Published 6 July 2026 · Last updated 30 September 2026
The short answer
We ranked nine bath lifts sold on Amazon UK against their makers’ own product pages, brochures and instructions on 30 September 2026:
- Drive Bellavita: best overall. 140 kg, a 5.5 kg seat section (the lightest of the mechanical reclining lifts), and a five-year warranty.
- Invacare Aquatec Orca: best if you are unsure it will fit. The maker publishes the minimum bath size it needs.
- Kanjo XL: best for heavier users. 170 kg in every maker document we read.
Not sure a bath lift is the right answer? Compare it with bath boards, bath steps and the other aids for getting in and out of the bath.
A bath lift is a battery-powered seat that sits in the bath. You sit on it at the height of the bath rim, it lowers you into the water, and it lifts you back up at the end. Most have a backrest that tips back as the seat goes down, and side flaps that bridge the gap to the edge of the bath. You take it out in two or three pieces when someone else wants a normal bath.
The details that matter are about safety as much as comfort: what the lift does when its battery runs low with you in the water, how much weight it is built for, how heavy the pieces are to lift in and out, and whether it will fit your bath at all. That is what we checked.
What checking the documents turned up
Drive DeVilbiss UK rates the Bellavita NOVA to 170 kg. The English-language page on Drive Medical’s German site, the maker’s own, gives “Max. Load 140 kg” for the same lift. We read both pages on 30 September 2026. Until Drive says which figure is right, we would treat 140 kg as the limit.
5 of the 9 bath lifts we checked have a figure their maker gives two ways: the Bellavita NOVA (user weight), the NRS Riverdale (total weight, 14 kg on the page and 11.7 kg in the manual), the Mangar Archimedes (lowest seat height, 7 cm or 8 cm) and both Kanjo lifts (total weight).
7 of the 9 say in writing that the lift will not lower you into the bath unless the battery has enough charge to bring you back up. The NRS Riverdale manual mentions only a red low-charge light. The SuperHandy GoRise LT manual says that with the light flashing red it will still run for “2 or 3 cycles”.
4 of the 9 publish no warranty period for the lift itself, only 3 of the 9 publish the minimum bath size they need, and 6 of the 9 cite EN ISO 10535, the safety standard for hoists and lifts used to move disabled people. In January 2026 Mangar issued a field safety notice for the Archimedes after a complaint that a user had been stuck in the bath; we cover it in the Archimedes review below.
How we ranked them
We started from the bath lifts Amazon UK sells new from makers who publish their own documents, then read every product page, brochure and set of instructions we could open. We ranked on five things, most important first:
- Whether the lift refuses to lower you if the battery cannot bring you back up.
- The user weight limit, and whether the maker’s documents agree on it.
- The weight of the heaviest piece you lift in and out of the bath.
- Evidence that it meets EN ISO 10535 and is sold as a medical device.
- A warranty period stated in writing.
Price was a tie-breaker only. The boxes on this page show Amazon’s live price. If you have a long-term illness or disability, a bath lift bought for your own use can be sold to you without VAT, and Amazon does not apply that relief; see our VAT relief guide. You may also be able to get one on loan from your council; see the FAQ below.
The ranking
All nine side by side, in ranked order.
| # | Bath lift | Max user | Lowest seat | Heaviest piece | Stops lowering on low battery | EN ISO 10535 cited | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Drive Bellavita | 140 kg | 6.5 cm | 5.5 kg (seat) | Yes | Yes | 5 years |
| 2 | Invacare Aquatec Orca | 140 kg (XL version 170 kg) | 6 cm | 6.6 kg (seat) | Yes | Yes | No period stated |
| 3 | Kanjo Eco | 140 kg | 6.5 cm | 6.76 kg (seat) | Yes | Yes | 4 years (stated on the maker’s E1 page) |
| 4 | Kanjo XL | 170 kg | 6.5 cm | 6.76 kg (seat) | Yes | Yes | Lift not stated; 4 years on handset and charger |
| 5 | Mangar Bathing Cushion | 150 kg | About 0.5 cm | 3.7 kg (compressor) | Yes | Yes | No period stated |
| 6 | Mangar Archimedes | 165 kg | 8 cm (manual); 7 cm (page) | 5.2 kg (seat) | Yes | Yes | No period stated |
| 7 | Drive Bellavita NOVA | 170 kg (UK page); 140 kg (German page) | 6.5 cm | Not published | Yes | Not stated | 5 years |
| 8 | NRS Riverdale | 136 kg | 6 cm | 6.55 kg (base) | Not stated | No (Class I medical device) | 5 years frame, 2 years electronics |
| 9 | SuperHandy GoRise LT | 150 kg | About 5 cm (2 in) | Not published | No: runs 2 or 3 more cycles | No | 12 months |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
1. Drive Bellavita: best bath lift overall
The Bellavita has been Drive’s standard reclining bath lift for years, and the documents for it are the most complete in this ranking. It takes users up to 140 kg (22 stone), comes apart into two sections, and the heavier one, the seat, weighs about 5.5 kg: the lightest of the mechanical reclining lifts here. The whole lift is 9.7 kg with its hand control.
Drive’s UK page promises a built-in safety feature that stops the lift lowering without enough charge to return it to the top of the bath, and a five-year product warranty. The current German instructions (April 2024) cite EN ISO 10535 and set a service check at least every six months. The one small wrinkle: the UK page gives the lowest seat height as 6.5 cm in its table and 6 cm in its text.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
The best-documented bath lift here: 140 kg, a 5.5 kg heaviest piece, a low-battery lockout and a five-year warranty.
Best for: most people who can manage a lift of about 5.5 kg in and out of the bath.
Not for: users over 140 kg; look at the Kanjo XL or Mangar Archimedes instead.
| Max user | 140 kg (22 st) |
| Seat height | 6.5 cm to 48 cm |
| Backrest recline | Up to 50° |
| Pieces | 2; seat about 5.5 kg |
| Total weight | 9.7 kg with hand control |
| Battery | Lithium-ion, up to 6 baths per charge |
| Low battery | Will not lower without charge to return to the top |
| Standards | EN ISO 10535; medical device (2024 instructions) |
| Warranty | 5 years (UK page) |
2. Invacare Aquatec Orca: best if you are unsure it will fit
Invacare publishes exactly what bath the Orca needs and what each piece weighs. The bottom of the bath must be at least 800 mm long and 280 mm wide inside. The seat section weighs 6.6 kg and the backrest 4.2 kg, and a separate XL version takes 170 kg. Invacare’s UK bathing range is now sold under the DHCare name, and the current model is the Orca NG.
Invacare’s manual says that when the battery is too low the lowering function is disabled, and the lift is a Class I medical device with UKCA and CE marking. The weak point is the warranty: no document we read gives a period, only a reference to the maker’s general terms.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
Published bath-size requirements, a low-battery lockout and UKCA marking, but no warranty period in writing.
Best for: anyone with an unusual or narrow bath who wants to check fit before buying.
Not for: anyone who wants a stated warranty; ask the seller what they offer.
| Max user | 140 kg (Orca XL: 170 kg) |
| Seat height | 6 cm to 42 cm |
| Backrest recline | 40° |
| Pieces | 2; seat 6.6 kg, backrest 4.2 kg |
| Total weight | 10.8 kg without hand control |
| Battery | Lithium-ion, about 5 baths per charge, about 4.5 hours to charge |
| Low battery | Lowering disabled |
| Minimum bath size | Bottom at least 800 mm long, 280 mm wide inside |
| Standards | EN ISO 10535; Class I medical device, UKCA and CE |
| Warranty | No period stated |
3. Kanjo Eco: fits most baths, four-year warranty
Kanjo lifts are made in Germany by Dietz and sold in the UK by H&M Bathlifts. The Eco takes users up to 140 kg, lowers to 6.5 cm, and its manual sets out the bath it needs: longer than 800 mm, and 280 mm to 610 mm wide at the bottom. The maker says it suits most baths, including corner baths.
The manual says the seat can no longer be lowered once the red low-battery light comes on, and the lift is sold as a medical device meeting EN ISO 10535. The warranty is four years, although that figure appears on the page for Kanjo’s cheaper E1 model, which compares itself with the Eco, not on the Eco page. The total weight is 10.8 kg on the product page and 11.12 kg to 11.36 kg in the manual.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
A lockout, published bath sizes and a four-year warranty, with small differences in its weight figures.
Best for: corner or awkwardly shaped baths within the published size range.
Not for: users over 140 kg; the Kanjo XL is the same lift rated to 170 kg.
| Max user | 140 kg |
| Seat height | 6.5 cm to 45.5 cm |
| Backrest recline | Up to 40° |
| Pieces | 2; seat 6.76 kg, backrest 3.63 kg |
| Total weight | 10.8 kg (page) or 11.12 to 11.36 kg (manual) |
| Battery | Lithium-ion, about 1 hour to charge |
| Low battery | Seat can no longer be lowered |
| Minimum bath size | Longer than 800 mm; bottom 280 mm to 610 mm wide |
| Standards | EN ISO 10535; medical device |
| Warranty | 4 years (E1 page) |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Total weight. The Kanjo Eco page gives “Total weight incl. hand control unit (kg): 10.8”. The Kanjo manual gives 11.12 kg to 11.36 kg, with a stated tolerance of only 0.05 kg.
4. Kanjo XL: best for heavier users
The XL is the Kanjo lift rated to 170 kg, the highest limit in this ranking that the maker’s documents agree on. Amazon lists it as a bariatric lift; the maker simply calls it the Kanjo XL. It shares the Eco’s manual, lockout and bath-size requirements, and adds extra suction cups for dimpled or corner baths.
The XL page lists a four-year warranty on the handset and charger but no period for the lift itself, and it gives the same 10.8 kg total weight as the lighter-rated Eco, while the manual gives 11.12 kg to 11.36 kg.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
A consistent 170 kg limit with a lockout and published bath sizes; the lift body has no stated warranty.
Best for: users between 140 kg and 170 kg.
Not for: anyone who wants a warranty on the lift itself in writing.
| Max user | 170 kg |
| Seat height | 6.5 cm to 45.5 cm |
| Backrest recline | Up to 40° |
| Pieces | Seat 6.76 kg (manual does not split by model) |
| Total weight | 10.8 kg (page) or 11.12 to 11.36 kg (manual) |
| Battery | Lithium-ion, about 1 hour to charge |
| Low battery | Seat can no longer be lowered |
| Minimum bath size | Longer than 800 mm; bottom 280 mm to 610 mm wide |
| Standards | EN ISO 10535; medical device |
| Warranty | Not stated for the lift; 4 years on handset and charger |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Total weight. The XL page gives 10.8 kg including the hand control, the same as the Eco. The shared manual gives 11.12 kg to 11.36 kg.
5. Mangar Bathing Cushion: best for getting right down into the water
The Bathing Cushion works differently from the rest: an inflatable cushion, blown up by a separate battery compressor, raises you to about 40 cm and lets you down to about half a centimetre off the bottom of the bath. No other lift here gets you that low. The cushion weighs 2 kg and the compressor 3.7 kg, so nothing you carry is heavy, and it takes users up to 150 kg.
Mangar’s instructions cite EN ISO 10535, class it as a medical device, and say the cushion will only lower you if there is enough battery to raise you again; a full charge gives about four baths. As with the Archimedes, Mangar gives no warranty period in the documents we read.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
The lowest seat and lightest pieces here, with a lockout, but no warranty period in writing.
Best for: anyone who wants to lie back in deeper water, or who struggles to lift a heavier seat section.
Not for: anyone who wants a firm seat or a stated warranty.
| Max user | 150 kg (24 st) |
| Seat height | About 0.5 cm to 40 cm |
| Backrest | Inflates upright or lies flat |
| Pieces | Cushion 2 kg; compressor 3.7 kg |
| Battery | 12 V NiMH, 8 lifts (4 baths) per charge |
| Low battery | Will only lower if it can raise you again |
| Standards | EN ISO 10535; Class 1 medical device |
| Service | Annual |
| Warranty | No period stated |
6. Mangar Archimedes: 165 kg, but read the safety notice
The Archimedes takes users up to 165 kg, comes apart into three pieces, the heaviest a 5.2 kg seat, and its instructions cite EN ISO 10535 and class it as a medical device. It has no reclining backrest. Mangar’s page says it lowers you to “just 7cms from the bottom of the bath”; its instructions give 8 cm as the minimum.
On 12 January 2026 Mangar issued field safety notice FSN 76-17173 for the Archimedes (models LAA3702A and LAA3703A), following a complaint that a user had been stuck in the bath. The battery sits in the hand control and cannot be replaced; if it stops holding charge, shown by a red light, the whole hand control has to be replaced. Mangar reminded users to do that and to make sure help is nearby or can be called while bathing. If you buy one, charge it regularly and keep a phone within reach.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
A 165 kg limit and light pieces, but no recline, no warranty period and a 2026 safety notice to follow.
Best for: heavier users who do not need a reclining back.
Not for: anyone who bathes alone without a phone in reach.
| Max user | 165 kg (26 st) |
| Seat height | 8 cm (instructions) to 45 cm |
| Backrest | Fixed |
| Pieces | 3; seat 5.2 kg, base 2.8 kg, actuator 2 kg |
| Total weight | 10 kg |
| Low battery | Seat will not lower until recharged |
| Standards | EN ISO 10535; Class 1 medical device |
| Safety notice | FSN 76-17173, 12 January 2026 (hand-control battery) |
| Warranty | No period stated |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Lowest seat height. Mangar’s page says “just 7cms from the bottom of the bath”. The Archimedes instructions (MI0173 Issue 20) give 8 cm as the minimum.
7. Drive Bellavita NOVA: two different weight limits
The NOVA is Drive’s redesigned Bellavita, launched in the UK in 2022, with a longer 38 cm wide seat and a backrest a carer can lift out while the seat is at the bottom of the bath. Drive’s UK page promises the same low-battery lockout as the Bellavita and a five-year warranty.
The problem is the weight limit. Drive DeVilbiss UK gives a maximum user weight of 170 kg (26.7 stone); the English-language product page on Drive Medical’s German site gives “Max. Load 140 kg”. No size or version explains the gap, and we could not read the NOVA’s full instructions to settle it. We would treat 140 kg as the limit until Drive confirms otherwise, and at that limit the original Bellavita is the better-documented choice.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
A thoughtful redesign with a five-year warranty, but two different user limits from the same maker.
Best for: carers who want a lift-out backrest, for a user well under 140 kg.
Not for: anyone relying on the 170 kg figure until Drive confirms it.
| Max user | 170 kg (UK page) or 140 kg (German page) |
| Seat height | 6.5 cm to 48 cm |
| Backrest recline | 50°, removable backrest |
| Pieces | 2 plus removable backrest |
| Total weight | 9.9 kg with handset |
| Low battery | Will not lower without sufficient charge |
| Standards | None we could read |
| Warranty | 5 years (UK page) |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Maximum user weight. Drive DeVilbiss UK’s page says “User Weight Capacity 170kg”. Drive Medical Germany’s English page says “Max. Load 140 kg”.
Backrest height: 60 cm on the UK page, 67.5 cm on the German page.
8. NRS Riverdale: new in 2026, no lockout in writing
The Riverdale is a new model for 2026 from NRS. It takes users up to 136 kg, the lowest limit here, and comes with the clearest split warranty in this ranking: five years on the frame and two years on the electronic parts. It is sold as a Class I medical device with UKCA and CE marks, but its documents do not cite EN ISO 10535.
Two things hold it back. The manual shows a red light for low charge but does not say the lift will refuse to lower on a weak battery. And NRS gives the total weight as 14 kg on its product page and 11.7 kg in the manual; the handset weighs 0.58 kg, which does not explain the difference.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
A clear five-year frame warranty, but a 136 kg limit, no written low-battery lockout and two different weights.
Best for: users well under 136 kg who value a stated warranty.
Not for: anyone who wants a written promise that it will not lower on a low battery.
| Max user | 136 kg (21.4 st) |
| Seat height | 6 cm to 48 cm |
| Pieces | Base 6.55 kg, actuator unit 4.25 kg, handset 0.58 kg |
| Total weight | 14 kg (page) or 11.7 kg (manual) |
| Battery | 14.8 V lithium, 2 to 3 hours to charge |
| Low battery | Red light only; no lockout stated |
| Standards | Class I medical device, UKCA and CE; EN ISO 10535 not cited |
| Warranty | 5 years frame, 2 years electronic parts |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Total weight. The NRS product page gives “Total Weight 14 kg”. The Riverdale manual gives “OVERALL WEIGHT (KG) 11.7”.
9. SuperHandy GoRise LT: a floor lift that also goes in the bath
The GoRise LT is a scissor lift sold for getting up off the floor as well as in the bath, and it takes users up to 150 kg (330 lb). It has no backrest and no recline. Its maker is American, and we found no UK product page, only the US page and the operator’s manual.
It makes no medical device or EN ISO 10535 claim, only that it is waterproof to IP68, and its manual says that once the light flashes red it will run for only “2 or 3 cycles” more, with no lockout. The warranty is 12 months on workmanship. It is on this list because Amazon sells it as a bath lift; for bathing, every lift ranked above it makes a stronger safety case in its own documents.
Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)
A floor-and-bath lift with no recline, no medical device claim and no low-battery lockout.
Best for: someone who mainly needs help getting up from the floor.
Not for: regular bathing, where a lift with a lockout is the safer choice.
| Max user | 150 kg (330 lb) |
| Seat height | About 5 cm to 50 cm |
| Backrest | None |
| Total weight | 19 lb (about 8.6 kg), per the US page |
| Battery | 24 V, 1.5 to 2 hours to charge |
| Low battery | Runs 2 or 3 more cycles; no lockout |
| Standards | IP68 only |
| Warranty | 12 months on workmanship |
Bath lifts we checked but did not rank
VOCIC AX07 and AX10: the maker’s site is US-only and gives a 300 lb limit, a one-year warranty and little else; there are no heights, weights, battery details or instructions to check. Kanjo VALU£: we could not match this Amazon listing to any model the UK distributor sells. Bentley “The Ultimate”: we could not identify a maker.
Earlier versions of this page recommended the VOCIC AX07 and AX10. We have removed them because their makers publish too little to check.
Before you buy: fit, battery and help with the cost
- Measure the bath. Check the length and width of the flat bottom, not the rim. The Orca needs at least 800 mm by 280 mm, and the Kanjo lifts 800 mm long and 280 mm to 610 mm wide. Suction cups need a smooth, flat base, so a heavily textured or sloping bottom may not work.
- Check the lockout. Choose a lift whose maker says in writing that it will not lower you without the charge to raise you.
- Charge it after every bath and keep a phone within reach, whatever lift you choose.
- Ask your council first. An occupational therapist from adult social care can assess you, and if you are assessed as needing a bath lift it is usually lent to you free. See how council community equipment works.
- If you are buying, ask about VAT relief; a dealer can zero-rate a lift for a disabled person’s own use. Amazon prices include VAT.
Still deciding whether a bath lift suits you, what one costs, or how to get one from the council? Our guide to bath lifts for older people covers who they suit, dealer prices and council loans.
Thinking about a bigger change? Our accessible bathroom costs guide covers walk-in baths, wet rooms and grants.
Watch: using a bath lift
This demonstration from Living Made Easy (part of the Shaw Trust) shows how a powered bath lift works.
Frequently asked questions about bath lifts
What is the best bath lift in the UK?
Of the nine bath lifts we checked against their makers’ documents on 30 September 2026, the Drive Bellavita ranks first: it takes users up to 140 kg, its heaviest piece is about 5.5 kg, it will not lower on a weak battery, and Drive gives a five-year warranty. For users over 140 kg, the Kanjo XL is rated to 170 kg in every maker document we read.
Will a bath lift fit my bath?
Most fit a standard straight bath, but check the flat bottom, not the rim. Of the nine lifts we ranked, only three publish a minimum size: the Invacare Aquatec Orca needs at least 800 mm long and 280 mm wide inside, and both Kanjo lifts need more than 800 mm long and 280 mm to 610 mm wide. Very narrow, curved or textured bases can stop the suction cups holding.
What happens if the battery runs out while I am in the bath?
Seven of the nine lifts we checked say they will not lower you unless there is enough charge to bring you back up. The NRS Riverdale’s manual shows only a low-charge light, and the SuperHandy GoRise LT will run two or three more cycles once its light flashes red. Charge the lift after every bath and keep a phone within reach.
Can I get a bath lift on the NHS?
In England, bath lifts are usually supplied by your council’s adult social care team, not the NHS. An occupational therapist assesses what you need, and equipment such as a bath lift is usually lent to you free. Waiting times vary by area. Our guide to NHS and council equipment explains how to ask.
How much weight can a bath lift take?
The nine lifts we ranked are rated from 136 kg (NRS Riverdale) to 170 kg (Kanjo XL). Drive gives two different figures for the Bellavita NOVA, 170 kg in the UK and 140 kg on its German site, so we would treat it as 140 kg until Drive confirms.
Do I pay VAT on a bath lift?
Not if you have a long-term illness or disability and the lift is for your own use: a UK supplier can zero-rate it once you sign an eligibility declaration. Amazon prices include VAT. See our VAT relief guide. This is general information, not tax advice.
Sources
Maker documents read on 30 September 2026: Drive DeVilbiss UK product page, brochure LL127 and quick guide for the Bellavita, and the Drive Medical German instructions (April 2024); Drive DeVilbiss UK product page and brochure 220711 for the Bellavita NOVA, and the Bellavita NOVA product page on drivemedical.de; Invacare/DHCare Aquatec Orca NG product page, brochure (07/24) and manual 1574469-F; Mangar Health UK pages for the Bathing Cushion and Archimedes, Bathing Cushion instructions MI0440, Archimedes instructions MI0173 Issue 20 and field safety notice FSN 76-17173 (January 2026); NRS-UK Riverdale product page and manual T00001; H&M Bathlifts product pages for the Kanjo Eco, E1 and XL and the Kanjo user manual version 6.1; SuperHandy GoRise LT product page and GUT170 operator’s manual version 1.1; VOCIC AX07 product page.
Spotted an error, or represent one of these makers? Email hello@reviewmobility.co.uk and we will check and correct it.
Published 6 July 2026 · Last updated 30 September 2026
