust shows how to move someone safely using a hoist.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best mobility hoist for home use in the UK?

Of the six lifting aids we checked against their makers’ documents on 18 September 2026, the Invacare Birdie EVO is the best full hoist, with a 180 kg safe working load and legs that open to 1020 mm inside. The Birdie EVO Compact is the pick for smaller rooms or travel at 31 kg, but its limit is 150 kg. For falls, the Mangar Camel lifts up to 320 kg from the floor.

Do I need an assessment before buying a hoist?

Yes, you should have one. Invacare’s Birdie EVO manuals say a sling must be chosen after a risk assessment by a healthcare professional and that operators need proper training. An occupational therapist or physiotherapist can assess you through your GP or council adult social care, and the council may supply the hoist.

How often does a patient hoist need inspecting?

HSE says equipment used to lift people at work must be thoroughly examined every six months, or under an examination scheme. The Birdie EVO manuals repeat that rule for UK workplaces and set a service at least every 12 months. The Mangar and NRS manuals recommend inspection once a year.

What is the difference between the Birdie EVO and Birdie EVO Compact?

The Birdie EVO has a 180 kg safe working load, weighs 40 kg and opens its legs to 1020 mm inside. The Compact has a 150 kg limit, weighs 31 kg and opens to 815 mm. The Compact’s manual gives a 1210 mm turning diameter against 1400 mm for the EVO.

Is the original Invacare Birdie still made?

No. Invacare UK’s page for the Birdie Mobile Hoist marks it as a discontinued product that has been replaced by the Birdie EVO. Some listings still sell the older Birdie and Birdie Compact, so check which generation you are buying and that slings and spare parts are still available.

Which slings fit a Birdie EVO hoist?

Both Birdie EVO manuals say to use only slings with loop attachments suited to a coat-hanger style spreader bar with hooks. The safe working load includes the sling and spreader bar, and the lowest-rated part sets the limit. A healthcare professional should choose the sling.

Can a Mangar Camel lift someone who has fallen on their own?

The Camel manual says it may be used with or without a helper, but it also says the fallen person’s medical state must be assessed before a lift starts. It raises a person from the floor to a seat height of about 56 cm, up to 320 kg.

What weight limit do bath lifts have?

Of the two we checked, the Mangar Bathing Cushion is rated to 150 kg and the NRS Riverdale to 136 kg. Both makers’ manuals set these as maximum user weights. One dealer lists the Bathing Cushion at 135 kg, lower than the maker’s figure.

Can I get VAT relief on a hoist or bath lift?

Several UK dealers we checked sell these products with VAT relief for people with a long-term illness or disability, for example the Birdie EVO Compact at ยฃ649.00 at 0% VAT from Essential Aids on 18 September 2026. Check the VAT basis on each quote, since some dealers show prices ex VAT.

Sources

All read on 18 September 2026. Listed as plain text so the citation survives if a page is later changed.

  • Birdie EVO UK product page (dhcare.co.uk), Birdie EVO, EVO PLUS and EVO XPLUS user manual 60128520-F, DHCare Safe Patient Handling 2026 price list
  • Birdie EVO Compact UK product page (dhcare.co.uk), Birdie EVO Compact user manual 60133094-C, DHCare Safe Patient Handling 2026 price list
  • Winncare UK Mangar Camel product page, Camel product sheet ML1019 Issue 2, Camel user instructions MI0441 issue 5, Airflo 24 compressor product page and user instructions
  • Winncare UK Mangar Bathing Cushion product page, Bathing Cushion product sheet ML1018 Issue 2, Bathing Cushion user instructions MI0440 Issue 6, Airflo 12 compressor user instructions
  • NRS Riverdale Bath Lift product page (nrs-uk.com), Riverdale Bathlift user manual T00001
  • Winncare UK Mangar Raiser product page, Raiser data sheet ML1042 Issue 2, Raiser user instructions MI0364 issue 8, Airflo 12 compressor user instructions
  • HSE, Lifting equipment used for lifting people at work
  • Invacare UK, Invacare Birdie Mobile Hoist (discontinued product page)
  • THIIS Magazine, NRS-UK launches new bath lift to help users with mobility needs enjoy safer bathing (3 September 2026)
  • UK dealer product pages named in each pick, prices read 18 September 2026

Review Mobility earns commission on some purchases made through links on this page, and sells optional paid listings to mobility companies. No manufacturer or retailer paid to appear here, none saw this page before publication, and a paid listing does not change what we publish. Corrections: hello@reviewmobility.co.uk.

Written byReview Mobility Editorial Team

We research, test and compare mobility equipment and the companies behind it, so you can choose with confidence. Our reviews are independent and never paid for.

Not medical advice: our guides are general information, and equipment that suits one person can be unsuitable for another. Speak to your GP, or ask your local council for a needs assessment, before buying for a health condition or a fall risk.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through one we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you, and as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Commission never decides what we recommend or how we rank it, and no company can pay for a place on this page. Read our full disclosure.