Published 17 October 2024 · Last updated 25 September 2026
This page compares seven foldable shower seats sold in the UK: six fold-up seats that fix to the shower wall and one freestanding folding stool. We have not tested any of them. Every figure comes from the maker’s own product page, spec sheet or instructions, read on 18 September 2026, and where two of a maker’s documents disagree we put the less flattering figure in the table.
Three of the seven have maker documents that disagree with each other. The biggest gap is on the NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs, Back and Arms: its product page gives a 190kg user limit, the NRS instructions give 160kg.
The short answer
- Aidapt Solo Deluxe Shower Seat (VB535): best overall: back, flip-up arms and a 190kg limit in every Aidapt document, folding to 190mm.
- Aidapt Solo Standard Shower Seat (VB532): best seat-only choice: 190kg limit and the only warranty over 2 years here, 25 years on the frame.
- NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs (M48787): best for a tight cubicle: projects 95mm from the wall when folded, 160kg limit.
- NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs, Back and Arms (M53370): back and arms on an NRS frame, but the instructions say 160kg where the page says 190kg.
- Drive DeVilbiss Wall Mounted Shower Seat with Drop Down Legs (SWALL002): widest height range here, 43 to 58cm, with a 160kg limit and a 1 year warranty.
- Aidapt Solo Compact Padded Shower Seat with Leg (VB544): smallest wall seat: 360 x 280mm padded seat, 159kg limit.
- Aidapt Aluminium Folding Shower Stool (VB541A): the only one that needs no drilling: freestanding, folds for travel, 120kg limit.
What checking the documents turned up
3 of the 7 seats have maker documents that disagree with each other. The NRS M53370 page and instructions differ on user weight (190kg against 160kg), the same NRS page gives two folded depths (166mm and 175mm), both NRS seats’ pages say 2 years’ guarantee where the instructions say 12 months, and the Drive page describes the frame as both steel and aluminium.
Only 2 of the 7 carry a 190kg user limit in every maker document we opened. Both are Aidapt Solo seats, VB535 and VB532. The NRS M53370 is listed at 190kg on its product page but 160kg in its instructions, so we list 160kg.
3 of the 7 have no warranty period in any maker document we opened. Aidapt publishes a 25 year frame warranty for the Solo Standard (VB532) but gives no period on the pages, spec sheets or instructions for the Solo Deluxe (VB535), Solo Compact (VB544) or folding stool (VB541A).
None of the 6 wall-mounted seats has a user limit that holds on any wall. All three makers leave the choice of fixings to the installer. NRS states its 160kg limit is “based on the product being fitted to a suitable surface using appropriate fixings”, and Drive says fasteners are not supplied because the fixing depends on the wall’s material and thickness.
How we checked, and what we did not do
We did not buy, use or measure any of these products. For each one we opened the manufacturer’s UK product page and the documents it links to (leaflet, spec sheet, instructions for use), and in a few cases a copy of the maker’s instructions hosted by a dealer where the maker does not host its own. We recorded each figure with the document it came from.
Where two of the maker’s documents give different figures for the same thing, we apply the least-favourable-figure rule: the table shows the less flattering one and the text shows both. Buyers who plan around the least favourable figure are never caught out; buyers who plan around the best one sometimes are.
For wall-mounted shower seats the printed user limit is the seat’s limit, not the wall’s. We read each maker’s fixing instructions for what they say about wall type, fixings and who should fit the seat. Seat height is the maker’s quoted range from floor to seat top with the legs adjusted. Folded depth is how far the seat sticks out from the wall when folded up, which decides whether a standing user or a shower door can get past it. Where a maker gives only an unfolded depth we say the folded figure is not published. The freestanding stool has no folded-depth figure because it is not fixed to the wall.
We only included products from makers with published UK documents, and only products currently listed on Amazon UK so each pick can carry a live price box. Rankings are our judgement from the documents. No manufacturer or retailer paid to appear, and none saw this page before publication. If you think we have a figure wrong, email hello@reviewmobility.co.uk with the document and we will correct it.
All 7 compared
Figures are the maker’s own. Where the maker’s documents disagree, the table shows the less favourable figure (see each pick for both). Amazon prices change often, so they are in the live boxes, not the table.
| # | Model | Type | Max user | Seat height | Folded depth from wall | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Aidapt Solo Deluxe (VB535) | Wall seat, legs, back, flip-up arms | 190kg | 465 to 615mm | 190mm | Not published |
| 2 | Aidapt Solo Standard (VB532) | Wall seat, legs | 190kg | 460 to 540mm | Not published | 25 years (frame) |
| 3 | NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs (M48787) | Wall seat, legs | 160kg | 455 to 585mm | 95mm | 12 months |
| 4 | NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs, Back and Arms (M53370) | Wall seat, legs, back, arms | 160kg | 455 to 585mm | 175mm | 12 months |
| 5 | Drive DeVilbiss Wall Mounted Shower Seat (SWALL002) | Wall seat, fold-out legs, handholds | 160kg | 430 to 580mm | 120mm | 1 year |
| 6 | Aidapt Solo Compact Padded with Leg (VB544) | Wall seat, single leg, padded | 159kg | 475 to 545mm | Not published | Not published |
| 7 | Aidapt Aluminium Folding Shower Stool (VB541A) | Freestanding folding stool | 120kg | 375 to 420mm (leg range) | Not fixed to wall | Not published |
Table checked 18 September 2026. Where a maker’s documents disagree, the table shows the less flattering figure; folded depth is the seat’s projection from the wall when folded up.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
1. Aidapt Solo Deluxe Shower Seat: best overall wall-mounted seat with back and arms
The padded version of Aidapt’s Solo Deluxe: a wall-fixed seat with a backrest, arms that lift independently and legs that take some of the load. Aidapt’s page, spec sheet and fixing instructions all give 190kg, and it has the highest top seat height in this list at 615mm.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Aidapt Solo Deluxe is the most consistently documented seat here, with a 190kg limit and a 465 to 615mm seat height in every Aidapt document we read.
Best for: people who need a backrest and something to push up from, and heavier users up to 190kg.
Not for: small cubicles where 190mm of folded seat on the wall is too much, or buyers who want a stated warranty, since none of the Aidapt documents we opened gives one for this model.
| Max user | 190kg (30 stone) |
| Seat height | 465 to 615mm |
| Seat size | 490mm wide x 380mm deep |
| Folded depth from wall | 190mm |
| Unfolded depth from wall | 535mm |
| Weight | 4.6kg |
| Frame | Rust-free aluminium with polymer coating |
| Drainage | Seat and back have drainage holes |
| Back and arms | Padded back, arms lift independently |
| Fixings | Not supplied |
| Warranty | Not published |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no disagreement between Aidapt’s product page, the VB535 spec sheet and the Aidapt fixing instructions: all three give 190kg, and the page and spec sheet both give 190mm folded depth. The unpadded version is VB539, with the same 190kg limit in the instructions.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Independent4Life ยฃ138.00 (excluding VAT; ยฃ165.60 including VAT), Yourspares ยฃ150.33 (VAT basis not stated; shown out of stock). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Aidapt Solo Deluxe Shower Seat product page, Aidapt VB535 product specification sheet, Aidapt shower seat fixing and maintenance instructions covering VB535, read 18 September 2026.
2. Aidapt Solo Standard Shower Seat: best seat-only fold-up seat
The same Solo frame without back or arms. It carries a 190kg limit and is the only seat here whose maker publishes a warranty longer than two years: 25 years on the frame. The height range is narrower than the Deluxe.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Solo Standard pairs a 190kg limit with a 25 year frame warranty, the longest published warranty in this list.
Best for: users who can sit without a backrest and want the highest limit and longest warranty for the money.
Not for: taller users who need a seat above 540mm, the top of its range, or anyone who needs arms to push up from.
| Max user | 190kg (30 stone) |
| Seat height | 460 to 540mm, in 25mm steps |
| Seat size | 490mm wide x 380mm deep |
| Folded depth from wall | Not published |
| Unfolded depth from wall | 490mm |
| Weight | 3.9kg |
| Frame | Aluminium |
| Drainage | Clip-on seat with drainage |
| Back and arms | None |
| Backplate | 470mm wide |
| Warranty | 25 years on the frame |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no disagreement between Aidapt’s product page, the VB532 spec sheet and the fixing instructions on the user limit, which is 190kg in all three. Aidapt does not publish a folded depth for this model; the spec sheet gives only the unfolded “Depth from Wall to front of Seat” of 490mm.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Millercare ยฃ71.95 (with VAT relief), John Preston Healthcare ยฃ90.00 (displayed before a VAT option is chosen). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Aidapt Solo Standard Aluminium Shower Seat product page, Aidapt VB532 product specification sheet, Aidapt shower seat fixing and maintenance instructions, read 18 September 2026.
3. NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs: best for a narrow shower
A plain wall-mounted seat with two legs and an epoxy-coated aluminium frame. Folded up it projects 95mm from the wall, the slimmest of the wall seats here. The limit is 160kg in both the product page and the NRS instructions.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
At 95mm folded, the NRS M48787 takes up the least wall space of the six wall seats checked, with a 160kg limit that both NRS documents agree on.
Best for: shared showers and narrow cubicles where the seat must fold almost flat.
Not for: users over 160kg, or anyone who needs a back or arms.
| Max user | 160kg (25 stone) |
| Seat height | 455 to 585mm |
| Seat size | 465mm wide x 380mm deep |
| Folded depth from wall | 95mm |
| Unfolded depth from wall | 420mm |
| Weight | 3.5kg |
| Frame | Epoxy-coated aluminium |
| Drainage | Drainage holes |
| Back and arms | None |
| Warranty | 12 months (instructions); page says 2 years |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
The product page says “Every NRS product is guaranteed for 2 years”. The NRS user instructions, which cover this seat and its padded version M53552, say NRS will “guarantee this product for a period of 12 months”. We list 12 months. Both documents give 160kg.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Complete Care Shop ยฃ52.08 (VAT exempt). We found no other non-Amazon UK dealer listing this exact model on the day. Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs product page on Complete Care Shop (the NRS group’s retail site), NRS user instructions for M48787 and M53552 (read as a copy hosted by ManualsLib), read 18 September 2026.
4. NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs, Back and Arms: back and arms, check the limit
The M48787 frame with a large backrest and hinged padded arms added. It weighs 6.3kg, the heaviest here, so the wall fixing matters. Its documents disagree on three points, including the user limit.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The NRS M53370 is listed at 190kg on its product page but 160kg in its own instructions, so buyers above 160kg should treat it as a 160kg seat.
Best for: users up to 160kg who want a backrest and arms and have room for a seat that sits 175mm off the wall when folded.
Not for: anyone between 160kg and 190kg relying on the product page figure, or walls of doubtful strength given the 6.3kg seat weight.
| Max user | 160kg (instructions); page says 190kg |
| Seat height | 455 to 585mm |
| Seat size | 465mm wide x 380mm deep |
| Folded depth from wall | 175mm (spec table); description says 166mm |
| Unfolded depth from wall | 500mm |
| Total width | 610mm |
| Backrest height | 415mm |
| Weight | 6.3kg |
| Back and arms | Backrest, hinged arms |
| Warranty | 12 months (instructions); page says 2 years |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
The product page’s specification table says “Maximum user weight: 190kg (30st)”. The NRS user instructions for M53370 and M53540 (issue M53370-UI-5, dated 02-06-2021) say “The maximum user weight for this product is 160kg (25st)”. We list 160kg.
The same page gives two folded depths: the description says the seat “only projects from the wall by 166mm (6.5″)”, the specification table says “Folded Projection: 175mm (7″)”. We list 175mm. The page also says “every NRS product is guaranteed for 2 years”, while the instructions say NRS will “guarantee this product for a period of 12 months”. We list 12 months.
One dealer we checked, Manage at Home, lists 190kg; another, Mobility 2 You, lists 160kg.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Complete Care Shop ยฃ124.99 (VAT exempt), Manage at Home ยฃ125.00 (with VAT relief), Mobility 2 You ยฃ133.08 (VAT relief option shown). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs, Back and Arms product page on Complete Care Shop (the NRS group’s retail site), NRS user instructions for M53370 (issue M53370-UI-5, read as a copy hosted by an Australian dealer), read 18 September 2026.
5. Drive DeVilbiss Wall Mounted Shower Seat: widest height range
A flip-up seat with integral handholds and two fold-out legs. Its 43 to 58cm range reaches lower than any other wall seat here, which helps shorter users. The limit is 160kg and the warranty one year.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Drive SWALL002 covers the widest seat height range of the wall seats checked, 43 to 58cm, but carries the shortest published warranty at 1 year.
Best for: shorter users who need a low seat, and anyone who wants handholds on the seat edge.
Not for: users over 160kg, or buyers who want more than a 1 year warranty.
| Max user | 160kg (25 stone) |
| Seat height | 43 to 58cm |
| Width | 48cm |
| Depth | 29cm (maker does not say whether seat or overall) |
| Folded depth from wall | 12cm |
| Weight | 3kg |
| Frame | Page says steel and aluminium; instructions say aluminium |
| Drainage | Drainage holes in seat |
| Fixings | Six 8mm holes, fasteners not supplied |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
The Drive product page describes the frame two ways in the same feature list: “Sturdy steel framework with plastic coating” and “Lightweight, rust free aluminium construction”. The instructions say the seat is “constructed from aluminium”. If rust is a concern, ask Drive which parts are steel. The page and the instructions agree on 160kg and a 1 year warranty.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Victorian Plumbing ยฃ69.94 (VAT basis not stated next to the price), Mobility Shop ยฃ69.99 (shown with a VAT relief label), Humber Mobility ยฃ78 (page says VAT exemption applied for eligible customers). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Drive DeVilbiss Wall Mounted Shower Seat with Drop Down Legs product page, Drive SWALL002 shower stool instructions for use (2022-03 Rev2), read 18 September 2026.
6. Aidapt Solo Compact Padded Shower Seat with Leg: smallest wall seat
A contoured padded seat on a single fine-adjustment leg. At 360 x 280mm it is much smaller than the Solo Standard and Deluxe seats. The limit is 159kg.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Solo Compact’s 360 x 280mm seat is the smallest here, so it suits small showers but gives less to sit on, with a 159kg limit.
Best for: small shower areas and users who only need a perch while washing.
Not for: larger users who need a wide seat, or anyone who wants drainage holes, which Aidapt does not mention for this padded seat.
| Max user | 159kg (25 stone) |
| Seat height | 475 to 545mm |
| Seat size | 360mm wide x 280mm deep |
| Folded depth from wall | Not published |
| Unfolded depth from wall | 370mm |
| Weight | 2.46kg |
| Frame | All alloy |
| Seat | Contoured padded PU |
| Warranty | Not published |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no disagreement between Aidapt’s product page, the VB544 spec sheet and the fixing instructions, which all give 159kg (25 stone) where they give a limit. Aidapt does not publish a folded depth or a warranty period for this model.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: NE Mobility ยฃ77.00 (excluding VAT), Aline Mobility ยฃ52.80 (with the “Without VAT” option offered). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Aidapt Solo Compact Padded Shower Seat with Leg product page, Aidapt VB544 product specification sheet, Aidapt shower seat fixing and maintenance instructions, read 18 September 2026.
7. Aidapt Aluminium Folding Shower Stool: best if you cannot drill the wall
A freestanding stool with a 50 x 30cm seat, side handles and four push-pin legs, which folds for storage or travel. No drilling is needed, but the limit is 120kg and the seat is low.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Aidapt VB541A is the only seat here that needs no wall fixing, with a 120kg limit and legs that adjust only from 37.5 to 42cm.
Best for: renters, holidays and visits, or a shower wall that cannot take fixings.
Not for: users over 120kg, and taller users who find a seat around 40cm hard to rise from.
| Max user | 120kg (18.8 stone) |
| Leg height range | 37.5 to 42cm, four settings |
| Seat size | 50 x 30cm |
| Weight | Not published |
| Frame | Rust-resistant aluminium |
| Seat | HDPE with drainage holes and side handles |
| Assembly | Tool-free |
| Warranty | Not published |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no disagreement between Aidapt’s product page and the VB541A user manual, which both give 120kg. The page gives the 37.5 to 42cm range for the legs; the manual mentions four height settings but no measurements.
We found no non-Amazon UK dealer listing this model on 18 September 2026. Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Aidapt Aluminium Folding Shower Stool product page, Aidapt VB541A user manual, read 18 September 2026.
Which one fits your situation?
| Your situation | Type to look at | From this list |
|---|---|---|
| Over 160kg | Wall seat rated 190kg, fixed by a competent installer to a sound wall | Aidapt Solo Deluxe (VB535), Aidapt Solo Standard (VB532) |
| Need a back and arms | Wall seat with backrest and lift-up arms | Aidapt Solo Deluxe (VB535), NRS M53370 (160kg) |
| Narrow or shared shower | Slim fold-up wall seat | NRS M48787 (95mm folded), Drive SWALL002 (12cm folded) |
| Shorter user, low seat wanted | Wall seat with a low bottom setting | Drive SWALL002 (from 43cm) |
| Cannot drill the wall, or travelling | Freestanding folding stool | Aidapt VB541A (120kg) |
| Very small shower, short perch | Compact padded wall seat | Aidapt Solo Compact (VB544) |
Wall-mounted seats: the wall sets the real limit
A fold-up shower seat’s user limit assumes a sound wall and the right fixings. NRS says its 160kg limit is “based on the product being fitted to a suitable surface using appropriate fixings and fitted by a competent person”, and warns against fitting into fibreglass or acrylic enclosures that lack stiffness. Drive says fasteners are not supplied “because the method of fixing will depend on material and thickness of the wall”. Aidapt tells the installer to choose a suitable fixing for the substrate and says the seat must be installed by a competent person.
None of these makers gives a limit for a particular wall type, such as tiled plasterboard or a stud wall. If your shower wall is plasterboard or a panel system, ask the installer what the fixing is rated for before you rely on the seat’s printed limit. All six wall seats here also have legs that carry part of the load to the floor, so the tray or floor under the feet needs to be level and solid.
What to measure before you buy
Measure from the shower floor to the back of the user’s knee with shoes off: the seat top should sit close to that height so feet stay flat. Check the result against the ranges in the table; the Solo Standard stops at 540mm, the Deluxe goes to 615mm, and the Drive seat starts lowest at 430mm.
Then check the wall. The seat’s backplate needs clear, sound wall space (Aidapt gives 470mm for the Solo Standard backplate, NRS 475mm for the M53370), and the folded depth decides whether a door or a standing user can get past. For more on seat types see our guide to adjustable shower chairs, and for what goes wrong with cheaper seats see common problems with poor-quality shower chairs.
Getting a shower seat through the council
In England, shower seats and stools are often supplied free after an occupational therapy assessment through the local council’s community equipment service, and a wall-mounted seat may be fitted for you. It is worth asking before you buy, especially if you are unsure what the wall will take. Our page on NHS wheelchair service and community equipment explains who supplies what.
Paying less: VAT relief and free loans
If you have a long-term illness or disability, equipment designed for disabled people and bought for your own use is often eligible for VAT relief, which takes a sixth off the VAT-inclusive price. UK dealers usually deduct it at checkout after you sign a short declaration, and many Amazon listings say whether an item is eligible. Not every seller handles it the same way; our check of how UK retailers handle VAT relief covers this. This is general information, not tax advice.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best folding shower seat in the UK?
From the seven we checked against their makers’ documents on 18 September 2026, the Aidapt Solo Deluxe (VB535) is the best overall wall-mounted seat, with a back, lift-up arms and a 190kg limit in every Aidapt document. The Aidapt Solo Standard (VB532) is the best seat-only choice, with a 25 year frame warranty. The NRS M48787 is the slimmest when folded, at 95mm.
How much weight can a wall-mounted shower seat hold?
The seats we checked are rated from 159kg to 190kg, but that figure assumes a suitable wall and fixings chosen by a competent installer. NRS states this directly for its 160kg rating. None of the makers gives a separate limit for plasterboard or stud walls.
Do fold-down shower seats come with wall fixings?
Not the ones we checked where the maker says. Drive says fasteners are not supplied because the fixing depends on the wall, and Aidapt says screws are not supplied for the Solo Deluxe. Budget for fixings suited to your wall and, ideally, a fitter.
How far does a folding shower seat stick out from the wall?
Of the makers that publish it, the NRS M48787 projects 95mm when folded, the Drive SWALL002 12cm, the NRS M53370 175mm and the Aidapt Solo Deluxe 190mm. Aidapt does not publish a folded depth for the Solo Standard or Solo Compact.
What height should a shower seat be?
Roughly level with the back of the user’s knee, so feet rest flat on the floor. The wall seats here range from 430mm at the lowest (Drive) to 615mm at the highest (Aidapt Solo Deluxe). The freestanding Aidapt VB541A stool only adjusts between 37.5 and 42cm.
Is the NRS folding shower seat with back and arms rated for 190kg?
Its product page says 190kg, but the NRS user instructions for M53370 say 160kg. We list 160kg. If you are over 160kg, ask NRS to confirm in writing or choose a seat rated 190kg in every document, such as the Aidapt Solo Deluxe.
Can I use a folding shower seat without drilling?
Only the freestanding type. Of the seven checked, the Aidapt Aluminium Folding Shower Stool (VB541A) needs no fixing and folds for storage, but its limit is 120kg and the seat sits low at 37.5 to 42cm.
What warranty do folding shower seats have?
Aidapt gives 25 years on the Solo Standard frame, Drive gives 1 year, and NRS gives 12 months in its instructions while its product pages say 2 years. We found no warranty period for three of the Aidapt models.
Can I get a shower seat free on the NHS?
Often yes, through your council’s community equipment service after an occupational therapy assessment, which may include fitting. Ask your council’s adult social care team before buying.
Sources
All read on 18 September 2026. Listed as plain text so the citation survives if a page is later changed.
- Aidapt Solo Deluxe Shower Seat product page, Aidapt VB535 product specification sheet, Aidapt shower seat fixing and maintenance instructions covering VB535
- Aidapt Solo Standard Aluminium Shower Seat product page, Aidapt VB532 product specification sheet, Aidapt shower seat fixing and maintenance instructions
- NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs product page on Complete Care Shop (the NRS group’s retail site), NRS user instructions for M48787 and M53552 (read as a copy hosted by ManualsLib)
- NRS Folding Shower Seat with Legs, Back and Arms product page on Complete Care Shop (the NRS group’s retail site), NRS user instructions for M53370 (issue M53370-UI-5, read as a copy hosted by an Australian dealer)
- Drive DeVilbiss Wall Mounted Shower Seat with Drop Down Legs product page, Drive SWALL002 shower stool instructions for use (2022-03 Rev2)
- Aidapt Solo Compact Padded Shower Seat with Leg product page, Aidapt VB544 product specification sheet, Aidapt shower seat fixing and maintenance instructions
- Aidapt Aluminium Folding Shower Stool product page, Aidapt VB541A user manual
- UK dealer product pages named in each pick, prices read 18 September 2026
Review Mobility earns commission on some purchases made through links on this page, and sells optional paid listings to mobility companies. No manufacturer or retailer paid to appear here, none saw this page before publication, and a paid listing does not change what we publish. Corrections: hello@reviewmobility.co.uk.
Published 17 October 2024 · Last updated 25 September 2026
