Published 6 July 2026 · Last updated 21 September 2026
This page compares 10 transit wheelchairs: the attendant-propelled chairs with small rear wheels that a carer pushes, plus one compact steel travel chair. It also covers what used to sit on our separate travel wheelchair and transport chair pages, because the questions are the same: how heavy is it to lift, how narrow does it fold, will it go in the car boot, and who can it safely carry. We have not tested any of these chairs. Every figure comes from the maker’s own documents (product pages, user manuals, a brochure and a crash test summary), read on 18 September 2026, with UK dealer pages used only for prices and as a cross-check.
The headline finding: 4 of the 10 chairs have two different weights in their makers’ own documents, and for the Drive S1 a Drive product page says the chair is crash tested for use as a vehicle seat while a Drive user manual says it must not be. Where documents disagree, our table uses the less flattering figure.
Qualify for VAT relief? When we priced the NRS Transit-Lite on 21 September 2026 it cost the same or slightly less on Amazon at full price, but ยฃ26 to ยฃ31 less at a specialist with VAT relief. See the Amazon vs specialist price check.
The short answer
- Karma Ergo 3: best all-round transit chair: crash tested, 115 kg user limit with the attendant brake, seat widths up to 51 cm.
- Karma Ergo Lite: lightest to lift: 8.8 kg at most for the 18 inch seat, all in one piece, crash tested, 100 kg limit.
- Drive Expedition Plus: best value for larger users: 135 kg limit for 12 kg of chair, or 150 kg on the HD version.
- Karma Ergo Lite 2: shortest fold in the line-up: 635 mm folded length, 9.3 kg at most.
- Drive Ultra Lightweight Transit: light aluminium chair with a 20 inch seat option rated to 125 kg.
- Roma 1485X: heavy duty pick: 204 kg user limit, but the chair itself weighs 20 kg.
- Roma 1235: budget steel transit chair: 110 kg limit, 11 or 12 kg depending on which Roma document you read.
- Drive Steel Travel Chair: narrowest fold: 20 cm closed width, for a chair that lives in the boot.
What checking the documents turned up
4 of the 10 chairs have two different weights in their makers’ own documents. Karma Ergo Lite (8.5 kg in the text, 8.6 to 8.8 kg in the table), Karma Ergo Lite 2 (8.7 kg against 9.2 to 9.3 kg), Roma 1235 (12 kg on the product page, 11 kg in the brochure) and Drive S1 (14.6 kg in a Drive manual, 13.5 kg in a Drive crash test summary). The gaps are small, but each one lands on the side that makes the chair sound lighter.
4 of the 10 makers’ documents say the chair meets ISO 7176-19 for use as a vehicle seat, and for 1 of those 4 a second document from the same maker says the opposite. Karma says so for the Ergo 3 and Ergo Lite, Performance Health for the Days Transit, and Drive for the S1. A Drive user manual for its budget steel wheelchair, hosted by a UK dealer as the S1 manual, says it “must not be used” as a seat in a motor vehicle. The other 6 chairs have no crash-test statement in the maker documents we opened.
3 of the 10 chairs top out at 110 kg or less, and 1 maker publishes no user weight limit at all. Both Karma Ergo Lite models are rated to 100 kg and the Roma 1235 to 110 kg. Performance Health’s page for the Days Transit Wheelchair gives a weight of 21 kg but no maximum user weight.
None of the 10 makers publishes a warranty longer than 1 year for these chairs, and 6 of the 10 have no warranty period in any maker document we could open. Drive states 1 year for the 4 Drive chairs. Karma, Roma and Performance Health give no period on the pages we read. Some dealers advertise longer cover of their own, which is the dealer’s offer, not the maker’s.
How we checked, and what we did not do
We did not buy, use or measure any of these products. For each one we opened the manufacturer’s UK product page and the documents it links to (leaflet, spec sheet, instructions for use), and in a few cases a copy of the maker’s instructions hosted by a dealer where the maker does not host its own. We recorded each figure with the document it came from.
Where two of the maker’s documents give different figures for the same thing, we apply the least-favourable-figure rule: the table shows the less flattering one and the text shows both. Buyers who plan around the least favourable figure are never caught out; buyers who plan around the best one sometimes are.
For a transit chair the numbers that go wrong for buyers are the lift weight, the user limit and the folded size. We recorded total weight and, where the maker gives it, the weight of the heaviest part, because that is what the carer lifts into the boot once footrests are off. Karma’s tables give both; Drive gives a product weight and a separate carry weight; Roma and Performance Health give one weight only. We took the maximum user weight exactly as printed and noted where it changes with the brake fitted or the seat width. Folded width decides whether the chair stands upright in a boot, folded length decides whether it lies flat, and only Karma publishes all three folded dimensions. Crash-test status counts only when a maker document says the chair meets ISO 7176-19; a dealer saying “crash tested” does not count.
We only included products from makers with published UK documents, and only products currently listed on Amazon UK so each pick can carry a live price box. Rankings are our judgement from the documents. No manufacturer or retailer paid to appear, and none saw this page before publication. If you think we have a figure wrong, email hello@reviewmobility.co.uk with the document and we will correct it.
All 10 compared
Figures are the maker’s own. Where the maker’s documents disagree, the table shows the less favourable figure (see each pick for both). Amazon prices change often, so they are in the live boxes, not the table.
| # | Model | Weight (least favourable) | Max user weight | Seat width | Folded width | Vehicle seat (ISO 7176-19) | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Karma Ergo 3 | 12.9 kg (20 inch seat, heaviest set-up) | 115 kg with attendant brake | 41, 46 or 51 cm | 245 to 285 mm | Yes | Not published |
| 2 | Karma Ergo Lite | 8.8 kg (18 inch seat) | 100 kg | 40 or 45 cm | 275 to 280 mm | Yes | Not published |
| 3 | Drive Expedition Plus | 12 kg (HD: 12.5 kg) | 135 kg (HD: 150 kg) | 47 cm (HD: 51 cm) | Not published | Not stated | 1 year |
| 4 | Karma Ergo Lite 2 | 9.3 kg (18 inch seat) | 100 kg | 40 or 45 cm | 280 to 295 mm | Not stated | Not published |
| 5 | Drive Ultra Lightweight Transit | 11.6 kg (20 inch seat) | 115 kg (17 inch), 125 kg (20 inch) | 42 or 51 cm | 28 cm | Not stated | 1 year |
| 6 | Roma 1485X | 20 kg | 204 kg | 56 cm between arms | Not published | Not stated | Not published |
| 7 | Roma 1235 | 12 kg | 110 kg | 46 cm (brochure) | Not published | Not stated | Not published |
| 8 | Drive Steel Travel Chair | 12 kg | 115 kg | 48 cm | 20 cm | Not stated | 1 year |
| 9 | Drive S1 Steel Transit | 14.6 kg | 18 stone (about 114 kg) | 45 cm | 26 cm | Disputed | 1 year |
| 10 | Days Transit Wheelchair | 21 kg | Not published | Not published | Not published | Yes | Not published |
Table checked 18 September 2026. Weight is the complete chair using the heavier figure where the maker’s documents disagree; ‘Not stated’ means no maker document we opened mentions ISO 7176-19; ‘Disputed’ means two maker documents disagree.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
1. Karma Ergo 3: best all-round transit wheelchair
The Ergo 3 is the one chair here that combines a crash-test approval, a 115 kg user limit and a 20 inch seat option. It is heavier than the Ergo Lite models at 11.9 to 12.9 kg complete, but the heaviest single part can be as little as 8 kg once it is stripped down. Karma’s page has one of the clearer user-weight explanations we read.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Karma Ergo 3 is the safest general choice in this list: crash tested to ISO 7176-19, rated to 115 kg with its attendant brake and offered in a 51 cm seat.
Best for: carers who need one chair for car travel and daily outings, and users up to 115 kg who need more seat width than the Ergo Lite models offer.
Not for: anyone who must lift the whole chair in one piece and struggles above 10 kg, because the complete chair is 11.9 to 12.9 kg.
| Total weight | 11.9 to 12.9 kg by seat width |
| Heaviest part | 8.0 to 12.6 kg by set-up |
| Max user | 115 kg with Push & Pull attendant brake, 125 kg without |
| Seat widths | 410, 460 or 510 mm |
| Folded | 770 mm long, 245 to 285 mm wide, 660 to 780 mm high |
| Wheels | 6 or 7 inch castors, 14 inch rear |
| Vehicle seat | Approved to ISO 7176-19 |
| Warranty | Not published on the pages we opened |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no contradiction on the Ergo 3 page, only a condition worth reading. The description says the chair “is suitable for users up to 125 kg in weight. However, if the wheelchair is equipped with Push & Pull attendant brake, it is only suitable for users up to 115 kg in weight.” The specification table lists 115 kg for every seat width, so the transit version with its attendant brake should be treated as a 115 kg chair. The text also calls it “one of the lightest wheelchairs on the market” at 11.9 kg, which is the lightest set-up only; the table runs to 12.9 kg.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ399.99 (listed as VAT exempt), Mobility Station ยฃ399.99 (with VAT relief, ex VAT), UK Wheelchairs ยฃ399.99 (listed as VAT exempt). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Karma Ergo 3 product page and specification table, read 18 September 2026. The Ergo 3 user manual and leaflet are listed on the page but would not download for us.
2. Karma Ergo Lite: lightest transit wheelchair to lift
The Ergo Lite is Karma’s lightest attendant-propelled chair and the lightest complete chair in this line-up. The table gives the heaviest part as the same as the total weight, which means it lifts as one piece: nothing comes off to make it lighter. It is crash tested and has push-to-park attendant brakes.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
At 8.8 kg for the 18 inch seat and crash tested to ISO 7176-19, the Karma Ergo Lite is the easiest chair here to lift in one go, as long as the user is under 100 kg.
Best for: carers with limited lifting strength who put the chair in and out of a car several times a day.
Not for: users near or above 100 kg, or anyone who needs a seat wider than 45 cm; it is also 830 mm long folded, the longest fold of the Karma chairs.
| Total weight | 8.6 kg (16 inch seat), 8.8 kg (18 inch seat) |
| Heaviest part | 8.6 kg or 8.8 kg (same as total) |
| Max user | 100 kg |
| Seat widths | 400 or 450 mm |
| Folded | 830 mm long, 275 to 280 mm wide, 700 to 710 mm high |
| Wheels | 6 inch castors, 14 inch rear |
| Brakes | Push & Pull attendant parking brake |
| Vehicle seat | Approved to ISO 7176-19 |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
The product text says twice that the chair weighs 8.5 kg: “Weighing only 8.5kg, the Ergo Lite is Karma’s lightest attendant-propelled wheelchair” and “Weighing at a mere 8.5kg”. The specification table on the same page gives “Total mass (kg)” as 8.6 and 8.8 for the two seat widths. Karma’s ultralight transit category page also says these chairs “start from 8.5kg complete”. We list 8.8 kg for the 18 inch seat. One dealer we checked, Mobility and Comfort, lists an “Assembled weight” of 8.3 kg, a figure we did not find in Karma’s documents.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility and Comfort ยฃ369.00 (with VAT relief), Essington Mobility ยฃ349.00 (VAT basis not stated), Wheelchair Company ยฃ324.99 (VAT basis not stated). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Karma Ergo Lite product page and specification table, and Karma’s ultralight transit wheelchairs category page, read 18 September 2026. The Ergo Lite series owner’s manual is listed but would not download for us.
3. Drive Expedition Plus: best value for larger users
The Expedition Plus is a plain aluminium transit chair with 12 inch solid rear tyres, cable brakes on the push handles and a half-folding backrest. Its selling point is capacity: 135 kg on the standard chair and 150 kg on the HD version, at 12 to 12.5 kg. Drive’s page does not mention crash testing, so do not plan to sit in it in a moving vehicle.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Drive Expedition Plus carries 135 kg (150 kg as the HD) for 12 kg of chair, which is the best capacity-to-weight figure in this line-up.
Best for: users between 100 and 150 kg whose carer still needs a chair that lifts at around 12 kg.
Not for: anyone who needs to stay seated in the chair in a vehicle, because Drive’s page makes no ISO 7176-19 statement, or anyone who needs a published folded size.
| Weight | 12 kg (standard), 12.5 kg (HD) |
| Max user | 135 kg (standard), 150 kg (HD) |
| Seat width | 47 cm (standard), 51 cm (HD) |
| Seat depth | 40 cm (standard), 42 cm (HD) |
| Overall | 96 x 56 x 93 cm (standard), 99 x 60 x 95 cm (HD), H x W x L |
| Rear tyres | 30 cm (12 inch) solid |
| Folded width | Not published |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no disagreement between Drive’s own figures for the Expedition Plus. One dealer we checked, Adapt Life, lists a “5-year manufacturer warranty”; Drive’s product page lists 1 year for both versions, and we use Drive’s figure.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ199.99 (listed as VAT exempt), UK Wheelchairs ยฃ199.99 (listed as VAT exempt), Adapt Life ยฃ300.00 (VAT basis not stated). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Drive Medical Expedition Plus product page with specifications for EXP002SIL and EXP002SILHD, read 18 September 2026.
4. Karma Ergo Lite 2: shortest fold for small boots
The Ergo Lite 2 transit is slightly heavier than the original Ergo Lite but folds much shorter: 635 mm against 830 mm. With the footrests off, the heaviest part drops to 6.7 kg on the 16 inch quick-release version. The same page also covers the self-propelled version, so read the 14 inch columns.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Karma Ergo Lite 2 folds to 635 mm long with a heaviest part of 6.7 to 8.3 kg, the smallest package here, but its 100 kg limit is low and Karma’s page makes no crash-test statement for it.
Best for: small cars and hatchbacks where boot depth is the problem, for users under 100 kg.
Not for: users near 100 kg, or anyone who needs to travel seated in the chair in a vehicle until Karma confirms crash-test status for this model.
| Total weight | 9.2 kg (16 inch seat), 9.3 kg (18 inch seat) |
| Heaviest part | 6.7 to 8.3 kg by set-up |
| Max user | 100 kg |
| Seat widths | 400 or 450 mm |
| Folded | 635 mm long, 280 to 295 mm wide, 700 to 710 mm high |
| Wheels | 6 inch castors, 14 inch rear |
| Vehicle seat | Not stated on the product page |
| Warranty | Not published on the pages we opened |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
The product text says: “Weighing at a mere 8.7 kg for the transit wheelchair”. The specification table on the same page gives “Total mass (kg)” as 9.2 and 9.3 for the two transit seat widths. We list 9.3 kg. Dealers we checked give 8.3 kg (Easy Mobility Services), 8.7 kg (Advantage Mobility) and 10 kg (Better Mobility) for this chair.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ329.99 (listed as VAT exempt), Better Mobility ยฃ495.00 (ex VAT) or ยฃ594.00 (inc VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Karma Ergo Lite 2 product page with transit and self-propel specification table, read 18 September 2026. The Ergo Lite series owner’s manual and Ergo Lite 2 leaflet are listed but would not download for us.
5. Drive Ultra Lightweight Transit (Enigma): best for a 20 inch seat on a budget
Sold on Amazon under Drive’s older Enigma name, this is an aluminium chair with a single cross brace, half-folding back and quick-release footrests. Drive gives both a product weight and a lower carry weight, and the 20 inch version is rated to 125 kg. Drive’s transit page has a wheel description problem, set out below.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Drive Ultra Lightweight Transit gives a 51 cm seat rated to 125 kg for 11.6 kg (10.4 kg to carry), though Drive’s own transit page describes the wrong rear wheels.
Best for: users who need a 20 inch seat and a carer who wants a chair around 10 kg once the footrests are off.
Not for: users above 115 kg on the 17 inch version, or anyone needing a chair approved as a vehicle seat.
| Weight | 11.5 kg (17 inch), 11.6 kg (20 inch) |
| Carry weight | 10.2 kg (17 inch), 10.4 kg (20 inch) |
| Max user | 115 kg (17 inch), 125 kg (20 inch) |
| Seat width | 42 cm or 51 cm |
| Folded width | 28 cm |
| Overall length | 95 cm |
| Rear wheels | See documentation note |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Drive’s transit product page for codes LAWC008A and LAWC012A lists “Spoked 61cm (24″) rear wheels with solid grey Polyurethane (PU) tyres” and “hand rims”, which describes a self-propelled chair. Drive’s spare parts list for LAWC007 to LAWC012 includes a “12.5” rear wheel” and transit push handles. We could not confirm from Drive’s documents which rear wheel the transit version ships with; one dealer we checked, Glebe Healthcare, lists 12.5 inch rear wheels.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: ReliMobility ยฃ185.00 (with VAT relief) or ยฃ222.00 (inc VAT), Mobility Shop ยฃ239.99 (listed as VAT exempt), Glebe Healthcare ยฃ174.99 for 17 inch, ยฃ189.99 for 20 inch (VAT basis not stated). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Drive Medical Ultra Lightweight Transit Aluminium product page with LAWC008A and LAWC012A specifications, and Drive’s LAWC007 to LAWC012 spare parts list, read 18 September 2026.
6. Roma 1485X: best heavy duty transit wheelchair
The 1485X is a steel car transit chair with double cross braces, detachable arms, 30 cm rear wheels and loop cable brakes. At 204 kg it has by far the highest user limit here. The cost is weight: 20 kg is a hard lift into a boot for most carers.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Roma 1485X is rated to 204 kg with 56 cm between the arms, but at 20 kg it is a two-person lift for many households.
Best for: users above 150 kg, or anyone who needs 56 cm between the armrests.
Not for: a carer who lifts the chair alone into a car, because it weighs 20 kg and Roma publishes no folded size.
| Weight | 20 kg |
| Max user | 204 kg |
| Width between arms | 56 cm |
| Overall | 71 cm deep, 70 cm wide, 94 cm high |
| Seat depth | 45 cm (page) or 46 cm (brochure) |
| Rear wheels | 30 cm (12 inch) |
| Folded size | Not published |
| Warranty | Not published |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Roma’s product page and its 2022 wheelchair brochure agree on the numbers that matter: “Weight of product 20 kgs / 44 lbs” and “Maximum user weight 204 kgs / 450 lbs” in the brochure, 20kg and 204kg on the page. Two smaller differences: the page gives seat depth as 45cm and the brochure “46 cm / 18″”; the page lists a “Nylon seat and back” and the brochure a “Vinyl seat and back”.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ399.99 (listed as VAT exempt), Capable Direct ยฃ407.49 (ex VAT) or ยฃ488.99 (inc VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Roma Medical 1485X product page and the Roma Medical wheelchair brochure section (November 2022), read 18 September 2026.
7. Roma 1235: best budget transit wheelchair
The 1235 is a simple car transit chair: fixed padded arms, fold-down back, loop cable brakes, 30 cm puncture-proof rear wheels. It is one of the cheapest chairs here. Roma’s product page and brochure disagree on several of its measurements.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Roma 1235 is a low-cost 110 kg transit chair, but Roma’s page says 12 kg and its brochure says 11 kg, so plan for 12.
Best for: occasional use for users under 110 kg where price matters more than weight.
Not for: users near 110 kg, or anyone who needs a published folded size or crash-test approval.
| Weight | 12 kg (page) or 11 kg (brochure) |
| Max user | 110 kg |
| Seat width | 46 cm (brochure only) |
| Overall width | 55.8 cm (page) or 63.5 cm (brochure) |
| Seat height | 43.2 cm (page) or 51 cm (brochure) |
| Rear wheels | 30 cm (12 inch) puncture proof |
| Folded size | Not published |
| Warranty | Not published |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Roma’s product page lists “Weight 12kg (24lbs)”; Roma’s brochure lists “Weight of product 11 kgs / 24 lbs”. The page also gives “Width 55.8cm” and “Seat Height 43.2cm”, where the brochure gives “Width 63.5 cm / 25”” and “Seat height 51 cm / 20””. We list 12 kg. The 7 cm width gap matters for narrow doorways, so measure the chair or ask the dealer before relying on either figure.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ169.99 (listed as VAT exempt), UK Wheelchairs ยฃ159.99 (ex VAT) or ยฃ191.99 (inc VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Roma Medical 1235 product page and the Roma Medical wheelchair brochure section (November 2022), read 18 September 2026.
8. Drive Steel Travel Chair: narrowest fold for keeping in the boot
This is a travel chair more than a full transit wheelchair: fixed 8 inch wheels all round, a fold-down back and swing-away footrests. It closes to 20 cm wide, the narrowest in this line-up. Small wheels make it a chair for smooth surfaces and short distances.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Drive Steel Travel Chair folds to 20 cm wide and carries 115 kg, but at 12 kg in one piece it is no lighter to lift than a full-size aluminium transit chair.
Best for: a spare chair that stays in the car for shops, hospital visits and short trips on level ground.
Not for: rough paths, grass or kerbs, because every wheel is 20 cm (8 inch), and anyone hoping for a very light chair, since it is 12 kg with no parts to remove.
| Weight | 12 kg |
| Carry weight | 12 kg |
| Max user | 115 kg |
| Seat width | 48 cm |
| Folded width | 20 cm |
| Open size | 99 cm high, 59 cm wide, 84 cm long |
| Wheels | 20 cm (8 inch) fixed, puncture proof |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no disagreement in Drive’s figures for this chair. Drive’s page lists “Width (Closed) 20cm (7.9″)” and “Carry Weight 12kg”, the same as the product weight, so nothing comes off to make it lighter.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Great British Mobility ยฃ195.00 (VAT relief available, basis of the listed price not stated), Wisbech Mobility ยฃ150.00 (VAT basis not stated). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Drive Medical Steel Travel Chair product page with specifications for TR39SIL and TR-39ESV, read 18 September 2026.
9. Drive S1 Steel Transit: cheap steel chair with a crash-test question
The S1 is Drive’s economy steel transit chair, with 32 cm rear wheels and vinyl upholstery. Drive’s product page says it is crash tested and a Drive crash test summary from 2022 records a pass. A Drive user manual says the opposite, so check the paperwork that comes with your chair.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Drive S1 is a cheap 18 stone transit chair, but at 14.6 kg and with Drive’s own documents disagreeing on whether it can be used as a vehicle seat, it ranks near the bottom.
Best for: indoor and occasional outdoor use where the chair is not lifted often and no one will travel seated in it.
Not for: anyone planning to stay in the chair in a taxi or adapted vehicle until the dealer confirms which manual applies, or carers who struggle with 14.6 kg.
| Weight | 14.6 kg (manual) or 13.5 kg (crash test summary) |
| Max user | 18 stone (250 lb) |
| Seat | 45 cm wide, 40 cm deep |
| Width closed | 26 cm |
| Overall | 60 cm wide, 88 cm long, 91 cm high |
| Rear wheels | 32 cm (12.5 inch) |
| Vehicle seat | Disputed between Drive documents |
| Warranty | 1 year (manual) |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Drive’s S1 product page says: “The S1 Steel Wheelchairs, both Transit (CS1142T) and Self-Propel versions (CS1142SPMAG) are crash test compliant and suitable for use as a seat in a motor vehicle as per ISO 7176-19.” Drive’s crash test summary for CS1142T, dated 16 September 2022, records a pass. A Drive user manual titled “Budget Steel Wheelchair” (part code Z11999 Rev A), which a UK dealer, Better Mobility, hosts as its S1 manual, says: “The wheelchair has not been tested, and must not be used as for use a seat in a motor vehicle”. The manual may predate the 2022 test; we list the status as disputed.
The weights also differ: the manual gives “Wheelchair Weight: 14.6kg (29lb)” for the transit model and the crash test summary records a wheelchair mass of 13.5 kg. We list 14.6 kg. Note that 14.6 kg is about 32 lb, so the manual’s own conversion does not match.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ159.99 (listed as VAT exempt), Great British Mobility ยฃ205.00 (VAT relief available, basis of the listed price not stated). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Drive Medical S1 Steel Transit product page, Drive CS1142T crash test summary (16 September 2022), and the Drive Budget Steel Wheelchair user manual Z11999 Rev A as hosted by Better Mobility, read 18 September 2026.
10. Days Transit Wheelchair: crash tested, but heavy and no published user limit
The Days Transit is a chrome-plated steel chair with detachable arms, swing-away footrests and solid tyres, sold in Standard and Narrow widths with a fixed or folding back. Performance Health’s page says it is suitable for transport under ISO 7176-19. It is also the heaviest chair here and the only one without a published user limit.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Days Transit Wheelchair is crash tested but weighs 21 kg and Performance Health publishes no maximum user weight, so it ranks last for anyone lifting it into a car.
Best for: care homes or households where the chair stays mostly indoors and is rarely lifted.
Not for: lifting into a car boot, at 21 kg, or any user who needs a confirmed weight limit before buying.
| Weight | 21 kg |
| Max user | Not published |
| Seat | 51 cm high, 40 cm deep |
| Seat width | Not published (Standard and Narrow versions) |
| Front wheels | 20 cm (8 inch) |
| Brakes | Push to lock |
| Vehicle seat | “Suitable For Transportation ISO7176 – Part 19” |
| Warranty | Not published |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Performance Health’s page is the only Days document we could find, so there is nothing to compare it against. It lists “Weight 21kg (3st)” and no maximum user weight. One dealer we checked, Essential Aids, lists a maximum user weight of 115kg; we could not find that figure in any Performance Health document.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: ReliMobility ยฃ259.00 (with VAT relief) or ยฃ310.80 (inc VAT), Essential Aids ยฃ219.00 (VAT relief available, basis of the listed price not stated). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Performance Health Days Transit Wheelchair product page, read 18 September 2026.
Which one fits your situation?
| Your situation | Type to look at | From this list |
|---|---|---|
| Carer lifts the chair into a car alone | Ultralight aluminium, under 10 kg | Karma Ergo Lite, Karma Ergo Lite 2 |
| User will travel seated in a vehicle | Chair approved to ISO 7176-19 | Karma Ergo 3, Karma Ergo Lite |
| User between 100 and 150 kg | Aluminium transit with 135 kg or more | Drive Expedition Plus, Karma Ergo 3 (to 115 kg) |
| User above 150 kg | Heavy duty steel transit | Roma 1485X |
| Small hatchback boot | Short fold or narrow fold | Karma Ergo Lite 2 (635 mm long), Drive Steel Travel Chair (20 cm wide) |
| Occasional use on a tight budget | Basic steel or aluminium transit | Roma 1235, Drive Ultra Lightweight Transit |
| User can push themselves some of the time | Self-propelled chair | See self-propelled wheelchairs |
Transit wheelchairs in a car boot: reading the folded numbers
Three numbers decide whether a transit chair goes in your car: folded width, folded length and the weight of the heaviest part. Folded width tells you whether the chair can stand upright behind the rear seats; most chairs here fold to 20 to 30 cm. Folded length tells you whether it lies flat: the Karma Ergo Lite 2 folds to 635 mm, the Ergo Lite to 830 mm. Only Karma publishes all three folded dimensions; Drive publishes folded width for 3 of its 4 chairs; Roma and Performance Health publish none.
Weight is the number carers underestimate. A chair listed at 12 kg that has no removable parts is a 12 kg lift from the ground to boot sill height. Drive’s carry weight and Karma’s heaviest-part figure tell you what is left once footrests come off: 10.2 kg for the 17 inch Drive Ultra Lightweight, 6.7 kg for the Karma Ergo Lite 2 with quick-release parts. Measure your boot opening and floor depth before you buy. Our car boot fit guide shows how to take those measurements.
What crash tested means for a transit wheelchair
ISO 7176-19 is the standard for wheelchairs used as a seat in a motor vehicle. A chair that meets it has been sled-tested with a dummy while secured by a tie-down system, which is what lets a user stay seated in the chair in an adapted vehicle or wheelchair taxi. It does not make every chair safe in every vehicle: the chair still has to be secured with a suitable tie-down and the user wears a vehicle-anchored lap and diagonal belt.
If the user can transfer to a car seat, crash testing matters less; the chair just travels folded in the boot. If the user will travel seated, buy a chair whose maker states ISO 7176-19 in writing, and keep that document. In this list that means the Karma Ergo 3 or Ergo Lite, or the Days Transit Wheelchair. The Drive S1 is covered by a 2022 Drive crash test summary, but a Drive manual says otherwise, so ask the dealer which manual ships with the chair.
Transit and travel chairs we checked and left out
We dropped seven of the candidate chairs. The Drive Enigma Lightweight Aluminium Transit (18 inch) has a Drive page that gives only “8.5kg in its carrying format”, with no total weight or user limit. The Drive Phantom Transit has a 135 kg limit but no published weight. The Drive Bariatric Steel transport chair gives a 200 kg limit and no weight or seat width. Drive lists the Silver Sport as a self-propelled chair, though Amazon sells it as a travel chair. The Days Heavy Duty Transit Wheelchair page gives no weight or user limit. We could not open Aidapt’s product page, and could not match the Roma 18 inch lightweight transit listing to a specific Roma model.
For heavier users see our wheelchairs for heavier people. For the full range, including self-propelled chairs, see best wheelchairs. Before buying, check whether you can get a chair through the NHS: our guide to the NHS wheelchair service and community equipment explains the routes, and wheelchair costs covers what people typically pay.
Paying less: VAT relief and free loans
If you have a long-term illness or disability, equipment designed for disabled people and bought for your own use is often eligible for VAT relief, which takes a sixth off the VAT-inclusive price. UK dealers usually deduct it at checkout after you sign a short declaration, and many Amazon listings say whether an item is eligible. Not every seller handles it the same way; our check of how UK retailers handle VAT relief covers this. This is general information, not tax advice.
Before you buy, ask whether you can borrow it. Council community equipment services and the NHS lend a lot of this kind of equipment free after an assessment. Our guide to the NHS wheelchair service and council community equipment explains who to ask.
Watch: using a transit wheelchair
This official guide from the British Red Cross shows how to open, use and fold a transit wheelchair.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best transit wheelchair in the UK?
From the 10 models we checked against their makers’ documents on 18 September 2026, the Karma Ergo 3 is the best all-round transit chair: crash tested to ISO 7176-19, rated to 115 kg with its attendant brake and offered with a 51 cm seat. The Karma Ergo Lite is the lightest to lift at 8.8 kg, and the Drive Expedition Plus is the value pick for users up to 135 kg.
What is the lightest transit wheelchair?
In this line-up the Karma Ergo Lite is the lightest complete chair at 8.6 kg (16 inch seat) or 8.8 kg (18 inch seat), per Karma’s specification table. The Karma Ergo Lite 2 is 9.2 to 9.3 kg complete, but its heaviest part drops to 6.7 kg once quick-release parts are removed.
What is the difference between a transit wheelchair and a travel wheelchair?
A transit wheelchair has small rear wheels, usually 12 to 14 inches, and is pushed by a carer who controls the brakes from the handles. A travel chair is a lighter-duty version of the same idea, often with small wheels all round and a very compact fold; the Drive Steel Travel Chair here has 8 inch wheels and folds to 20 cm wide. Neither can be self-propelled by the user.
Will a transit wheelchair fit in my car boot?
Check the folded width, folded length and folded height against your boot opening and floor. The Karma Ergo Lite 2 folds to 635 mm long, and the Drive Steel Travel Chair closes to 20 cm wide. Roma and Performance Health do not publish folded sizes, so measure those chairs or ask the dealer.
Can you sit in a transit wheelchair in a car or taxi?
Only if the maker states the chair meets ISO 7176-19 and it is secured with a suitable tie-down system, with the user wearing a vehicle-anchored lap and diagonal belt. In this line-up the Karma Ergo 3, Karma Ergo Lite and Days Transit Wheelchair have that statement in their makers’ documents. Drive’s documents disagree for the S1.
What is the weight limit on a transit wheelchair?
It varies from 100 kg to 204 kg in this line-up. Both Karma Ergo Lite models are rated to 100 kg, the Roma 1235 to 110 kg, the Karma Ergo 3 to 115 kg with its attendant brake, the Drive Expedition Plus to 135 kg (150 kg HD) and the Roma 1485X to 204 kg. Performance Health publishes no limit for the Days Transit Wheelchair.
What transit wheelchair is best for a heavy person?
The Roma 1485X is rated to 204 kg with 56 cm between the arms, but weighs 20 kg. For users up to 150 kg the Drive Expedition Plus HD is much lighter at 12.5 kg with a 51 cm seat. See our guide to wheelchairs for heavier people for self-propelled options.
Can I get a transit wheelchair on the NHS?
Yes, if you meet your local NHS wheelchair service’s criteria; a GP, nurse or therapist usually makes the referral. Short-term loans are often available from community equipment services or charities such as the British Red Cross. If you buy privately and have a long-term illness or disability, you can usually buy a wheelchair without VAT.
Sources
All read on 18 September 2026. Listed as plain text so the citation survives if a page is later changed.
- Karma Ergo 3 product page and specification table. The Ergo 3 user manual and leaflet are listed on the page but would not download for us
- Karma Ergo Lite product page and specification table, and Karma’s ultralight transit wheelchairs category page. The Ergo Lite series owner’s manual is listed but would not download for us
- Drive Medical Expedition Plus product page with specifications for EXP002SIL and EXP002SILHD
- Karma Ergo Lite 2 product page with transit and self-propel specification table. The Ergo Lite series owner’s manual and Ergo Lite 2 leaflet are listed but would not download for us
- Drive Medical Ultra Lightweight Transit Aluminium product page with LAWC008A and LAWC012A specifications, and Drive’s LAWC007 to LAWC012 spare parts list
- Roma Medical 1485X product page and the Roma Medical wheelchair brochure section (November 2022)
- Roma Medical 1235 product page and the Roma Medical wheelchair brochure section (November 2022)
- Drive Medical Steel Travel Chair product page with specifications for TR39SIL and TR-39ESV
- Drive Medical S1 Steel Transit product page, Drive CS1142T crash test summary (16 September 2022), and the Drive Budget Steel Wheelchair user manual Z11999 Rev A as hosted by Better Mobility
- Performance Health Days Transit Wheelchair product page
- UK dealer product pages named in each pick, prices read 18 September 2026
Review Mobility earns commission on some purchases made through links on this page, and sells optional paid listings to mobility companies. No manufacturer or retailer paid to appear here, none saw this page before publication, and a paid listing does not change what we publish. Corrections: hello@reviewmobility.co.uk.
Published 6 July 2026 · Last updated 21 September 2026
