Write a Review
Logo of "reviewmobilityยฎ" in white lowercase letters on a black background, featuring a thumbs-up icon to the left of the text.

Best Adjustable Beds UK: 8 Checked Against the Makers’ Own Documents

Last Updated on September 30, 2026 | Published: December 8, 2025

Best electric adjustable beds

The short answer

We checked 19 electric adjustable beds sold on Amazon UK against their makers’ own product pages, manuals and warranty terms on 30 September 2026, and ranked the eight that publish enough to compare:

If the bed is for someone who needs care in bed, a profiling bed is usually the better choice: see the best hospital and profiling beds for home.

Last checked 30 September 2026. We have not slept on or tested these beds. Every figure in the ranking comes from the maker’s own product page, manual or warranty terms, or from the Amazon listing where we say so, read on that date. Where two of those documents disagree we say so and use the less favourable figure. A missing figure or a mismatch is not evidence that a bed is unsafe or that anyone has acted in bad faith. Links to Amazon are paid links: we earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. No maker or seller paid to appear, and none saw this page before it went live.

An electric adjustable bed has a hinged base and a motor, so you can raise the head end to sit up and the foot end to lift your legs, from a hand control. Most have separate head and foot movement. Two-sided “twin” beds put two single mechanisms side by side so partners can lie in different positions.

These beds cost hundreds of pounds and are hard to send back once built, so the details on paper matter: how much weight the bed and its mattress are rated for, how high it sits, what happens when the power goes, and what the warranty actually covers. That is what we checked, and on Amazon UK a lot of it is missing.

What checking the documents turned up

Of the 19 adjustable beds we checked on Amazon UK on 30 September 2026, only 6 have a user weight limit in a document from the maker other than the Amazon listing itself. Another 6 give a limit only on the listing, and 7 give none on either the listing or the maker’s own site. For a bed that lifts a person, that is the first figure you need.

Only 1 of the 19 mentions a power cut in its documents: the PEPE Mobility frame, whose manual has an emergency battery that you fit into the motor housing. The other 18 do not say what happens when the mains goes off, which matters if the person in the bed cannot get out while it is raised.

None of the 14 beds sold with a mattress names the fire-safety standard the mattress meets. Mattresses sold in the UK are covered by the Furniture and Furnishings (Fire) (Safety) Regulations 1988, and trading standards guidance says to check for a label showing compliance with BS 7177. Not naming the standard online does not mean a mattress fails it; it means you should look for that label when the bed arrives.

Four listings advertise a five-year warranty in the title or feature list, and a fifth gives 3 years in its bullet points and 5 in its description. They come from three sellers, and we could not find written terms for five years on any of their own websites. sleepkings’ homepage says “3 Year Warranty” “On all adjustable beds and mattresses”. MiBed’s homepage says “5 Year guarantee”, but its terms give 6 months on electrical goods and 1 year on other goods, and its warranty page reads “Coming Soon!”. Breeze Mobility’s own product title says “5 Year Warranty”, and its warranty page covers the mattress for 3 years and sets out no terms for the frame.

The weight limit on the bed is not always the limit on the mattress. Back Care Beds’ warranty page caps its Memory 500 mattress at 15 stone (96 kg), 3 stone below the 18-stone mechanism it sits on, and treats heavier use as misuse. We did not find a mattress weight limit from any other maker we checked.

How we ranked them

We started from the adjustable beds and bed frames that Amazon UK sells new, then looked for each maker’s own product page, manual, warranty terms and FAQ, and read the Amazon listing line by line against them. Beds with no weight limit, or with too little published to compare, were not ranked; they are listed further down with the reason. The two sleepkings sister beds were left out because the Dream Well covers the same range. We ranked the rest on five things, most important first:

  • A user weight limit in the maker’s own documents, and whether the documents agree on it.
  • Whether the listing’s claims match what the maker publishes, and whether the maker sells the bed itself.
  • A written answer to what happens in a power cut.
  • A warranty period set out in writing that matches the listing.
  • A published height from the floor to the top of the mattress.

Price was a tie-breaker only. The boxes on this page show Amazon’s live price. Amazon prices include VAT, and some specialist sellers will sell a bed designed for disabled people without VAT; see the VAT section below and our VAT relief guide.

The ranking

All eight side by side, in ranked order. “Sold by maker” means the Amazon seller is the brand itself.

#BedTypeMax userFloor to mattress topPower-cut back-upMattress fire standard namedWarrantySold by maker
1Back Care Beds SimplicityBed, 3ft115 kg (159 kg HD)56 cmNot publishedNo3 or 5 years (pages differ)Yes
2Back Care Beds MajesticBed, 3ft to 4ft115 kg (159 kg HD)56 cmNot publishedNo3 or 5 years (pages differ)Yes
3Back Care Beds Majestic TwinTwin bed, 4ft 6in to 6ft115 kg per side (159 kg HD)Not stated for the twinNot publishedNo3 or 5 years (pages differ)Yes
4PEPE Mobility frameFrame, 3ft120 kgNot publishedEmergency battery (manual)No mattress3 years (manual)Warrantor sells it
5Geriafy CompactFrame, 80 to 105 cm145 kgNot publishedNot publishedNo mattress3-year banner, Spanish siteNo, Amazon
6Breeze Mobility SupremeBed, 3ft to 4ft 6in134 kg (Amazon) or 158 kg (maker)Not publishedNot publishedNoMattress 3 years; frame terms not publishedYes
7sleepkings Dream WellBed, 3ft to 6ft158 kg (Amazon only)51 cm (Amazon)Not publishedNo5 years (Amazon) or 3 years (maker’s homepage)Yes
8S*MAX frameFrame, 3ft to 5ft200 kg (Amazon only)Not publishedNot publishedNo mattressNot publishedYes
Photo Title Price Buy
Backcarebeds Simplicity Single...image Backcarebeds Simplicity Single Electric Adjustable Bed - Woven Hessian ยฃ570.00
Backcarebeds Majestic Adjustable...image Backcarebeds Majestic Adjustable Electric Bed 3ft Single - Velvet Ivory ยฃ899.00
Backcarebeds Majestic Twin...image Backcarebeds Majestic Twin Adjustable Electric Bed - 5ft King Velvet Ivory ยฃ1,379.00
PEPE Mobility Electric...image PEPE Mobility Electric Adjustable Bed Frame, Single 90x190 cm (35.4x74.8) ยฃ499.99
Geriafy - Electric...image Geriafy - Electric Adjustable Bed Frame | 3ft Single | Quiet Motor | Reclining Bed Base | Wired Remote Control ยฃ445.83
Breeze Mobility Supreme...image Breeze Mobility Supreme Electric Adjustable Bed with Headboard & Footend, Premium Memory Foam, 5 Year Warranty, (Shark Grey, 3ft Single) ยฃ795.00
sleepkings Dream Well...image sleepkings Dream Well Adjustable Electric Bed with Memory Foam Mattress and Headboard, Supports Up to 25 Stones, Electric Bed for Disabled, Charcoal Grey (4ft Small Double) ยฃ799.00
S*MAX Adjustable Electric...image S*MAX Adjustable Electric Bed Frame Dual Motors Dual USB Ports Wireless Remote Control Warm Light Zero gravity Anti-Snoring Electric Adjustable Bed Head and Foot Incline 4FT Small Double ยฃ859.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

1. Back Care Beds Simplicity: best adjustable bed overall

The Simplicity is a 3ft single with a five-part slatted mechanism, so the head and the legs rise separately. It is made and sold by Back Care Beds, part of High & Dry Manufacturing Ltd of Batchmere, near Chichester in West Sussex, and the Amazon listing is the maker’s own shop. The maker says its slatted mechanisms are made in Germany; the beds are built at its premises in Batchmere.

It is the best-documented bed we found. The product page gives a user limit of 18 stone (115 kg) on the standard mechanism and up to 25 stone (160 kg; the warranty page says 159 kg) on the heavy-duty option, and a height of 22 inches (56 cm) from the floor to the top of the mattress, which the maker calls “an ideal height”.

The weak point is the paperwork on cover. The product page says the motors and mechanism have “a 2-year factory warranty. This is upgraded to 5 years”, the maker’s warranty page gives the mechanism and motor 3 years, and the Memory 400 mattress on the same product page is marked “1 Year Warranty”. The warranty page also sets its own weight limits for each mattress, from 15 stone (96 kg) for the Memory 500 to 20 stone (127 kg) for the firm options, and says use above them “is considered to be misuse”. Ask which mattress you are getting, and its limit, before you pay.

Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)

With its two Majestic siblings, the only beds here with a published weight limit, a published bed height and a seller who is also the maker. Get the warranty in writing, because the maker’s own pages give three different periods.

Best for: one person up to 18 stone who wants a standard single that is easy to get out of.

Not for: anyone near the weight limit of the mattress they are sent; the mattress limits start at 15 stone.

Type3ft single bed with mattress; head and legs move separately
Max user115 kg (18 st) standard; 159 kg (25 st) heavy-duty option (warranty page; the product page says 160 kg)
Mattress weight limits96 kg to 127 kg depending on mattress (warranty page)
Floor to top of mattress56 cm (22 in)
Mattress on the listing6 in (15 cm) memory foam; the maker’s page offers several mattresses and does not say which is standard
Power-cut back-upNot published
Fire standard namedNo
WarrantyMechanism and motor: 3 years (warranty page) or 2 years upgraded to 5 (product page). Mattress: 5 years (warranty page) or 1 year for the Memory 400 (product page)
Sold on Amazon byHigh And Dry Manufacturing Ltd (the maker)
Maker’s own priceFrom £570 excluding VAT
Photo Title Price Buy
Backcarebeds Simplicity Single...image Backcarebeds Simplicity Single Electric Adjustable Bed - Woven Hessian ยฃ570.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

2. Back Care Beds Majestic: best for a wider single or small double

The Majestic on Amazon is Back Care Beds’ upholstered bed in three widths: 3ft, 3ft 6in and 4ft. It uses the same mechanism options as the Simplicity, so the same 18 stone (115 kg) standard and 25 stone (159 kg) heavy-duty limits apply, and the maker gives the same 56 cm height to the top of the mattress.

Two lines on the listing are worth checking with the seller. The title offers “Dual Hand Controls”, which may refer to the twin version; the maker’s page for the single bed refers to a “hand control”, singular. The listing also mentions “easy self-assembly”, while the maker’s own site describes two-person delivery into the room and an installation that takes 45 minutes to an hour and a half, so ask which service comes with an Amazon order.

The warranty wording is the same mix of 3 and 5 years as on the Simplicity, and the listing’s mattress is given as 8 inches (20 cm) deep, written in the text as 8 feet.

Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)

The Simplicity’s documented mechanism in wider sizes and an upholstered frame. Confirm the hand control, the delivery and the warranty with the seller before ordering.

Best for: one sleeper who wants a 3ft 6in or 4ft bed rather than a standard single.

Not for: couples; a 4ft bed on one mechanism moves both sides together. See the Majestic Twin below.

Type3ft, 3ft 6in or 4ft bed with mattress
Max user115 kg (18 st) standard; 159 kg (25 st) heavy duty (warranty page)
Floor to top of mattress56 cm (22 in)
Mattress on the listing8 in (20 cm) memory foam
Hand control“hand control”, singular (maker); “Dual Hand Controls” (Amazon title)
Power-cut back-upNot published
Fire standard namedNo
WarrantyAs the Simplicity: 3 or 5 years on the mechanism depending on which maker page you read
Sold on Amazon byHigh And Dry Manufacturing Ltd (the maker)
Photo Title Price Buy
Backcarebeds Majestic Adjustable...image Backcarebeds Majestic Adjustable Electric Bed 3ft Single - Velvet Ivory ยฃ899.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

3. Back Care Beds Majestic Twin: best for couples

The Twin is two single mechanisms side by side, each with its own mattress and its own hand control, so one of you can sit up while the other lies flat. On Amazon it comes in 4ft 6in, 5ft and 6ft; the 5ft version uses two 2ft 6in (79 cm) mattresses and measures 157 x 203 cm.

Each side is its own mechanism, and the maker’s twin bed page gives the same mechanism options as its singles: up to 18 stone (115 kg) on the standard mechanism and 25 stone on the heavy duty (160 kg on that page, 159 kg on the warranty page). Because each sleeper has a mechanism of their own, a twin suits couples of different weights better than one wide base.

The same caveats apply as for the other two Back Care Beds picks: no fire standard named, no power-cut back-up described, and warranty periods that differ between the maker’s pages.

Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)

Two independent sides, each on a mechanism with a published weight limit. The best-documented bed for couples of the 19 we checked.

Best for: couples who sleep in different positions, or where one partner needs to sit up at night.

Not for: a small room; at 5ft it is 157 cm wide before the headboard.

TypeTwin bed: two mechanisms, two mattresses, two hand controls
Sizes4ft 6in, 5ft, 6ft
Max user115 kg (18 st) per mechanism standard; 159 kg (25 st) heavy duty
Size (5ft)157 x 203 cm; two 79 cm mattresses
Floor to top of mattressNot stated for the twin; 56 cm for the maker’s single to 4ft beds
Power-cut back-upNot published
Fire standard namedNo
WarrantyMechanism and motor 3 years (warranty page); 5 years (product pages)
Sold on Amazon byHigh And Dry Manufacturing Ltd (the maker)
Photo Title Price Buy
Backcarebeds Majestic Twin...image Backcarebeds Majestic Twin Adjustable Electric Bed - 5ft King Velvet Ivory ยฃ1,379.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

4. PEPE Mobility Electric Bed Frame: best for power cuts

This is a frame, not a whole bed: a single 90 x 190 cm articulated base with a back section that tilts to 70° and a leg section that tilts to 20°. You add your own flexible mattress. The seller on Amazon is KMINA, which is also the company that gives the warranty in the manual.

It is the only one of the 19 beds we checked whose documents mention a power cut at all. The manual tells you to fit an emergency battery into the motor housing and says it “serves as an emergency motor in case of power failure”, and that it must not be used as the main power source. It does not say whether the battery is supplied, so check. It is also one of only six beds with a weight limit in a maker document other than the Amazon listing: 120 kg on the listing, and 265 lb in the English section of the manual, which is the same figure.

The manual gives a 3-year warranty that the listing does not mention, and a maximum duty cycle of 10%: 2 minutes’ running, then 18 minutes’ rest. It describes the frame as designed “to facilitate care tasks in domestic environments”; the listing calls it “ideal for hospital and home use”. We found no maker website, and the only height figure is on the listing: a “fixed height” of 11.5 inches.

Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)

The only bed of the 19 whose documents cover a power cut, with a written warranty and weight figures that match. You have to buy the mattress separately.

Best for: someone who wants a back-up motor for power cuts, and who is under 120 kg.

Not for: anyone who wants a finished bed with a headboard and mattress in one delivery.

TypeFrame only, single 90 x 190 cm; mattress not included
TiltBack 70°, legs 20° (manual)
Max user120 kg (listing); 265 lb (manual)
Height11.5 in “fixed height” (listing only)
Power-cut back-upEmergency battery fitted by the user (manual)
Motor duty cycle10% maximum: 2 minutes on, 18 off (manual)
Warranty3 years from purchase, wear parts excluded (manual)
Sold on Amazon byKMINA, the warrantor named in the manual
Photo Title Price Buy
PEPE Mobility Electric...image PEPE Mobility Electric Adjustable Bed Frame, Single 90x190 cm (35.4x74.8) ยฃ499.99

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

5. Geriafy Compact Electric Bed Frame: best frame for heavier users

Geriafy is a Spanish care-equipment brand, and this is its compact articulated frame with a dual motor. The maker’s page and the Amazon listing agree on the two figures we could check: a user limit of 145 kg, and a 4,500 N Germany Motions motor on the wired-remote version. The frame has fixed 25 cm legs and mattress retainers at the sides and foot.

Amazon sells it directly, not the brand, and the maker’s website we found is in Spanish. The warranty is a banner reading “3 años de garantía” (3 years’ warranty); we found no UK warranty terms and no manual on the maker’s own site.

Check the width before you order. The listing offers 80, 90 and 105 cm widths; a UK single mattress is 90 x 190 cm, so only the 90 cm frame takes a standard single.

Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)

A 145 kg limit that the maker’s page and the listing agree on, from a care-bed brand. Buy the 90 cm width for a UK single mattress, and keep your receipt, because the warranty terms are not published in English.

Best for: a heavier user who wants a frame rather than a whole bed.

Not for: anyone who wants UK after-sales support set out in writing.

TypeFrame only; 80, 90 or 105 cm wide, 190 or 200 cm long
MotorDual, Germany Motions 4,500 N (wired remote)
Max user145 kg (maker’s page and listing agree)
LegsFixed, 25 cm (maker)
Power-cut back-upNot published
Warranty“3 años de garantía” banner on the Spanish site; no UK terms found
Sold on Amazon byAmazon
Photo Title Price Buy
Geriafy - Electric...image Geriafy - Electric Adjustable Bed Frame | 3ft Single | Quiet Motor | Reclining Bed Base | Wired Remote Control ยฃ445.83

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

6. Breeze Mobility Supreme: weight figures that disagree

Breeze Mobility is a Bournemouth mobility retailer that sells the Supreme on Amazon itself. It is a full bed with a five-action frame, a layered memory foam mattress and a headboard, in 3ft, 4ft and 4ft 6in.

The Amazon listing and the maker’s own page give different weight limits for the same 3ft single. Amazon says “Weight Capacity up to 21st (134kg) – Heavy Duty up to 25st (158kg) Available”. Breeze’s own page says “Weight Capacity up to 25st (158kg)”. We rank it on the lower figure, and you should ask which frame you are buying.

Both the Amazon title and the maker’s product title say “5 Year Warranty”. Breeze’s warranty page gives the Supreme mattress a 3-year manufacturer’s warranty and does not set out terms for the frame or motor. On its own site Breeze shows the 3ft single at £795 excluding VAT and £954 including VAT, and offers VAT relief to eligible buyers.

Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)

A UK seller that offers VAT relief on its own site, but its two pages give different weight limits and we could not find written terms for the five-year warranty.

Best for: someone under 21 stone who wants to buy from a UK specialist.

Not for: anyone over 21 stone until the seller confirms, in writing, which frame is supplied.

TypeBed with memory foam mattress and headboard; 3ft, 4ft, 4ft 6in
Max user134 kg standard, 158 kg heavy duty (Amazon); 158 kg (maker’s page)
Floor to top of mattressNot published
Power-cut back-upNot published
Fire standard namedNo
Warranty“5 Year Warranty” in both titles; warranty page: 3 years on the mattress, no frame terms
Sold on Amazon byBreeze Mobility Bournemouth (the seller is the brand)
Maker’s own price3ft single £795 ex VAT, £954 inc VAT
Photo Title Price Buy
Breeze Mobility Supreme...image Breeze Mobility Supreme Electric Adjustable Bed with Headboard & Footend, Premium Memory Foam, 5 Year Warranty, (Shark Grey, 3ft Single) ยฃ795.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

7. sleepkings Dream Well: figures only on the Amazon listing

sleepkings is a bed company in Wakefield, and the Dream Well is sold on Amazon by sleepkings itself: an adjustable bed with an 8-inch memory foam mattress, a headboard and a wired six-button remote, from 3ft to 6ft. The listing gives more figures than most: 158 kg (25 stone), 51 cm from the floor to the top of the mattress on the 4ft size, and 125 x 209 cm overall.

We could not check those figures, because the Dream Well is not on sleepkings’ own website under that name. Of its models that are, its Restwell memory foam bed is rated to 18 stone and its Buckingham Ultimo heavy-duty set to 25 stone.

The warranty is where the documents part company. The listing says “A 5-year warranty covers the mechanism, frame, motor, and memory foam mattress”. The sleepkings homepage says “3 Year Warranty” “On all adjustable beds and mattresses”. Its sister listing, the Rest Ease Plus, also says five years. The Comfort Rise listing gives 3 years in its bullet points and 5 years in its description.

Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)

The fullest listing of any bed without maker documents, but the warranty on it is longer than the one on the maker’s own homepage.

Best for: a buyer who is happy to get the weight limit and warranty confirmed by email before ordering.

Not for: anyone relying on the five-year figure without written terms.

TypeBed with 8 in memory foam mattress and headboard; 3ft to 6ft
Max user158 kg (25 st), Amazon listing only
Floor to top of mattress51 cm (Amazon, 4ft size)
HandsetWired, six buttons
Power-cut back-upNot published
Fire standard namedNo
Warranty5 years (Amazon listing); 3 years on all adjustable beds (sleepkings homepage)
Sold on Amazon bySleepkings
Photo Title Price Buy
sleepkings Dream Well...image sleepkings Dream Well Adjustable Electric Bed with Memory Foam Mattress and Headboard, Supports Up to 25 Stones, Electric Bed for Disabled, Charcoal Grey (4ft Small Double) ยฃ799.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

8. S*MAX Dual Motor Adjustable Bed Frame: most features, least paperwork

S*MAX is the brand of SMAX Furniture Technology Co., Ltd, a factory in Anji, Zhejiang, China. Its frame has the most features here: two Dewart-Okin motors, a head section to 60° and a foot section to 38°, a wireless remote with three memory positions, USB ports and a night light, and legs you can take off so the base lies flat on the floor.

The maker’s page agrees with the listing on the motors and the angles. The 200 kg weight limit appears only in the listing’s safety text, and we found no warranty period on the listing or on the maker’s site. The maker’s page gives its mid-size frame as 1325 x 1875 mm, which does not match the 120 cm small double on Amazon, so check the size before ordering.

Our verdict (documents last checked 30 September 2026)

A well-specified frame whose maker publishes the features but not the weight limit or the warranty.

Best for: someone who wants presets and a wireless remote more than written cover.

Not for: anyone who needs a warranty or a weight limit in writing from the maker.

TypeFrame only; 3ft, 4ft, 5ft
MotorsDual, Dewart-Okin (maker and listing agree)
TiltHead 0 to 60°, foot 0 to 38° (maker and listing agree)
Max user200 kg, Amazon listing only
RemoteWireless, three memory presets, night light
Power-cut back-upNot published
WarrantyNot published
Sold on Amazon byS*MAX Store (the brand)
Photo Title Price Buy
S*MAX Adjustable Electric...image S*MAX Adjustable Electric Bed Frame Dual Motors Dual USB Ports Wireless Remote Control Warm Light Zero gravity Anti-Snoring Electric Adjustable Bed Head and Foot Incline 4FT Small Double ยฃ859.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

What the listings say, and what the makers say

The claims that did not match, side by side. Each maker document was read on 30 September 2026. A mismatch like this can be a wording or template error on the listing, but it is the listing you buy from, so it is worth asking the seller to confirm the figure in writing.

BedAmazon listing saysMaker’s own document says
Breeze Mobility Supreme“Weight Capacity up to 21st (134kg) – Heavy Duty up to 25st (158kg) Available”Product page: “Weight Capacity up to 25st (158kg)”
Breeze Mobility Supreme“5 Year Warranty”Warranty page: 3-year manufacturer’s warranty on the Supreme mattress; no frame or motor terms
sleepkings Dream Well and Rest Ease Plus“5 Year Warranty”Homepage: “3 Year Warranty” “On all adjustable beds and mattresses”
sleepkings Comfort Rise3-year warranty in the bullet points; “5-year warranty” in the descriptionHomepage: 3 years on all adjustable beds
MiBed Electric Adjustable Bed“5-Year Warranty”; “Backed by a reliable 5-year manufacturer’s warranty”Terms: “6 months in respect of any electrical goods, or a period of 1 years in respect of all other Goods”; warranty page: “Coming Soon!”; homepage: “5 Year guarantee”
Back Care Beds Majestic (single)“Dual Hand Controls”; “easy self-assembly”“hand control”, singular, on the single bed page; two-person delivery and installation described on its own site
PEPE Mobility frame“ideal for hospital and home use”Manual: designed “to facilitate care tasks in domestic environments”
S*MAX frameMaximum weight 200 kgNo weight limit on the maker’s page; mid-size frame given as 1325 x 1875 mm against 120 cm wide on Amazon

Beds we checked but did not rank

MiBed Electric Adjustable Bed: sold by the brand and described as UK made, but we found no weight limit on the listing or the maker’s site, we could not match this bed-and-mattress set to a product on MiBed’s own site, where its beds are sold on quotation, and the warranty documents differ as shown above.

sleepkings Rest Ease Plus and Comfort Rise: like the Dream Well, neither is on sleepkings’ own site under that name, and each gives a 25-stone limit on the listing only. The pocket-spring beds on sleepkings’ own site, the Adjustapocket and the Rest Plus, are rated to 18 stone. The warranty wording is set out above.

Three King of Beds listings (the Dewsbury, the Arte Deco and an upholstered model): no warranty, no bed height and no maker documents we could find. Two say 25 stone; the Arte Deco gives no limit.

Two beds sold by Soft Snooze Beds under the Paradise Beds Ltd store name, the Buckingham and an “Opera” model: no weight limit, warranty or bed height on either listing, and no maker documents we could find.

Electric Vienna Adjustable Bed (brand listed as Generic), the PREMTURE Electric Adjustable Bed Base and a FlexiSpot head-only “Zero Clearance” frame: none gives a weight limit or a warranty on its listing. We could not match the FlexiSpot frame to any bed on FlexiSpot’s UK site; that site gives bed frames bought from 1 January 2026 a 2-year warranty.

Back Care Beds also sells a heavy-duty replacement motor and controller on Amazon, rated to 25 stone with a 3-year warranty on the maker’s page. It is a spare part, not a bed, so it is not in the ranking.

Adjustable bed or profiling bed?

An adjustable bed is built for the comfort of the person sleeping in it. A profiling bed is built for care: the whole platform rises to a height a carer can work at, drops low to reduce the harm from a fall, and takes side rails. If someone needs help to wash, turn or get out of bed, ask your council for an occupational therapy assessment first, because a profiling bed is often lent free through the community equipment service. Our guide to NHS and council equipment explains how to ask, and the best hospital and profiling beds for home ranks the beds you can buy. For the difference in more detail, see hospital beds and profiling beds compared.

Adding bed rails to any bed needs the right gaps between rail, mattress and headboard, or a person can become trapped. Read our bed rails guide first.

VAT relief on an adjustable bed

An electrically adjustable bed can be sold without VAT to someone with a long-term illness or disability, but only if the bed itself is “designed for invalids”, in the words of the law. HMRC’s own guidance (VAT Relief for Disabled People manual, VRDP06400, updated 26 May 2021) warns that “There are now a lot of adjustable beds on the market and most of them are not designed for invalids”, and explains that the test keeps the relief away from the mainstream market in adjustable beds sold to people with problems such as back pain. It is the seller who decides whether to zero-rate, and you sign an eligibility declaration before you pay.

In practice, specialist sellers such as Back Care Beds and Breeze Mobility show their own prices excluding VAT and offer the relief; Amazon prices include VAT. If you qualify, get a quote from the maker direct and compare it with the Amazon box price. See our VAT relief guide for who qualifies. This is general information, not tax advice.

Before you buy

  • Get the weight limit in writing for both the base and the mattress, and allow a margin if you are close to it.
  • Measure the height. Sit on a firm chair where your feet rest flat and your knees are level with your hips, and measure from the floor to the seat. Back Care Beds publishes 56 cm to the top of the mattress; most listings give no figure.
  • Ask what happens in a power cut, and whether a battery back-up can be fitted.
  • Check the fire label on the mattress when it arrives, and contact the seller if there is none.
  • Ask the seller for the full warranty terms as well as the headline number, and keep a copy.
  • Check who builds it. Some sellers install the bed in the room; others deliver flat-packed to the door.
  • If you are buying only a frame, check the mattress size: a UK single is 90 x 190 cm.

For cheaper ways to sit up in bed, see the best bed wedges and backrests. For help getting your legs into bed, see leg lifters and bed levers. For what to expect on price and lifespan, read how much adjustable beds cost and how long an adjustable bed lasts.

What this page does and does not say

This page reports what each maker and seller has published, quoted and dated. A missing figure or a mismatch between two documents is not evidence that a bed is unsafe or that anyone has acted in bad faith; listings are often written from templates and go out of date. Some of these sellers are listed in our company directory, and a listing, free or paid, has no effect on this ranking. If you are a maker or seller and something here is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will check it and correct it.

Frequently asked questions about adjustable beds

What is the best adjustable bed in the UK?

Of the 19 adjustable beds sold on Amazon UK that we checked against their makers’ documents on 30 September 2026, the Back Care Beds Simplicity ranks first: its maker publishes an 18 stone (115 kg) limit and a 56 cm bed height, and sells it on Amazon itself. For couples, the Back Care Beds Majestic Twin has two independent sides, each on its own rated mechanism.

Can I get VAT relief on an adjustable bed?

Only if you have a long-term illness or disability and the bed is designed for disabled people. HMRC’s guidance says “most of them are not designed for invalids”, so the seller has to be satisfied that the bed qualifies before zero-rating it, and you sign a declaration before paying. Amazon prices include VAT. This is general information, not tax advice.

What happens to an adjustable bed in a power cut?

Unless it has a battery back-up, the bed stays where it stopped until the power returns. Only 1 of the 19 beds we checked, the PEPE Mobility frame, mentions a power cut in its documents: its manual has an emergency battery, fitted into the motor housing, that “serves as an emergency motor in case of power failure”. Ask the seller before you buy.

Do I need a special mattress for an adjustable bed?

Yes, it has to bend with the base. Memory foam, latex and pocket-sprung mattresses made for adjustable beds are normal. Check the mattress’s own weight limit too: Back Care Beds’ warranty page gives its mattresses limits from 15 stone (96 kg) to 20 stone (127 kg), lower than its mechanisms.

What weight can an adjustable bed take?

The makers that publish a figure rate their beds from 115 kg (18 stone) to about 159 kg (25 stone); one listing claims 200 kg with no maker document behind the figure. Of the 19 beds we checked, 7 gave no weight limit on the listing or the maker’s site. On a twin bed each side has its own mechanism.

Can I get an adjustable bed on the NHS?

Not usually for comfort. Where there is an assessed care need, the council’s community equipment service or the NHS may lend a profiling bed, which rises for carers and lowers to reduce fall risk. Ask your council or GP for an occupational therapy assessment.

Sources

Maker and seller documents read on 30 September 2026: Back Care Beds product pages for the Simplicity and the Hampshire (individual and twin Majestic), warranty page, VAT exemption page, returns page, motor page and installation guide (backcarebeds.co.uk); PEPE Mobility adjustable bed frame user manual P40027 (KMINA), linked from the Amazon listing; Geriafy product page for the Cama Articulada Compacta (geriafy.es); Breeze Mobility product page for the Supreme Essentials and its insurance and warranty page (breezemobility.co.uk); sleepkings homepage, product pages for the Buckingham Ultimo, Restwell, Adjustapocket and Rest Plus, and returns and delivery pages (sleepkings.co.uk); S*MAX adjustable bed pages (smaxfurniture.com); MiBed homepage, terms and conditions, warranty page and VAT relief page (mibed.co.uk); FlexiSpot UK adjustable bed pages and warranty page (flexispot.co.uk); the Amazon UK listing for each of the 19 beds.

Rules and guidance: HMRC VAT Relief for Disabled People manual, VRDP06100 and VRDP06400 (updated 26 May 2021); Business Companion trading standards guidance on upholstered furniture fire safety (updated October 2025), on the Furniture and Furnishings (Fire) (Safety) Regulations 1988 and BS 7177.

Spotted an error, or represent one of these makers or sellers? Email hello@reviewmobility.co.uk and we will check and correct it.

Written byReview Mobility Editorial Team

We research, test and compare mobility equipment and the companies behind it, so you can choose with confidence. Our reviews are independent and never paid for.

Not medical advice: our guides are general information, and equipment that suits one person can be unsuitable for another. Speak to your GP, or ask your local council for a needs assessment, before buying for a health condition or a fall risk.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through one we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you, and as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Commission never decides what we recommend or how we rank it, and no company can pay for a place on this page. Read our full disclosure.