Write a Review
Logo of "reviewmobilityยฎ" in white lowercase letters on a black background, featuring a thumbs-up icon to the left of the text.

Best Folding Mobility Scooters UK: 8 Ranked, 29 Compared

Last Updated on September 28, 2026 | Published: August 26, 2025

Best folding and lightweight mobility scooters

The short answer

We ranked eight folding mobility scooters sold on Amazon UK against their makers’ own documents on 28 September 2026:

Need a scooter that comes apart instead? See the best car boot scooters, ranked.

Last checked 28 September 2026. We have not road-tested these scooters. Every figure in the ranking comes from the maker’s own product page, leaflet, spec sheet or manual, read on that date, and where two of those documents disagree we say so. Links to Amazon are paid links: we earn a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you. No maker paid to appear, and none saw this page before it went live.

What checking the documents turned up

Of the eight folding scooters we ranked on 28 September 2026, five had at least one figure their maker gives two different ways, and four had no warranty period in any maker document we could open.

The five with a disagreement are the Monarch Genie Ultralight (folded size), Monarch Smarti Plus (weight), TGA Minimo Autofold (weight and battery), Motion Healthcare mLite (battery) and Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite (range, battery and ground clearance). The four without a stated warranty are both Monarchs, the Pride and the mLite, whose manual tells you to ask the seller.

Three of the eight do not publish enough battery detail to work out watt-hours: the two Monarchs give amp-hours with no voltage, and Drive gives the AeroCarbon’s voltage with no amp-hours. If you plan to fly, ask the seller for the figure printed on the battery itself.

How we ranked them

We started from the folding scooters Amazon UK sells new from established makers with UK documents. Marketplace-only brands with no maker paperwork were left out. We then read each maker’s product page and every leaflet, spec sheet and manual we could open, and ranked on five things, most important first:

  • The heaviest thing you will actually lift, with the battery fitted or removed, whichever is lower.
  • Whether the maker’s documents agree with each other, and whether the maker still lists the scooter.
  • Rider weight limit.
  • Whether the battery is described fully enough to work out watt-hours, which is what airlines ask for.
  • A warranty period stated in writing.

Price came last, as a tie-breaker only, because Amazon prices move daily. The boxes on this page show the live price.

The ranking

All eight side by side. Weights are as the maker prints them; where a maker gives two, both are shown.

#ScooterHeaviest liftWeight with batteryMax riderRange (maker figure)BatteryWarranty
1Drive AeroCarbon15.44 kg, the whole scooter15.44 kg (13 kg without battery, armrests and cushions)125 kg (19.7 st)9.4 miles, measured with a 100 kg rider25.2 V lithium; amp-hours and watt-hours not printed. Page says “Air Travel Safe”Frame 3 years, electrical parts 1 year, battery 1 year
2Monarch Genie Ultralight14 kg, the whole scooter14 kg (12 kg without)19 st (Monarch prints stone only; about 121 kg)9 miles, “subject to weight & terrain”Lithium 10 Ah; voltage not printedNot published on the product page
3Freerider Luggie Elite23.5 kg with the battery out25.8 kg (23.5 kg without, from the manual)145 kg (22 st 11 lb)Up to 10 miles; manual gives 12.5 miles at 90 kg and 7.5 miles at 145 kgLithium 10.5 Ah on a 24 V system (about 252 Wh, our calculation); UN38.3 stated24 months on the frame, per the manual
4Drive AutoFold Elite25 kg with the battery out27 kg (25 kg without)125 kg (19.7 st)9.3 miles; the asterisk on the page has no footnoteLithium 25.2 V 10 Ah (252 Wh)1 year
5Monarch Smarti Plus16 kg with the battery out19 kg on the UK page (16 kg without)125 kg9 milesLithium 10 Ah; voltage not printedNot published on the product page
6TGA Minimo AutofoldNot published32 kg on the page, 27.5 kg in the handbook115 kg (18 st)Up to 10 milesLithium 24 V; 10.05 Ah on the page, 11.5 Ah in the handbook3 years product, 1 year battery
7Motion Healthcare mLite17.9 kg19.9 kg18 st (about 114 kg)9 milesLithium, 248.4 Wh or 249.48 Wh (see below)Manual says to contact the company you bought from
8Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra LiteNot publishedNot published (13.7 kg without)120 kg9 miles on the sell sheet; see belowLithium, 24 V (factory sheet); Ah given two waysNot published
Photo Title Price Buy
Drive Aero Carbon...image Drive Aero Carbon Folding e-Mobility Device, Carbon Fibre Construction, LCD Display, Rear Suspension, NFC Keyless Start, Airline Compatible, 13kg ยฃ2,399.00
Genie Ultralight โ€“...image Genie Ultralight โ€“ 12kg Lightweight Portable Pavement Folding Mobility Scooter for Seniors & Adults | 4mph Speed, 9 Mile Range | Everyday Use (Black) ยฃ1,589.00
Freerider Luggie Elite...image Freerider Luggie Elite Mobility Scooter with 6.4 kph / 4 mph Maximum Speed, 320lbs Weight Capacity & 20Km / 12.5mile(90Kg Capacity) Per-Charge Range (Black) ยฃ1,999.00
Drive Devilbiss Elite...image Drive Devilbiss Elite Auto Folding Electric Mobility Scooter/LED Front Headlight & USB Charging Port - Striking Design, Metallic Silver Finish, & Light-Up LCD Screen for Smooth Riding - Red ยฃ1,499.90
Monarch Smarti Plus...image Monarch Smarti Plus Mobility Scooter ยฃ2,599.00
TGA MINIMO AUTOFOLD...image TGA MINIMO AUTOFOLD Mobility Scooter ยฃ1,499.99
New Model Motion...image New Model Motion Healthcare mLite Folding Electric Mobility Scooter with Removeable Batteryโ€“ Total Weight17.8 Kg - Operated โ€“ Extendable Floor Pan โ€“On and Off Board Charging โ€“ Grey ยฃ1,299.00
Pride GoGo Carbon...image Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite Folding Mobility Scooter, Lightweight, Portable ยฃ2,499.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

1. Drive AeroCarbon: best folding scooter overall

Drive DeVilbiss makes the AeroCarbon from carbon fibre and sells it through UK dealers and on Amazon. We rank it first for one plain reason: its product page and its leaflet (LL552) gave us every number we needed, and none of them disagreed.

The leaflet prints a carry weight with the battery fitted, 15.44 kg, next to the 13 kg headline figure that leaves out the battery, armrests and cushions. It also says how the 9.4 mile range was measured: a 100 kg rider, 20°C, a new battery, a steady 6 km/h and 70% discharge. Freerider is the only other maker here that says what rider weight its range assumes.

Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)

The best folding scooter here: 15.44 kg with its battery fitted, a 125 kg rider limit, a three-year frame warranty and documents that agree with each other.

Best for: people who lift the scooter into a car on their own, and people who fly.

Not for: tight indoor turns. Drive gives a 240 cm turning radius, the widest of the eight. It also prints the battery as 25.2 V with no amp-hour figure, so ask the seller for the watt-hour rating before you book a flight.

Weight with battery15.44 kg (13 kg without battery, armrests and cushions)
Heaviest lift15.44 kg, the whole scooter
Folded38 x 52 x 69 cm (L x W x H)
Max rider125 kg (19.7 st)
Range9.4 miles, measured with a 100 kg rider
Battery25.2 V lithium; amp-hours and watt-hours not printed. Page says “Air Travel Safe”
WarrantyFrame 3 years, electrical parts 1 year, battery 1 year

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

None on the figures we checked. The product page describes the 13 kg as “without batteries and armrests”; the leaflet also excludes the cushions. Same number, slightly different wording.

Photo Title Price Buy
Drive Aero Carbon...image Drive Aero Carbon Folding e-Mobility Device, Carbon Fibre Construction, LCD Display, Rear Suspension, NFC Keyless Start, Airline Compatible, 13kg ยฃ2,399.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

2. Monarch Genie Ultralight: the lightest to lift in one piece

At 14 kg with its battery fitted, the Genie is the lightest whole scooter in this ranking. Monarch’s page headline says 12 kg, which is the figure without the battery.

It loses marks on paperwork. Monarch prints the battery as 10 Ah lithium with no voltage, so there is no way to work out its watt-hours from the maker’s own figures, and the page carries no warranty period.

Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)

The lightest one-piece lift of the eight at 14 kg, but Monarch publishes no battery voltage and no warranty period.

Best for: riders up to about 19 stone who want the least weight to lift.

Not for: anyone who needs the watt-hour rating in writing for an airline, or wants a warranty stated before they pay.

Weight with battery14 kg (12 kg without)
Heaviest lift14 kg, the whole scooter
Folded94 x 43 x 50 cm on the UK page (see below)
Max rider19 st (Monarch prints stone only; about 121 kg)
Range9 miles, “subject to weight & terrain”
BatteryLithium 10 Ah; voltage not printed
WarrantyNot published on the product page

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

Folded size. Monarch’s UK page gives “94 x 43 x 50” cm. Monarch’s US page for the same scooter gives 37.0 x 16.9 x 15.3 inches, which is about 94 x 43 x 39 cm. The UK folded height is 11 cm taller.

Photo Title Price Buy
Genie Ultralight โ€“...image Genie Ultralight โ€“ 12kg Lightweight Portable Pavement Folding Mobility Scooter for Seniors & Adults | 4mph Speed, 9 Mile Range | Everyday Use (Black) ยฃ1,589.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

3. Freerider Luggie Elite: best for heavier riders

The Luggie Elite takes riders up to 145 kg, the highest limit of the eight. It is also heavier to lift: 25.8 kg for the whole scooter, or 23.5 kg with the battery out, according to Freerider’s manual.

Its manual is the most useful range document in this list. The spec sheet says “up to 16km/10miles”, and the manual then shows what that becomes with a real rider: 12.5 miles at 90 kg and 7.5 miles at 145 kg. The manual also states that the battery pack complies with UN38.3, the transport test airlines ask about.

Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)

The highest rider limit here at 145 kg, with range published at two rider weights; the trade-off is a 25.8 kg lift.

Best for: heavier riders, and anyone who wants an honest idea of range before buying.

Not for: people who cannot lift about 24 kg into a boot. For them a hoist or a boot scooter that comes apart is the better route.

Weight with battery25.8 kg (23.5 kg without, from the manual)
Heaviest lift23.5 kg with the battery out
Folded39.5 x 45.5 x 66 cm
Max rider145 kg (22 st 11 lb)
RangeUp to 10 miles; manual gives 12.5 miles at 90 kg and 7.5 miles at 145 kg
BatteryLithium 10.5 Ah on a 24 V system (about 252 Wh, our calculation); UN38.3 stated
Warranty24 months on the frame, per the manual

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

None that changes a buying decision. The manual’s two range figures are for two rider weights, which is more information, not a disagreement.

Photo Title Price Buy
Freerider Luggie Elite...image Freerider Luggie Elite Mobility Scooter with 6.4 kph / 4 mph Maximum Speed, 320lbs Weight Capacity & 20Km / 12.5mile(90Kg Capacity) Per-Charge Range (Black) ยฃ1,999.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

4. Drive AutoFold Elite: best automatic fold

Press the remote and the AutoFold Elite folds itself. It weighs 27 kg with its battery, or 25 kg without, so most buyers will wheel it up a ramp.

Drive gives the battery in full, 25.2 V and 10 Ah lithium, which works out at 252 Wh. That is under the 300 Wh an airline allows for a removed mobility-aid battery, and it is the figure airlines ask for.

Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)

The best of the self-folding scooters for paperwork: full battery rating, a 125 kg limit and a stated warranty, at 27 kg.

Best for: people who cannot bend or grip to fold a scooter by hand.

Not for: lifting. At 25 kg with the battery out, this is a wheel-it-up-a-ramp scooter for most people.

Weight with battery27 kg (25 kg without)
Heaviest lift25 kg with the battery out
Folded45 cm long, 57 cm wide; height not published
Max rider125 kg (19.7 st)
Range9.3 miles; the asterisk on the page has no footnote
BatteryLithium 25.2 V 10 Ah (252 Wh)
Warranty1 year

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

Three weights, one unexplained. The same spec table gives “Product Weight: 27kg”, “Weight Without Battery: 25kg” and “Carry Weight: 26.51kg”, with no note on what the carry weight includes.

Photo Title Price Buy
Drive Devilbiss Elite...image Drive Devilbiss Elite Auto Folding Electric Mobility Scooter/LED Front Headlight & USB Charging Port - Striking Design, Metallic Silver Finish, & Light-Up LCD Screen for Smooth Riding - Red ยฃ1,499.90

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

5. Monarch Smarti Plus: lightest automatic fold

The Smarti Plus also folds itself, and it is the lightest self-folder in the ranking: 19 kg with the battery on Monarch’s UK page, 16 kg without.

The Monarch problems from the Genie repeat here. There is no battery voltage and no warranty period on the page, and the UK and US pages give different weights for the same scooter.

Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)

A self-folding scooter at 19 kg, 8 kg lighter than the Drive, held back by a missing battery voltage and no published warranty.

Best for: people who want a self-folding scooter they can still lift.

Not for: buyers who need battery and warranty details in writing before they spend this much.

Weight with battery19 kg on the UK page (16 kg without)
Heaviest lift16 kg with the battery out
Folded43 x 46 x 67 cm
Max rider125 kg
Range9 miles
BatteryLithium 10 Ah; voltage not printed
WarrantyNot published on the product page

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

Weight with battery. Monarch’s UK page says “Product Weight with Battery” 19 kg. Monarch’s US page says 39 lb, which is 17.7 kg. The two pages agree on the weight without the battery.

Photo Title Price Buy
Monarch Smarti Plus...image Monarch Smarti Plus Mobility Scooter ยฃ2,599.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

6. TGA Minimo Autofold: longest warranty among the self-folders, shakiest weight

TGA gives the Minimo Autofold a three-year product warranty and one year on the battery, matched in this list only by the AeroCarbon’s frame warranty. Its handbook also says plainly that the 11.5 Ah lithium battery is permitted on aeroplanes.

The weight is the problem. TGA’s product page and its own handbook (INS25 v4) disagree by 4.5 kg, and they disagree on the battery size too. The 115 kg rider limit is the lowest of the eight.

Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)

A three-year warranty and a clear airline statement, but TGA gives two weights 4.5 kg apart and two battery sizes.

Best for: lighter riders who value the longer warranty.

Not for: riders over 115 kg (18 st), or anyone for whom the exact lift weight matters. Weigh it or get the figure in writing.

Weight with battery32 kg on the page, 27.5 kg in the handbook
Heaviest liftNot published
Folded47 x 84 x 54 cm (H x L x W)
Max rider115 kg (18 st)
RangeUp to 10 miles
BatteryLithium 24 V; 10.05 Ah on the page, 11.5 Ah in the handbook
Warranty3 years product, 1 year battery

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

Weight. Product page: “Total Weight 32kg”. Handbook INS25 v4: “Total Weight 27.5 kg”.

Battery. Product page: “24v 10.05ah”. Handbook: “24v 11.5Ah”.

Photo Title Price Buy
TGA MINIMO AUTOFOLD...image TGA MINIMO AUTOFOLD Mobility Scooter ยฃ1,499.99

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

7. Motion Healthcare mLite: good battery paperwork, but the product page has gone

Motion Healthcare is one of the few makers here that prints a watt-hour figure, and it prints one on two different documents. The mLite weighs 19.9 kg with its battery, and Motion gives the heaviest part as 17.9 kg.

When we checked, the mLite product page on Motion Healthcare’s site returned an error and the model no longer appeared in its folding scooter range. Its flyer, manual and battery safety sheet were still on the downloads page. Ask the seller how parts and repairs are handled before you buy.

Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)

A 17.9 kg heaviest part and a printed watt-hour rating, but its maker no longer lists it, so check support first.

Best for: buyers who want the battery rating in writing for a flight.

Not for: riders over 18 stone, or anyone who wants a model its maker is actively selling.

Weight with battery19.9 kg
Heaviest lift17.9 kg
FoldedNot legible in the maker documents we could read
Max rider18 st (about 114 kg)
Range9 miles
BatteryLithium, 248.4 Wh or 249.48 Wh (see below)
WarrantyManual says to contact the company you bought from

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

Battery. The flyer gives “24v 10.35ah Lithium” and 248.4 Wh. The Product Spotlight sheet (ML26.1B) gives “25.2v 9.9ah Lithium” and 249.48 Wh. The battery safety data sheet matches the Spotlight.

Photo Title Price Buy
New Model Motion...image New Model Motion Healthcare mLite Folding Electric Mobility Scooter with Removeable Batteryโ€“ Total Weight17.8 Kg - Operated โ€“ Extendable Floor Pan โ€“On and Off Board Charging โ€“ Grey ยฃ1,299.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

8. Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite: light, but the paperwork contradicts itself

Pride gives the GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite as 13.7 kg without its batteries and publishes no ready-to-ride weight. On weight alone it would sit near the top.

It sits last because Pride’s own page, sell sheet (REV 02, 3 July 2026) and factory spec sheet disagree on range, battery size and ground clearance. The same product page gives three range figures. We covered this in more detail in our GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite review.

Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)

Light at 13.7 kg without batteries, but Pride’s documents give three ranges and two battery sizes; get the numbers confirmed in writing.

Best for: riders up to 120 kg who have seen one in person and had the range confirmed by the seller.

Not for: anyone relying on the 15-mile claim. Pride’s own sell sheet says 9 miles.

Weight with batteryNot published (13.7 kg without)
Heaviest liftNot published
Folded17.52 x 20.67 x 27.17 in, factory sheet only
Max rider120 kg
Range9 miles on the sell sheet; see below
BatteryLithium, 24 V (factory sheet); Ah given two ways
WarrantyNot published

Where the maker’s own documents disagree

Range, same product page: “Battery Range 9.3 miles (15 km)”, “a reliable 15-mile (24 km) battery range” and “Range Up To 9 mi”. The factory sheet says “12-15KM”. The 15-mile line reads as kilometres taken for miles.

Battery: “12 Ah (6 Ah x 2)” against “6.4AH*2”.

Ground clearance: “25 mm (1″)” against “0.787inch” (20 mm).

Photo Title Price Buy
Pride GoGo Carbon...image Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite Folding Mobility Scooter, Lightweight, Portable ยฃ2,499.00

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)

Checked but not ranked

Monarch Supa Carbon Lite. Monarch’s UK page now gives 14 kg without the battery; its US page gives 29 lb (13.2 kg) for the same figure, and the two pages give different folded lengths. It sits too close to the Genie to earn a place of its own.

Pride GoGo MG Lite. Pride’s page says 12 kg without batteries. Its factory spec sheet says 12 kg “excluding battery and seat” and gives the seat as 4.3 kg, so the scooter you ride weighs more than the headline. Pride’s UK owner’s manual is an image file we could not read, so we held it back.

Scooterpac Atom Fold. Scooterpac’s product page, spec sheet and manual would not open for us on the day. We only rank a scooter once we have read the maker’s own documents.

Every folding scooter we compared, including dealer-only models

These fold in one piece, by hand or by remote. The whole machine is the lift unless the battery lifts out first, so the “heaviest lift” column tells you what actually goes into the boot.

This wider table is from our August 2026 comparison and includes scooters not sold on Amazon. Its figures were compiled on 22 August 2026; the ranking above reflects our 28 September re-check, and where the two differ the ranking is newer.

ModelFoldsWeight ready to rideHeaviest liftFolded size (cm)Claimed rangeMax user weightBatteryTypical price
Monarch Genie UltralightManual, one piece14 kg14 kg (whole scooter)94 x 43 x 509 miles19 st (121 kg)Lithium 10 Ah, volts not published£1,095 Monarch (VAT relief) · also on Amazon
Monarch Supa Carbon LiteManual, one piece15.0 kg‡15.0 kg (whole scooter)94 x 43 x 699 miles19 st (121 kg)‡Lithium 10 Ah, volts not published£1,195 Monarch (VAT relief) · also on Amazon
Drive AeroCarbon ScooterManual, one piece15.5 kg13.2 kg stripped, 13.8 kg with armrests38 x 52 x 699.4 miles, tested at 100 kg19 st 9 lb (125 kg)Lithium 25.2 V 10 Ah, 252 Wh£2,750 Ramp People · also on Amazon
Monarch Smarti PlusAutomatic19 kg16 kg with battery out43 x 46 x 679 miles19 st (125 kg)Lithium 10 Ah, volts not published£1,345 Monarch (VAT relief) · also on Amazon
Motion Healthcare mLiteManual, one piece19.9 kg17.9 kg with battery outnot reliably published‡9 miles18 st (115 kg)Lithium 25.2 V 9.9 Ah, 249 Wh£1,645 Lifestyle & Mobility (VAT relief) · also on Amazon
Monarch MobiFreeManual, one piece22.7 kg‡20.9 kg with battery out96.5 x 54.1 x 33.39 to 10 miles‡125 kg UK, 136 kg maker‡Lithium 25.2 V; Drive prints no Ah or Wh£1,645 to £1,795 dealers · not on Amazon
Kymco K-Lite F (manual)Manual, one piece22.2 kg or 29.6 kg‡22 kg90 x 48 x 50 (dealer figure)9.3 miles, calculated19 st (120 kg)Lithium 24 V 10 Ah, 240 Wh calculated£1,495 Active Mobility (VAT relief) · not on Amazon
Kymco K-Lite FE (auto)Automatic22.2 kg or 29.6 kg‡22 kg90 x 48 x 50 (dealer figure)9.3 miles, calculated19 st (120 kg)Lithium 24 V 10 Ah, 240 Wh calculated£2,695 Mobility World · not on Amazon
Freerider Luggie EliteManual, one piece25.8 kg, battery inclusion not stated25.8 kg (whole scooter)39.5 x 45.5 x 6610 miles, 12 with the 16.5 Ah pack22 st 8 lb (145 kg)Lithium 10.5 Ah, volts not published£2,395 Mobility Station · also on Amazon
Drive AutoFold EliteAutomatic, remote27 kg25 kg with battery out45 x 57 x 649.3 miles19 st 9 lb (125 kg)Lithium 25.2 V 10 Ah, 252 Wh£1,390 Essential Aids (VAT relief) · also on Amazon
Drive AutoFoldAutomatic, remote27.5 kg27.5 kg (whole scooter)44 x 62 x 649.3 miles19 st 9 lb (125 kg)Lithium 25.9 V 10 Ah, 259 Wh calculated£1,435 ReliMobility (VAT relief) · also on Amazon
TGA MinimoManual, foot pedal28 kg, battery inclusion not stated25.2 kg with battery out (calculated)44.5 x 84 x 54‡10 miles, 12 long range18 st (115 kg)Lithium 24 V 10.05 Ah, 241 Wh calculated£1,445 Lifestyle & Mobility (VAT relief) · not on Amazon
TGA Minimo Plus 4Manual, one movement30 kg22 kg without seat and battery (calculated)47.5 x 88 x 5410 miles, 12 long range18 st (115 kg)Lithium 24 V 10.5 Ah, 252 Wh. Long-range pack 322 Wh£2,045 Lifestyle & Mobility (VAT relief) · not on Amazon
TGA Minimo AutofoldAutomatic32 kg site, 27.5 kg handbook‡not published47 x 84 x 5410 miles18 st (115 kg)Lithium 24 V 10.05 Ah or 11.5 Ah‡£2,995 TGA (VAT relief) · also on Amazon
ATTO by Moving LifeFolds to a trolley, splits in two30.9 kg†17 kg rear half71 x 38.9 x 41.912.5 miles19 st (120 kg)Lithium 48 V, 250 Wh£2,595 Moving Life UK · not on Amazon UK
Green Power Super LightweightManualnot published11.85 kg lift, SuperLighty onlynot published13 to 15 miles‡16 to 19 st‡Lead-acid 12 Ah or lithium 2 x 48 V 2 Ah‡£389 to £499 direct · also on Amazon

Boot and dismantling scooters

Scooters that come apart into pieces, instead of folding, now have their own ranking: the best car boot mobility scooters, ranked against their makers’ documents. It includes the wider table of dealer-only boot scooters that used to sit here.

The advertised weight is usually not the weight you lift

This is the single most misleading thing about the category, and it is not a retailer problem. It starts with the manufacturers.

  • Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LX. Pride’s spec sheet says 35.8 kg. That is without batteries, footnoted on the sheet. Add the 12 Ah pack Pride lists separately at 8.85 kg and the scooter you load weighs 44.7 kg. With the 17 Ah pack it is 49.2 kg. You never lift that in one go, because it comes apart into five, but the 35.8 kg headline describes a scooter that cannot move.
  • Monarch Supa Carbon Lite. Sold on “just 13kg”. Monarch’s own US spec table for the same model gives 29 lb without the battery and 33 lb with it, so the ready-to-ride figure is about 15 kg. Monarch’s UK table meanwhile says 14 kg without the battery, which does not agree with its own US page.
  • Drive AeroCarbon. Advertised at a 13 kg carry weight, and to Drive’s credit the leaflet says plainly that this excludes the removable armrests, cushions and battery. Assembled with everything on, it is 15.44 kg, per the leaflet. Drive is the only maker here that publishes the full breakdown.
  • I-Go Vertex Sport. The brand’s own website lists the heaviest part as 13.6 kg. The owner’s manual shows that 13.6 kg is the battery pack. The heaviest part is the 20.7 kg front section. A buyer who trusts that page is being told they need to lift seven kilos less than they do.
  • ATTO. Some retailers list it at 37 kg. Moving Life’s spec puts 37 kg under shipping dimensions. It is the weight of the box.

The practical rule: ignore any weight quoted without a stated basis, find the battery weight, and add it. If the maker will not tell you what the figure includes, treat it as the lowest number its marketing department could defend.

Flying with a folding scooter, and the rule most buyers get backwards

The common assumption is that a removable battery is the airline-friendly option. It is the opposite. Four of the five biggest UK carriers apply no watt-hour limit at all while the battery stays fitted to the scooter. Take it out and it becomes a spare battery, which must travel in the cabin and must come in under 300 Wh, or 160 Wh each if there are two.

AirlineBattery left in the scooterBattery removedNotice requiredSize limits
British AirwaysNo limit while the battery stays in the scooter300 Wh for one spare, or 160 Wh each for two48 hours140 x 85 x 106 cm on most UK and Europe routes, smaller on CityFlyer
easyJetNo limit while the battery stays in the scooter300 Wh, or 160 Wh each for two, carried in the cabin in a pouch48 hoursCargo doors are 1.70 m wide by 1.22 m high
Jet2Sealed lead-acid and lithium both acceptedNo watt-hour figure published, the guide defers to IATA48 hoursMust reduce to 81 cm high or less, three powered devices per flight
TUIAGM, gel and sealed lead-acid accepted, wet cell refused300 Wh for one, or 160 Wh each for two, spares in the cabinNot published, as early as possibleStaff will check the watt-hour rating printed on the battery
RyanairNo limit while the battery stays installed300 Wh for one spare, or 160 Wh each for twoNot published as a figure81 cm high, 119 cm wide, 119 cm deep folded. Over 150 kg needs pre-authorisation

For the airline-by-airline detail on booking, notice periods and what to do at the gate, see our guide to the best mobility scooters to take on a plane. The Civil Aviation Authority sets no watt-hour figure of its own. It requires you to give the airline the make, model, weight, size and battery details in advance, and the limits above come from each carrier applying international dangerous goods rules.

Only a handful of scooters on this page publish a watt-hour rating you can quote at a check-in desk. The Drive AutoFold Elite prints 25.2 V and 10 Ah, which is 252 Wh. The Motion Healthcare mLite is about 249 Wh. When we rechecked on 28 September 2026, Drive’s AeroCarbon leaflet gave the voltage, 25.2 V, but no amp-hour or watt-hour figure. The TGA Minimo range is 241 Wh on the standard pack, but its long-range 13.4 Ah option works out at 322 Wh, over the cabin limit, and TGA does not flag that anywhere.

The trap worth knowing about. CareCo publishes genuine UN38.3 transport test reports for both Abilize Stride Lite battery packs, which is more certification evidence than any other maker on this page offers. The packs are 420 Wh and 760 Wh, one to two and a half times over the cabin limit, and CareCo’s own owner’s manual answers “air transport” with a flat no. A certificate is not a boarding pass.

Everywhere else, “airline approved” and “airline friendly” are marketing phrases. Not one manufacturer on this page states UN38.3 certification for a scooter it sells as flight-ready. Green Power goes further and describes a lead-acid scooter as fully airline-approved on the same page that specifies the lead-acid battery.

Taking a scooter on the train

National Rail publishes a per-operator table of scooter restrictions. The common baseline is 120 cm long by 70 cm wide, with a combined user and scooter weight limit of 300 kg and a 4 mph limit. Six operators require a scooter permit before you travel: East Midlands Railway, GWR, Heathrow Express, Merseyrail, Northern and South Western Railway.

Folding helps in one documented case. GWR’s entry states that folding scooters do not need a permit if they are folded while travelling. No equivalent national rule exists, so do not assume folding exempts you elsewhere. ScotRail is tighter than the baseline at 104 cm by 56 cm and requires anti-tip wheels. South Western Railway accepts Class 1 and Class 2 only, which rules out every 8 mph machine.

VAT relief: who qualifies, and what the seller needs from you

Nearly every dealer price on this page appears twice, once with VAT relief and once without, usually with no explanation of the condition attached. HMRC’s VAT Notice 701/7 sets three tests, and all three must be met: the customer is eligible, the goods are for their personal or domestic use, and the goods themselves qualify.

Eligible means “chronically sick or disabled”, which HMRC defines as a physical or mental impairment with a long-term and substantial adverse effect on everyday activities, or a condition the medical profession treats as chronic. The notice is explicit that this does not include an older person who is not disabled or chronically sick, nor anyone temporarily incapacitated with something like a broken limb.

Class 1 and Class 2 scooters, which covers everything on this page, are zero-rated to an eligible customer. Class 3 road scooters need an extra test, that they are designed solely for use by disabled people. There is no HMRC exemption certificate: the whole mechanism is a written declaration you sign for the seller. Amazon does not operate the scheme, which is why an Amazon price and a dealer VAT-relief price are only comparable if you would have qualified.

What nobody publishes, and why the range figures are not comparable

Every model on this page carries a range in miles. Almost none of them can be compared with any other, because the makers do not test the same way and mostly do not say how they tested at all.

  • Three manufacturers out of twenty publish test conditions. Pride tests to ANSI/RESNA and ISO 7176-4 at the scooter’s maximum weight capacity, which is the toughest basis on this page. Drive tests the AeroCarbon at 20°C with a 100 kg rider at a constant 6 km/h. CareCo’s AirLite X manual gives 20°C and a 165 lb, roughly 75 kg, driver. A range tested at 75 kg and a range tested at 125 kg are different measurements of different things.
  • Nobody else states a test load. Every other figure in the tables above is an unqualified “up to”.
  • Heaviest-part weights are missing from most folding scooters, which is defensible when the whole machine is the lift, and missing from several dismantling scooters, which is not.
  • Battery voltage is missing from Monarch’s lithium models, so their watt-hour ratings cannot be calculated, and Sunrise publishes 35 Ah for the Sapphire 2 with no voltage and no chemistry.
  • Two models here have no manufacturer source at all. The Drive Explorer is absent from Drive’s current catalogue and three dealers give three weights, spanning 10 kg. The Livewell brand site no longer exists.

These gaps are left visible in the tables. Nothing has been filled in with a plausible number. A blank cell is information: it tells you what the manufacturer chose not to tell you.

How this compares with the Which? table

Which? publishes the best-known UK mobility scooter comparison, and it is worth being straight about what each of us does. Which? buys and physically tests the scooters. It folds and reassembles each one, drives them indoors, on uneven concrete and on a camber, and runs them up the test hill at Brooklands Museum to record the steepest gradient each will climb. Nothing here replaces that, and this page makes no claim to hands-on testing.

What Which? sells is the ranking. Its spec entries, prices and methodology are free to read; the scores, the driving-experience ratings and the hill results sit behind a subscription. It has tested 23 scooters and names them all.

Three gaps this page is built to fill:

  • No measured figures are published. Which? records the steepest gradient each scooter manages, but publishes no gradient percentage, no vibration measurement and no tested range. Its battery range fields are manufacturer claims, presented in the same format as its test findings.
  • Weights are reproduced as the makers quote them, so a Pride battery-out figure sits in the same column as a rival’s with-battery figure.
  • Some entries are old. The Abilize Stride Sport entry, for one, records April 2023 as its most recent test, and prices move.

Its list also mixes 157 kg Class 3 road scooters into an article about folding and lightweight options. Those are excluded here, along with the Abilize Ranger, CareCo Traverse, Sterling S425, TGA Zest Plus, Scooterpac Savvy 8 and Ignite and the Drive Envoy 4, because none of them goes in a car boot by any method. Marketplace-only brands with no UK dealer network are also left out of the picks.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best folding mobility scooter in the UK?

Of the eight folding scooters we checked against their makers’ documents on 28 September 2026, the Drive AeroCarbon ranks first: 15.44 kg with its battery, a 125 kg rider limit, a three-year frame warranty and no disagreement between Drive’s page and leaflet. The Monarch Genie Ultralight is the lightest at 14 kg, and the Freerider Luggie Elite takes the heaviest riders, up to 145 kg.

Which folding mobility scooter is best for flying?

The Drive AutoFold Elite and the Motion Healthcare mLite are the two in our ranking whose makers print a battery rating an airline can use (252 Wh and about 249 Wh). The Freerider Luggie Elite’s manual states UN38.3 compliance. Whichever you choose, tell the airline at least 48 hours before you fly and check the rating printed on the battery.

What is the lightest folding mobility scooter in the UK?

The Monarch Genie Ultralight at 14 kg with its battery fitted, on Monarch’s own published figures. The Drive AeroCarbon has the lightest single lift at 13.2 kg, but that is with the armrests, cushion and battery removed; assembled it is 15.5 kg. Treat any advertised weight under 13 kg as a battery-out figure until the maker says otherwise.

How much does a folding mobility scooter weigh once the battery is in?

Between 14 kg and 32 kg for the models on this page. Lithium folding scooters cluster around 19 to 27 kg. The battery itself is usually 1.7 kg to 3 kg, so a battery-out headline understates the real weight by roughly two kilos, and considerably more on lead-acid boot scooters where the pack can be 9 to 13 kg.

Can I take a folding mobility scooter on a plane?

Usually, with 48 hours’ notice and the battery details supplied at booking. British Airways, easyJet and Ryanair apply no watt-hour limit while the battery stays fitted to the scooter. Remove it and it counts as a spare, must travel in the cabin and must be 300 Wh or under, or 160 Wh each for two. Check the folded height too: Jet2 and Ryanair both need 81 cm or less.

Do folding mobility scooters qualify for VAT relief?

Class 1 and Class 2 scooters are zero-rated when supplied to a chronically sick or disabled customer for personal use. There is no certificate to apply for. You sign a written declaration for the seller. Being older is not on its own a qualification, and HMRC says so directly.

Are folding scooters allowed on trains?

Subject to each operator’s limits, typically 120 cm by 70 cm and 4 mph, with six operators requiring a permit. GWR exempts folding scooters from its permit requirement if they travel folded. No national folding exemption exists, so check the operator before you book.

Is a folding scooter or a boot scooter easier to get into a car?

It depends on whether you can lift once or several times. A folding scooter is one lift of the whole machine, 19 to 30 kg for most. A boot scooter is four or five lifts, the heaviest usually 13 to 20 kg. If your limit is a single 15 kg lift, a dismantling scooter with a light front section is the easier machine, even though it weighs more in total.

How far will a folding scooter really go on one charge?

Less than the number on the box, and by an amount nobody publishes. Only Pride tests at the scooter’s maximum rated load; the two other makers that state conditions test at 75 kg and 100 kg. Cold weather, hills, a heavier rider and an older battery all reduce it. Treat a 9 mile claim as a fair-weather figure and plan around a comfortable margin.

Are the cheap folding scooters sold by marketplace brands worth it?

They are cheaper for a reason that shows up later. The brands selling folding scooters at £450 to £700 on marketplaces typically have no UK dealer network, no service engineers and a 6 to 12 month warranty, and several do not publish a top speed, which means you cannot confirm the scooter is limited to the 4 mph that makes it legal on a pavement. Established makers cost more and can be serviced.

Sources

Specifications were taken from manufacturer spec sheets, owner’s manuals and instructions for use published by Pride Mobility, Drive Medical UK, TGA Mobility, Monarch Mobility, Motion Healthcare, Kymco UK, Freerider, Moving Life, Sunrise Medical, Electric Mobility, CareCo and Van Os Medical, and checked against those makers’ UK product pages. Airline rules come from British Airways, easyJet, Jet2, TUI and Ryanair’s own published assistance pages and from the Civil Aviation Authority. Rail limits come from National Rail’s mobility scooter restrictions table. VAT rules come from HMRC VAT Notice 701/7. Which? testing detail comes from the freely visible portion of its published mobility scooter review. Prices checked August 2026 and subject to change.

Maker documents read on 28 September 2026 for the ranking: Drive DeVilbiss AeroCarbon Scooter product page and leaflet LL552; Monarch Genie Ultralight, Smarti Plus and Supa Carbon Lite product pages (UK and US); Freerider Luggie Elite product page, specification sheet and user manual (2021.03 V9); Drive AutoFold Elite product page; TGA Minimo Autofold product page and handbook INS25 v4; Motion Healthcare mLite flyer, Product Spotlight ML26.1B, manual and battery safety data sheet A.1; Pride GoGo Carbon Ultra Lite product page, sell sheet REV 02 and factory spec sheet 1000T; Pride GoGo MgLite product page, sell sheet and spec sheet.

Free tool: find the right mobility scooter

Not sure which model suits you? Use our free interactive toolkit to match yourself to a scooter, check the realistic range you will get, estimate the 5-year running cost, or settle the Class 2 versus Class 3 question.

Written byReview Mobility Editorial Team

We research, test and compare mobility equipment and the companies behind it, so you can choose with confidence. Our reviews are independent and never paid for.

Not medical advice: our guides are general information, and equipment that suits one person can be unsuitable for another. Speak to your GP, or ask your local council for a needs assessment, before buying for a health condition or a fall risk.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through one we earn a commission, at no extra cost to you, and as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Commission never decides what we recommend or how we rank it, and no company can pay for a place on this page. Read our full disclosure.