Published 8 December 2025 · Last updated 28 September 2026
The short answer
We ranked six car boot scooters (the kind that come apart into pieces) sold on Amazon UK against their makers’ own documents on 28 September 2026:
- Drive Livewell Jaunt: best overall. Heaviest piece 15.9 kg, 136 kg rider limit.
- Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LX: lightest heaviest piece at 15.2 kg, but Pride UK no longer lists it.
- Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller Sport: best for heavier riders, up to 147 kg.
Would rather fold than take it apart? See the best folding scooters, ranked. Not sure it will fit your car? Check our boot-fit matrix.
A car boot scooter, also sold as a portable or travel scooter, comes apart into four or five pieces so you can lift it into a car one piece at a time. The number that matters most is not the total weight but the heaviest single piece, usually the front section with the tiller. All six here are Class 2 pavement scooters with a 4 mph top speed; for what that means, see our guide to the rules.
What checking the documents turned up
Of the six boot scooters we ranked on 28 September 2026, the heaviest piece you lift ranges from 15.2 kg to 22.5 kg, and Roma publishes no heaviest-piece figure for the Virgo.
Three of the six have a figure their maker gives two ways: the Jaunt (seat height), the Apex Rapid (range and battery) and the Elite Traveller Sport (battery and turning radius). Only Pride says what rider weight its range figures assume, and even then not on every current document.
Two of the six are older designs. Pride UK had no live page for the Elite Traveller LX when we checked, and the Sapphire 2 warranty figure comes from a 2015 guide.
How we ranked them
We started from the dismantling scooters Amazon UK sells new from established makers with UK documents, then read every product page, leaflet, spec sheet and manual we could open. We ranked on five things, most important first:
- The weight of the heaviest piece you lift.
- Whether the maker’s documents agree, and whether the maker still lists the scooter.
- Rider weight limit.
- Whether the range figure says what rider weight it assumes.
- A warranty period stated in writing.
Price was a tie-breaker only. The boxes on this page show Amazon’s live price, and a dealer can often beat it if you qualify for VAT relief, which Amazon cannot apply.
The ranking
All six side by side, heaviest piece first.
| # | Scooter | Heaviest piece | Pieces | Total weight | Max rider | Range (maker figure) | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Drive Livewell Jaunt | 15.9 kg | 5 | 48 kg (basis not stated); carry weight 39.4 kg | 136 kg (21 st) | Up to 10 miles; no test conditions given | Page prints “1 year batteries” only |
| 2 | Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LX | 15.2 kg (front section) | 5 | 35.8 kg without batteries; about 44.7 kg with the 12 Ah pack (our sum) | 125 kg | 7.8 miles (12 Ah) or 9.6 miles (17 Ah), tested at maximum rider weight | The 2010 UK manual lists a lifetime frame warranty; check what the seller offers now |
| 3 | Pride Apex Rapid | 17.75 kg (front section) | 5 | 41 kg without batteries; about 50 kg with the 12 Ah pack (our sum) | 136 kg | 5.5 miles (12 Ah) or 10.5 miles (18 Ah), per the sell sheet | Not published on the product page |
| 4 | Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller Sport | 20 kg (front section) | Not stated | 44 kg without batteries; about 56.5 kg with the 18 Ah pack (our sum) | 147 kg (23 st 2 lb) | Up to 14.5 miles (UK page) | Not published |
| 5 | Roma Virgo | Not published | 5: chassis with tiller, rear wheels, seat, battery, basket | 43.5 kg including the 8.5 kg battery | 136 kg (21 st 5 lb) | 7.5 miles (12 km) | 12 months (manual) |
| 6 | Sterling Sapphire 2 | 22.5 kg | 4 | 79 kg (battery basis not stated) | 150 kg | Up to 19 miles; no test conditions given | 2-year guarantee (2015 Motability guide) |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. (paid link)
1. Drive Livewell Jaunt: best car boot scooter overall
Amazon sells the Jaunt under the Livewell name; Drive DeVilbiss lists it on its own UK site as the Jaunt (code CMS001) and prints its name on the leaflet. It comes apart into five pieces and Drive gives the heaviest as 15.9 kg, the second-lightest heaviest piece in this ranking.
It also takes riders up to 136 kg, and the maker still lists it. The one gap is the total weight: Drive prints 48 kg without saying whether that includes the batteries, and a separate carry weight of 39.4 kg.
Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)
The best boot scooter here: a 15.9 kg heaviest piece, a 136 kg rider limit and a maker that still lists it.
Best for: most people who will lift a scooter into a hatchback or small SUV on their own.
Not for: long trips. Drive claims up to 10 miles and does not say what rider weight that assumes.
| Heaviest piece | 15.9 kg |
| Pieces | 5 |
| Total weight | 48 kg (basis not stated); carry weight 39.4 kg |
| Max rider | 136 kg (21 st) |
| Range | Up to 10 miles; no test conditions given |
| Battery | 2 x 12 V 12 Ah sealed lead-acid |
| Warranty | Page prints “1 year batteries” only |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Seat height. Drive’s product page says “Seat Height 38cm”. Drive’s leaflet says “Seat Height 58cm (23″)”.
2. Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LX: lightest pieces, older paperwork
The Elite Traveller LX has the lightest heaviest piece in this ranking: the front section at 15.2 kg. Pride’s documents for it agree with each other, and Pride is the only maker here that says what its range figures assume: 7.8 miles on the 12 Ah pack, tested at the scooter’s maximum rider weight.
The catch is age. When we checked, Pride’s UK site had no live page for it, and the newest UK documents we found date from 2010 to 2013. Amazon still sells it new. Ask the seller who handles repairs and parts before you buy.
Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)
The lightest heaviest piece of the six at 15.2 kg and honest range figures, but Pride UK no longer lists it.
Best for: riders up to 125 kg who want the lightest lift and mostly short trips.
Not for: riders over 125 kg, or buyers who want a model its maker is still actively selling.
| Heaviest piece | 15.2 kg (front section) |
| Pieces | 5 |
| Total weight | 35.8 kg without batteries; about 44.7 kg with the 12 Ah pack (our sum) |
| Max rider | 125 kg |
| Range | 7.8 miles (12 Ah) or 9.6 miles (17 Ah), tested at maximum rider weight |
| Battery | 2 x 12 Ah or 2 x 17 Ah lead-acid |
| Warranty | The 2010 UK manual lists a lifetime frame warranty; check what the seller offers now |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
None. The spec sheet (INFINFB2484 Rev D), UK sell sheet and owner’s manual agree on every figure we compared.
3. Pride Apex Rapid: current model, but buy the bigger battery
The Apex Rapid is on Pride UK’s site now and takes riders up to 136 kg. Its heaviest piece is the 17.75 kg front section, and it weighs 41 kg without batteries.
The range needs care. Pride’s page headline says “Range Up To 11 mi”. Pride’s own sell sheet (REV 04) says the standard 12 Ah battery gives 5.5 miles, and it takes the optional 18 Ah pack to reach 10.5. We wrote about this in our Apex Rapid review.
Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)
A current Pride boot scooter for riders up to 136 kg, with a 17.75 kg heaviest piece; on the standard battery Pride’s own sheet says 5.5 miles.
Best for: heavier riders on short trips, or anyone willing to pay for the 18 Ah pack.
Not for: anyone expecting the 11-mile headline from the standard battery.
| Heaviest piece | 17.75 kg (front section) |
| Pieces | 5 |
| Total weight | 41 kg without batteries; about 50 kg with the 12 Ah pack (our sum) |
| Max rider | 136 kg |
| Range | 5.5 miles (12 Ah) or 10.5 miles (18 Ah), per the sell sheet |
| Battery | 2 x 12 Ah standard, 18 Ah optional |
| Warranty | Not published on the product page |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Range. Page header: “Range Up To 11 mi”. Page spec table: “10.5 miles (17 km)”. Sell sheet: “12 Ah: 5.5 miles (8.75 km) | 18 Ah: 10.5 miles (17 km)”.
Battery size. The sell sheet lists “2 x 18 Ah (Optional)” in one row and “17 Ah: 14kg” in the battery weight row.
4. Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller Sport: best for heavier riders
The Sport takes riders up to 147 kg, the second-highest limit here, and Pride UK lists it now. The price of that is weight: the front section alone is 20 kg, and the scooter is 44 kg without batteries.
Pride UK now quotes 14.5 miles on a “2 x 20 Ah” battery, while the same page lists the battery as 18 Ah. Pride’s universal spec sheet has no 20 Ah pack at all.
Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)
For riders up to 147 kg who can lift a 20 kg piece; Pride’s documents disagree on the battery and the turning circle.
Best for: heavier riders with a strong helper or a larger boot.
Not for: anyone who struggles with a 20 kg lift.
| Heaviest piece | 20 kg (front section) |
| Pieces | Not stated |
| Total weight | 44 kg without batteries; about 56.5 kg with the 18 Ah pack (our sum) |
| Max rider | 147 kg (23 st 2 lb) |
| Range | Up to 14.5 miles (UK page) |
| Battery | 18 Ah or 20 Ah, see below |
| Warranty | Not published |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Battery. UK page: “Batteries: 18Ah: 12.5kg” and “Range per charge: 20 Ah 14.5 miles”. UK sell sheet (REV 05): “2 x 20 Ah”. Universal sheet INFINFB3254: 14.5 miles on an 18 Ah extended pack.
Turning radius. UK sell sheet table: “914 mm (36″)”. Same sheet’s feature text: “52” turning radius”. Universal sheet, 4-wheel: 1283 mm (50.5 in).
5. Roma Virgo: consistent documents, missing the number that matters
Roma’s product page and its manual (Version 1, 2023) agree on every figure we compared, and the manual states it is a Class 2 scooter. It takes riders up to 136 kg and comes with a 12-month warranty.
Roma does not say how heavy the heaviest piece is. It gives 43.5 kg in total and 34.5 kg without the 8.5 kg battery, but not which of the other pieces is heaviest. For a boot scooter that is the figure buyers most need.
Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)
Clean, consistent paperwork and a 136 kg limit, but no heaviest-piece weight and a claimed range of 7.5 miles.
Best for: riders who can test-lift one first, or have a helper.
Not for: anyone who must know the heaviest lift before buying without seeing it.
| Heaviest piece | Not published |
| Pieces | 5: chassis with tiller, rear wheels, seat, battery, basket |
| Total weight | 43.5 kg including the 8.5 kg battery |
| Max rider | 136 kg (21 st 5 lb) |
| Range | 7.5 miles (12 km) |
| Battery | Gel |
| Warranty | 12 months (manual) |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
None on the figures that matter. The page gives the limit as “136kg (21St 5lbs)” and elsewhere as “Up to 21.5st”, a 2 lb difference.
6. Sterling Sapphire 2: longest range, biggest boot needed
Sunrise Medical sells the Sapphire 2 under its Sterling brand. It is the biggest scooter here: 79 kg in total, four pieces, and a heaviest piece of 22.5 kg. It also has the longest claimed range, 19 miles, and the highest rider limit, 150 kg.
Sunrise does not say what rider weight the 19 miles assumes, and some of its documents were hard to open. The warranty figure, two years, comes from its 2015 Motability guide.
Our verdict (documents last checked 28 September 2026)
The longest range and highest limit of the six, but a 22.5 kg heaviest piece means an estate car and a strong lifter.
Best for: riders up to 150 kg with an estate or large SUV and help to lift.
Not for: small boots or lifting alone.
| Heaviest piece | 22.5 kg |
| Pieces | 4 |
| Total weight | 79 kg (battery basis not stated) |
| Max rider | 150 kg |
| Range | Up to 19 miles; no test conditions given |
| Battery | 35 Ah; voltage and chemistry not printed |
| Warranty | 2-year guarantee (2015 Motability guide) |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Lights. UK product page: “Light And Indicators: lights only”. Sunrise’s Motability guide: “Lights and indicators package: Yes”. Check which you are getting.
Checked but not ranked
Drive Envoy 4. Some listings call it a travel scooter. Drive sells it as a pavement scooter, its leaflet gives 94 kg in total, and nothing in Drive’s documents says it comes apart for a boot.
“Scout” portable scooter. We could not find the Scout on Drive’s UK site, and the Amazon listing names no maker, so we could not read a maker document for it.
Roma “portable” scooter with front LED. We could not match this Amazon listing to a model in Roma’s current UK range, so we have not ranked it.
Dealer-only models. Some of the lightest boot scooters, including the Kymco K-Lite Comfort and CareCo’s AirLite X, are not sold on Amazon. They are in the wider table below.
The wider field, including dealer-only models
This table is from our August 2026 comparison and includes scooters not sold on Amazon. Figures were compiled on 22 August 2026; the ranking above reflects the 28 September re-check.
| Model | How it packs | Weight ready to ride | Heaviest lift | Sections or size | Claimed range | Max user weight | Battery | Typical price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kymco K-Lite Comfort | Dismantles, single-handed dock | 39 kg | 12.9 kg | 5 parts | 10 miles | 19 st 7 lb (125 kg) | 12 A, chemistry not published | £1,607 Kymco · not on Amazon |
| Electric Mobility Rascal Ultralite 480 | Dismantles, 3 sections | 41 kg | 13 kg front chassis | 102 x 51 x 48 dismantled | 8 miles, flat ground | 17 st 11 lb (113 kg) | 2 x 12 V 12 Ah, chemistry not published | £1,138 to £1,945 dealers. Discontinued |
| CareCo AirLite X | Dismantles, 5 parts | 41 kg | 14.5 kg | not published | 7.5 miles, tested at 75 kg | 18 st (115 kg) | Lead-acid 2 x 12 V 10 Ah, 240 Wh | £599.99 CareCo · not on Amazon |
| Abilize Stride Lite | Dismantles, no tools | 40.8 kg or 42.1 kg | 15.8 kg front section | 100 x 53 x 72.5 | 15 or 25 miles | 21 st 6 lb (136 kg) | Lithium, 420 Wh or 760 Wh | £1,599.99 CareCo only |
| Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LX | Dismantles, 5 parts | 44.7 kg with 12 Ah pack† | 15.2 kg front section | not published | 7.8 miles, tested at 125 kg | 19 st 9 lb (125 kg) | Lead-acid 2 x 12 Ah | £849 Electric Life (VAT relief) · also on Amazon |
| Livewell Jaunt | Dismantles, 5 parts | 38 kg or 48 kg‡ | 15.9 kg | not published | 10 to 11 miles‡ | 21 st (136 kg) | Lead-acid 2 x 12 V 12 Ah, 288 Wh | £549 Sunshine Scooters · also on Amazon |
| Van Os Travelux Tiempo | Dismantles, 5 parts | 48 kg | not published, dealers claim 14 to 19.5 kg | not published | 10 miles | 17 st 11 lb (113 kg)‡ | Lead-acid 2 x 12 V 12 Ah, 288 Wh | £845 Aspire2 (VAT relief). Legacy model |
| Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller Sport | Dismantles, 5 parts | over 44 kg† | 20 kg front section | not published | 12 miles, tested at 147 kg | 23 st 3 lb (147 kg) | Lead-acid 2 x 18 Ah | also on Amazon |
| Kymco Mini Comfort | Dismantles | 54 kg | 19.5 kg | not published | 16 miles | 20 st (127 kg) | 22 Ah, chemistry not published | £1,757 Kymco · not on Amazon |
| Abilize Stride Sport | Dismantles, 5 parts | 55 kg, battery inclusion not stated | 17 kg front section | longest part about 90 cm | 17 miles | 21 st 6 lb (136 kg) | Lead-acid 22 Ah | £1,299.99 CareCo only |
| Drive Explorer | Dismantles, 5 parts | 47.8, 57 or 57.2 kg‡ | about 19.5 to 20 kg, unconfirmed | not published | 13 miles | 20 st (130 kg) | Lead-acid 2 x 12 V 22 Ah, 528 Wh | £940 to £1,295 dealers. Discontinued |
| I-Go Vertex Sport | Dismantles, 5 pieces | 57.5 kg | 20.7 kg front section, not the 13.6 kg the brand site claims | not published | 15 miles | 20 st 6 lb (130 kg) | Lead-acid 20 Ah, 480 Wh | £999.99 CareCo · not on Amazon |
| Sterling Sapphire 2 | Dismantles, 4 parts | 79 kg | 22.5 kg | not published | 19 miles | 23 st 8 lb (150 kg) | 35 Ah, chemistry not published | £1,395 Aspire2 (VAT relief) · also on Amazon |
† The maker publishes a weight without the battery. The battery weight it lists separately has been added back here. ‡ The manufacturer’s own documents, or its UK and overseas sites, give different figures. Both are shown. Prices were checked in August 2026. Dealer prices marked “VAT relief” are zero-rated and need a signed eligibility declaration; Amazon prices include VAT and cannot be zero-rated, so read the two as like for like only if you qualify for relief.
Watch: using a mobility scooter safely
This road-safety film from Nottinghamshire County Council covers using a mobility scooter safely on pavements and roads.
Frequently asked questions about car boot scooters
What is the best car boot mobility scooter in the UK?
Of the six boot scooters we checked against their makers’ documents on 28 September 2026, the Drive Livewell Jaunt ranks first: its heaviest piece is 15.9 kg, it takes riders up to 136 kg, and Drive still lists it. The Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LX has the lightest heaviest piece at 15.2 kg, but Pride UK no longer lists it.
How heavy is the heaviest piece of a boot scooter?
Among the six we ranked, from 15.2 kg (Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller LX) to 22.5 kg (Sterling Sapphire 2). It is usually the front section with the tiller. Roma publishes no heaviest-piece figure for the Virgo.
What is the difference between a boot scooter and a folding scooter?
A boot scooter comes apart into four or five pieces, so no single lift is heavy, but you have to put it back together each time. A folding scooter folds in one piece, by hand or by remote, and is usually lighter overall but lifted all at once. Folding models tend to take lighter riders and cost more.
How far will a boot scooter go on one charge?
Maker claims for the six range from 5.5 miles (Pride Apex Rapid on its standard battery, per Pride’s own sell sheet) to 19 miles (Sterling Sapphire 2). Only Pride says what rider weight its figures assume, and a heavier rider, hills and cold weather all cut the distance.
Will a boot scooter fit in my car?
Measure the boot opening, the floor length and the height to the parcel shelf, then compare them with the size of the largest piece. Our boot-fit matrix checks ten scooters against six of the UK’s best-selling cars.
Do I need to register a car boot scooter with DVLA?
No. Boot scooters are Class 2, limited to 4 mph and meant for pavements, and Class 2 scooters are not registered. Only Class 3 road scooters, with an 8 mph top speed, are registered with DVLA.
Sources
Maker documents read on 28 September 2026: Drive DeVilbiss Jaunt product page and CMS001 leaflet; Pride Elite Traveller LX spec sheet INFINFB2484 Rev D, UK sell sheet and owner’s manual INFMANU4034 Rev B; Pride Apex Rapid product page, sell sheet REV 04 and spec sheet INFINFB3186 Rev F; Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller Sport product page, UK sell sheet REV 05 and spec sheet INFINFB3254 Rev D; Roma Virgo product page and S110 user manual (Version 1, 2023); Sterling Sapphire 2 product pages (UK and EU) and Sunrise Medical Motability guide (2015); Drive Envoy product page and leaflet LL157.
Spotted an error, or represent one of these makers? Email hello@reviewmobility.co.uk and we will check and correct it.
Published 8 December 2025 · Last updated 28 September 2026
