Published 26 August 2026 · Last updated 2 September 2026
The Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite exists to solve one problem: getting a powered scooter into a car boot, an aircraft hold or a cruise cabin without needing a second person. At 13.7 kg without its batteries it is among the lightest powered scooters sold in the UK, and it folds rather than dismantles.
It is also the most expensive scooter in our top ten, it carries less weight than almost anything else here, and Pride’s own product page advertises a range 60 per cent higher than its own specification table. All three of those need saying before anyone spends £2,500.
The range claim, and why it is wrong
Three different range figures appear on Pride UK’s single product page for this scooter. We fetched it on 26 August 2026.
| Where it appears on the page | Figure stated |
|---|---|
| Specification table | 9.3 miles (15 km) |
| Marketing paragraph | “a reliable 15-mile (24 km) battery range for extended outings” |
| Elsewhere in the description | “up to 9 miles of range” |
Our reading, offered as a diagnosis rather than a Pride statement: the true figure is 15 kilometres. Someone appears to have read “15” as miles and converted it to 24 km. That single slip inflates the headline by around 60 per cent.
It has spread. Three UK retailers we checked print “Battery Range: 15 miles (24 km)” in their own specification tables, while Pride’s European site says “up to 16 km” for the related model. If you have been quoted 15 miles for this scooter, you have been quoted the error.
Worth adding: Pride’s test note for the Carbon family states that results are derived from theoretical calculations based on battery specifications and drive system performance, tested at maximum weight capacity. It is a calculation, not a ride. Plan on 6 to 7 miles of genuinely usable range, and treat 9.3 as the ceiling.
Flying with it: the section that actually matters
Most of what you read about scooter batteries and aircraft is wrong, because it applies the wrong rule. Here is the correct one.
This scooter is 288 Wh. Pride’s own lithium battery page states the Go Go Carbon at 24 V, 12 Ah, 288 Wh. That is under the ceiling, but with only 12 Wh of headroom, and it means you cannot also carry a full-size spare pack.
One useful wrinkle: the UK Ultra Lite is specified as two 6 Ah batteries rather than one 12 Ah. Airlines that allow “two batteries at 160 Wh each” as an alternative to a single 300 Wh pack are describing exactly that configuration. We could not verify a per-battery watt-hour figure from any Pride document, so read the label on your own battery before you fly rather than relying on arithmetic.
What four UK airlines actually require
| Airline | Battery installed | Battery removed | Notice |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Airways | “There is no maximum Watt-hour limit if the lithium battery(ies) remains in the device” | Max 300 Wh, or 160 Wh each for two batteries. Must be carried into the cabin in a protective pouch | At least 48 hours |
| easyJet | “if the battery remains attached there is no Wh limit” | Must be carried in the cabin in a protective pouch, max 300 Wh or 160 Wh each for two | At least 48 hours |
| Jet2 | Accepts sealed lead-acid and lithium mobility devices. No Wh figure published | Not specified in the guide | At least 48 hours |
| Ryanair | “No Watt-hour (Wh) limit applies to batteries that remain installed” | One spare up to 300 Wh or two up to 160 Wh each, in the cabin | Not stated on that page |
The Civil Aviation Authority publishes no watt-hour threshold of its own for mobility aids. Its instruction is to provide the make, model, weight, size and battery details when booking, and it defers to the airline and the dangerous-goods rules. Do not quote a CAA watt-hour number, because there is not one.
Underlying all of it, IATA’s mobility aid guidance sets the 300 Wh figure for removed batteries, requires removed lithium batteries to travel in the cabin, requires operator approval, and requires the battery to meet UN Manual of Tests and Criteria Part III subsection 38.3.
Coaches and cruises
National Express accepts small lightweight scooters in the luggage hold, provided the machine folds or is dismantled by the passenger or carer, the heaviest part weighs no more than 20 kg, and the battery is dry cell, gel or lithium. Book at least 36 hours ahead. At 13.7 kg the Ultra Lite clears that limit with room to spare, which is not true of most scooters in this guide.
Cruise lines vary and publish less. P&O Cruises requires you to declare a powered mobility device at the time of booking or as soon as the need is known, but does not publish scooter-specific dimensions or battery limits on its mobility equipment page. Ring the line rather than relying on a summary, including ours.
The five scooters scored on their published specifications
Every figure below is the manufacturer’s own published specification, scored on a fixed formula. Review Mobility has not driven these scooters: this is a specification score, not a road test, and the method is set out underneath the table.
| Scooter | Spec score | Heaviest piece to lift | Claimed range as standard | Max user weight | Turning radius | Ground clearance and suspension | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1Roma Shoprider Sovereign 4Distance on one charge | 6.7 | 25 kg4.019 kg or 25 kg by source; we score 25 | 20 mi10.0no test conditions published | 136 kg5.3 | 115 cm7.9 | 7.5 cm6.0none fitted | Check price |
| 2Pride Revo 2.0Heavier riders and long trips | 6.4 | 25.85 kg3.7heaviest section | 17.8 mi8.9declared at a 91 kg test load | 170 kg8.9brochure 170 kg, page 181 kg; we score 170 | 132 cm5.5 | 3.17 cm5.7Comfort-Trac front and rear | Check price |
| 3Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LXDismantling into a car boot | 5.8 | 15.2 kg7.9heaviest of 5 pieces | 7.8 mi3.912 Ah standard pack | 125 kg4.1 | 112 cm8.3 | 6.35 cm4.8not published | Check price |
| 4Pride Apex RapidRough pavements on a budget | 5.5 | 17.75 kg6.9front section | 5.5 mi2.812 Ah standard pack | 136 kg5.3 | 121.9 cm6.9 | 3.6 cm6.1Comfort-Trac front and rear | Check price |
| 5Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra LiteThis reviewFlying and one-handed lifting | 4.7 | 15.7 kg7.7folds whole; 13.7 kg dry plus batteries | 9.3 mi4.7spec-table figure, not the 15-mile prose claim | 120 kg3.5 | 130 cm5.8 | 2.5 cm1.0none fitted | Check price |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
Specifications checked 26 August 2026 against each manufacturer’s own published material. Amazon links are paid links: we may earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. No price is shown here because prices change; the buttons open the live listing.
How we score: the method in full
What the score is. A weighted average of five measurements every one of these manufacturers publishes, marked out of ten on fixed scales that do not move when a new scooter is added. Portability counts for 25 per cent, claimed range 25, maximum user weight 15, turning radius 15, and ground clearance with suspension 20.
What the score is not. It is not a test result. Which? drives scooters up a measured hill at Brooklands and scores what happens; we do not, and a number derived from a spec sheet cannot tell you how a scooter rides. Comfort, build quality, dealer support and battery life in real use are absent from this table because no manufacturer publishes them in a form that can be compared.
The least-favourable-figure rule. Where a manufacturer’s own material states two different numbers for the same thing, we score the one least flattering to the scooter. Pride publishes the Revo 2.0’s weight limit as 181 kg on its product page and 170.09 kg in its brochure, so we score 170. The Sovereign 4’s heaviest dismantled piece is given as 19 kg by one source and 25 kg by another, so we score 25. Buyers who plan around the least favourable figure are never caught out; buyers who plan around the best one sometimes are.
Standard configuration only. Range is scored on the battery the scooter ships with, not the upgrade. The Apex Rapid scores on 5.5 miles because that is the 12 Ah figure; its advertised 10.5 miles belongs to an optional 18 Ah pack. Only the Revo 2.0 publishes range at a declared test load, which makes it the one figure here with a stated basis rather than an implied one.
Unpublished means unscored. A feature a manufacturer does not publish earns nothing. Roma publishes no component weights for the Sovereign 4 and no suspension, so it scores on the figures that exist.
Why the ranking looks like this. The composite describes a general-purpose buyer. A scooter built to be lifted into a boot will always lose range and ground clearance to one built to stay on the pavement, and the biggest machine here tops the table while being the one you cannot lift alone. Read the column that matches your situation before you read the total.
Will it fit in your car boot?
Yes — more verifiably than anything else we recommend. Folded, the Carbon Ultra Lite is 480 × 445mm and 670–880mm tall depending on the seat-post position, and it is the only scooter of our ten that fits all six best-selling cars we measured with the rear seats up. In a Ford Puma or Toyota Yaris Cross, lower the seat post fully first.
See the full boot-fit matrix — ten scooters against the manufacturers’ own boot measurements for six of the UK’s best-selling cars, including the Ford Puma, Nissan Qashqai and VW Golf.
Full specification
From Pride UK’s GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite page, fetched 26 August 2026, unless marked otherwise.
| Specification | Figure |
|---|---|
| Class and top speed | Class 2, 4 mph (6.4 km/h) |
| Wheels | 4 |
| Weight without batteries | 13.7 kg |
| Battery weight | 1 kg each |
| Maximum user weight | 120 kg (18 st 9 lb) |
| Battery | 12 Ah, supplied as 6 Ah × 2, lithium |
| Total watt-hours | 288 Wh (Pride’s own lithium battery page) |
| Range | 9.3 miles (15 km) per the specification table. See the range section above |
| Ground clearance | 25 mm (1″) |
| Maximum obstacle climb | 57.5 mm (2.25″) |
| Turning radius | 1,300 mm (51.18″) |
| Tyres | Solid. Front 178 mm (7″), rear 203 mm (8″) |
| Folded dimensions | About 69 × 55 × 44 cm. Retailer figure, not published by Pride |
| Overall length | Pride states 1,016 mm; three retailers state 1,229 mm. Unresolved |
| Charge time | Not published by Pride or any retailer we checked |
| Colour | Matte black |
| Warranty | Pride UK’s general terms: 2 years structural frame, 1 year electronics, 6 months batteries. The exclusion list names plastic parts, tyres, upholstery, bulbs, carbon brushes and fuses. Some retailers offer their own 1-year cover |
Where it is weak
We will be straight about the evidence here: verifiable owner feedback on this model is close to non-existent. We found one owner review anywhere, from a carer, scoring it 4 out of 5, who liked that it works with any vehicle but said it does not have the comfort of a regular travel scooter or the manoeuvrability of a three-wheel Go-Go. We found no UK forum threads. We are not going to invent a complaints section.
What we can say comes from the specification itself, and it is enough:
- 25 mm of ground clearance with a 57.5 mm maximum obstacle. This is the lowest scooter in our top ten by a wide margin. It will ground out on things other scooters ignore.
- Solid tyres front and rear, and no suspension. Nothing between you and the pavement.
- 120 kg is a low weight limit for the category, and remember it includes anything you carry.
- A 1,300 mm turning radius, which is wide for a scooter this small, and awkward indoors.
- Price. Roughly double a conventional lightweight folder, for a scooter that carries less and goes less far.
On the carbon fibre frame: we searched for recalls, safety notices and frame failures and found nothing. That is an absence of evidence on a recent model with a very thin owner base, not proof that there is no issue. Worth noting that Pride’s general UK warranty exclusion list includes plastic parts, which leaves an open question on a composite-framed product. Ask your dealer what the frame is covered for, in writing.
What it costs, and the one time Amazon wins
Checked 26 August 2026.
| Route | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon UK | Live price, see the box below | VAT charged, delivered |
| Dealer, with VAT relief | £2,495 to £2,595 | Zero-rated for an eligible buyer |
| Dealer, including VAT | £2,995 to £3,115 | If you do not qualify for relief |
VAT relief removes 20 per cent for a chronically sick or disabled buyer purchasing for personal or domestic use. It is not means-tested and you do not need to be registered disabled. On this scooter it is worth roughly £500.
| Photo | Title | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite Folding Mobility Scooter, Lightweight, Portable | ยฃ2,499.00 |
|
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
Who it is for
Buy it if you travel by air or sea more than once a year, you weigh under 120 kg, you must load it without help, and your walking distances at the far end are short and on good surfaces.
Do not buy it as an everyday scooter. It is the wrong tool: too low, too hard-riding, too short-legged and too expensive for daily use.
| If this is you | Consider instead |
|---|---|
| You want a scooter for every day | Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LX, far cheaper and longer-legged |
| Your pavements are broken | Pride Apex Rapid, front and rear suspension |
| You are over 18 st 9 lb | Pride Revo 2.0, rated to at least 170 kg |
| The scooter stays at home | Roma Shoprider Sovereign 4, three times the battery and a proper seat |
| You want the full ranked list | Best mobility scooters UK |
Frequently asked questions
Can you take a Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite on a plane?
Yes, with the airline’s prior approval. Its 288 Wh battery is under the 300 Wh ceiling airlines apply to mobility aids when the battery is removed, and there is no watt-hour limit at all if the battery stays installed. British Airways, easyJet and Jet2 all require at least 48 hours’ notice.
Does the 100Wh or 160Wh battery limit apply to a mobility scooter?
No. Those limits govern portable electronic devices such as laptops, cameras and power banks. Mobility aids fall under a separate regime with a 300 Wh figure for removed batteries and no limit when the battery remains installed.
Does the battery have to go in the cabin?
If it is removed, yes. British Airways, easyJet and Ryanair all require removed lithium batteries to be carried into the cabin in a protective pouch. If it stays installed in the scooter, it travels in the hold with the machine.
How much notice do I need to give the airline?
At least 48 hours for British Airways, easyJet and Jet2. Have the make, model, folded dimensions, weight and battery details ready when you book. Jet2 also carries a maximum of three powered mobility devices per flight, so book early.
What is the real range of the GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite?
Pride’s specification table says 9.3 miles (15 km). The “15-mile” figure in the marketing copy on the same page appears to be a kilometres-to-miles conversion error, and it has been copied by several retailers. Plan on 6 to 7 miles of usable range.
How much does it weigh, and can I lift it alone?
13.7 kg without batteries, with each battery adding about 1 kg. It folds rather than dismantling. That is genuinely a one-person lift for most people, and it is the lightest option in our top ten.
Will it fit in a coach luggage hold?
National Express accepts folding scooters where the heaviest part is no more than 20 kg and the battery is dry cell, gel or lithium, with at least 36 hours’ notice. At 13.7 kg this scooter clears that limit easily.
Is it a Class 2 scooter and do I need to register it?
It is Class 2 at 4 mph, so no DVLA registration, no vehicle tax and no compulsory insurance. Pavements, pedestrian areas and cycle tracks only.
Is the carbon fibre frame durable enough for baggage handling?
We found no recall, safety notice or substantiated owner report of frame failure. That is an absence of evidence rather than proof, because the model is recent and there is very little owner feedback. Pride’s general UK warranty exclusions name plastic parts, so ask your dealer to confirm in writing what the frame itself is covered for.
Is the GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite the same as the Go Go Carbon?
No. The Ultra Lite is the UK and Ireland model at 13.7 kg, 120 kg capacity and 4 mph. The Go Go Carbon (SC25M) sold in the US and continental Europe is 16 kg, rated to 136 kg and limited to 3.7 mph. The European owner’s manual covers the Go Go Carbon, not the Ultra Lite.
Sources
- Pride Mobility UK, GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite product page, fetched 26 August 2026
- Pride Mobility, lithium battery technology page, for the 288 Wh figure
- Pride Mobility UK, warranty and delivery conditions
- IATA, battery-powered wheelchairs and mobility aids guidance
- Civil Aviation Authority, travelling with mobility and medical equipment
- British Airways, assistance available
- easyJet, special assistance
- Ryanair, batteries for mobility aids
- Jet2, Assisted Travel guide 2026
- National Express, accessibility
- GOV.UK, mobility scooter and powered wheelchair classes
Airline policies change, and the airline you are flying with is always the authority on its own rules. Check with them before you travel rather than relying on any summary, ours included. Prices and specifications checked 26 August 2026. We do not accept payment for placement in our rankings.
Published 26 August 2026 · Last updated 2 September 2026
