Published 2 October 2024 · Last updated 13 October 2026
This page compares nine manual wheelchairs from Karma, Days (Performance Health), Drive DeVilbiss and Roma Medical. Eight are self-propelled folding chairs, seven in aluminium and one in steel, and one is a heavy-duty transit chair for users up to 200 kg. We have not used any of them. Every figure comes from the maker’s own product page, leaflet or instructions for use, read on 18 September 2026, and where those documents disagree we quote both and use the less flattering number in the table.
The headline finding: 5 of the 9 have maker documents that give different figures for the same chair, from seat width to warranty length. Only 3 of the 9 are described by their makers as crash tested for use as a seat in a vehicle, and the three Drive chairs each carry a warning that they must not be used that way.
The short answer
- Karma Ergo 3: best overall: crash tested, three seat widths and a 5-year frame warranty, at 13.1 to 13.9 kg with 20-inch wheels.
- Karma Agile: best for a wider seat: 125 kg limit in every build listed, crash tested, 16, 18 or 20-inch seat.
- Days Whirl: best for heavier users on a budget: the maker lists 130 kg and four seat widths, but it weighs 17 kg.
- Drive Ultra Lightweight (LAWC007A): best light Drive chair: 12.9 kg total, heaviest part 7.8 to 8 kg.
- Days Swift: best simple lightweight: 12.5 kg, 11.2 kg without footrests, 115 kg limit.
- Karma Ergo Lite 2: lightest here at 10.7 to 10.9 kg, but the user limit is only 100 kg.
- Drive Lightweight Aluminium (LAWC001): best for air tyres: pneumatic rear tyres, 15 kg, 115 kg limit.
- Roma 1300 Orbit: attendant brakes on a self-propelled chair: 15 kg, 115 kg limit, no warranty published.
- Drive Bariatric Steel Transport Chair (BTR22BLK): best heavy-duty transit: 200 kg limit and a 56 cm seat, at 16.2 kg.
What checking the documents turned up
5 of the 9 wheelchairs have maker documents that disagree with each other on at least one figure. The mismatches cover warranty length (Drive LAWC001: 2 years on the product page, twelve months in the manual), chair weight, overall width and seat width. For both Days chairs the UK product page was the only maker document we could open, so there was nothing to compare it against.
Only 3 of the 9 are described by their makers as crash tested to ISO 7176-19: Karma Ergo 3, Karma Agile and Days Whirl. All four Drive manuals say the chair “must not be used as a seat in a motor vehicle”. Karma’s Ergo Lite manual lists crash-test reports for two other models in the series, not for the Ergo Lite 2 (KM-2512) on this list. Roma and Performance Health say nothing on the subject for the Orbit 1300 and Swift.
Only 2 of the 8 self-propelled chairs are rated above 115 kg in every version listed: Days Whirl (130 kg) and Karma Agile (125 kg). Karma Ergo 3 is rated 125 kg, but its leaflet cuts that to 115 kg when the push-and-pull attendant brakes are fitted. Four chairs stop at 115 kg (18 stone) and the Karma Ergo Lite 2 stops at 100 kg.
5 of the 9 carry a 5-year frame warranty in the maker’s documents; Roma publishes no warranty for the Orbit 1300. The three Drive chairs and the two Karma Ergo models give 5 years on the frame, Karma Agile gives 3 years and Days gives 2 years on the main frame. Drive and Days give 1 year on the rest of the chair.
How we checked, and what we did not do
We did not buy, use or measure any of these products. For each one we opened the manufacturer’s UK product page and the documents it links to (leaflet, spec sheet, instructions for use), and in a few cases a copy of the maker’s instructions hosted by a dealer where the maker does not host its own. We recorded each figure with the document it came from.
Where two of the maker’s documents give different figures for the same thing, we apply the least-favourable-figure rule: the table shows the less flattering one and the text shows both. Buyers who plan around the least favourable figure are never caught out; buyers who plan around the best one sometimes are.
For a manual wheelchair the figures that decide whether it works are the maximum user weight, the effective seat width (Karma publishes both nominal and effective widths, which differ by about 10 mm), the total weight and the weight of the heaviest single part once wheels and footrests come off, since that is what someone lifts into a car boot. We also checked whether each maker says the chair may be used as a seat in a vehicle, which depends on an ISO 7176-19 crash test, and how long the frame and the rest of the chair are covered. Karma and Drive publish spec tables per seat width and wheel size, so we give ranges where the configuration changes the number.
We only included products from makers with published UK documents, and only products currently listed on Amazon UK so each pick can carry a live price box. Rankings are our judgement from the documents. No manufacturer or retailer paid to appear, and none saw this page before publication. If you think we have a figure wrong, email hello@reviewmobility.co.uk with the document and we will correct it.
All 9 compared
Figures are the maker’s own. Where the maker’s documents disagree, the table shows the less favourable figure (see each pick for both). Amazon prices change often, so they are in the live boxes, not the table.
| # | Model | Type | Max user | Total weight | Seat widths | Vehicle seat (crash test) | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Karma Ergo 3 | Self-propelled, aluminium | 125 kg (115 kg with push-pull brakes) | 13.1 to 14.4 kg | 16, 18, 20 in | Yes, ISO 7176-19 | Frame 5 years |
| 2 | Karma Agile | Self-propelled, aluminium | 125 kg | 12.9 to 14.9 kg | 16, 18, 20 in | Yes, ISO 7176-19 | Frame 3 years |
| 3 | Days Whirl | Self-propelled, steel | 130 kg | 17 kg | 41, 43, 45, 48 cm | Yes, ISO 7176-19 | 1 year, main frame 2 years |
| 4 | Drive Ultra Lightweight LAWC007A | Self-propelled, aluminium | 115 kg | 12.9 kg | 42 cm | No, maker warns against | 1 year (frame 5 years in manual) |
| 5 | Days Swift | Self-propelled, aluminium | 115 kg | 12.5 kg | 41, 46 cm | Not stated | 1 year, main frame 2 years |
| 6 | Karma Ergo Lite 2 | Self-propelled, aluminium | 100 kg | 10.7 to 10.9 kg | 16, 18 in | Not claimed for this model | Frame 5 years |
| 7 | Drive Lightweight Aluminium LAWC001 | Self-propelled, aluminium | 115 kg | 15 kg | 46 cm | No, maker warns against | 12 months (frame 5 years) |
| 8 | Roma 1300 Orbit | Self-propelled, aluminium | 115 kg | 15 kg | 41 cm (see text) | Not stated | Not published |
| 9 | Drive Bariatric BTR22BLK | Transit (attendant), steel | 200 kg | 16.2 kg | 56 cm | No, maker warns against | 1 year (frame 5 years in manual) |
Table checked 18 September 2026. Total weight is the complete chair with wheels and footrests; where the maker’s documents disagree, the table uses the less flattering figure, and a range covers the seat widths and wheel sizes the maker lists.
Not currently available on Amazon (checked 13 October 2026).
1. Karma Ergo 3: best overall
The Ergo 3 is Karma’s newest folding chair, with a shaped seat and backrest meant to hold an upright posture. It comes in three seat widths with 14, 20 or 24-inch rear wheels, and its manual says the Ergo 2 and Ergo 3 series pass the ISO 7176-19 crash test. The frame is warranted for 5 years.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Karma Ergo 3 is the most complete chair here on paper: crash tested, three seat widths and a 5-year frame warranty, at 13.1 to 13.9 kg as a self-propelled chair with 20-inch wheels.
Best for: someone who wants one chair for daily use and for travelling seated in an adapted vehicle, up to 125 kg.
Not for: users between 115 and 125 kg who want the push-and-pull attendant brakes, because the leaflet says those brakes cut the limit to 115 kg.
| Max user | 125 kg; 115 kg with push-pull attendant brakes |
| Total weight | 13.1 to 13.9 kg (20-inch wheels), 13.8 to 14.4 kg (24-inch wheels) |
| Heaviest part | 8.2 to 9.0 kg with quick-release wheels |
| Seat width | 410, 460, 510 mm nominal (effective 420, 470, 520 mm) |
| Folded width | 245 mm (quick-release wheels) |
| Rear wheels | 14, 20 or 24 in |
| Crash tested | Yes, ISO 7176-19 (manual) |
| Warranty | Frame and cross-braces 5 years; gas strut and backrest inserts 1 year |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no figure on which the Ergo 3’s product page, leaflet and manual disagree. Two things are worth reading closely. The page and leaflet headline “a total weight of just 11.9 kg”, and the page’s own table shows that figure belongs to the 16-inch transit build with 14-inch wheels; the self-propelled versions weigh 13.1 to 14.4 kg. And the leaflet notes that “when equipped with Push & Pull attendant brakes, the maximum user weight is reduced to 115 kg”, which the manual repeats. One dealer we checked, Mobility Shop, lists the chair at 115 kg without mentioning the brake condition.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ399.99 (VAT exempt), Clearwell Mobility ยฃ598.80 (with VAT exemption) or ยฃ718.56 (including VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Karma Ergo 3 product page, Karma Ergo 3 leaflet (Rev.00 Oct.2024) and Ergo 3 user manual (EN ver.03), read 18 September 2026.
2. Karma Agile: best for a wider seat
The Agile is a configurable aluminium chair that takes 14, 22 or 24-inch rear wheels on the same frame, so it can be a transit chair or a self-propelled one. Every build Karma lists is rated for 125 kg, and the leaflet says it is approved for use as a vehicle seat under ISO 7176-19. The frame warranty is 3 years, shorter than the Ergo models.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Karma Agile is rated 125 kg in every seat width and wheel size Karma lists, up to a 20-inch seat, and is crash tested for use in a vehicle.
Best for: users up to 125 kg who need a 20-inch seat and want a crash-tested chair.
Not for: anyone lifting it alone who needs a light chair: the self-propelled 24-inch build weighs 13.9 to 14.9 kg on Karma’s product page.
| Max user | 125 kg |
| Total weight | 12.9 to 13.9 kg (22-inch wheels), 13.9 to 14.9 kg (24-inch quick-release) |
| Heaviest part | 8.6 to 9.6 kg (24-inch quick-release) |
| Seat width | 16, 18, 20 in (effective 430, 480, 530 to 535 mm) |
| Folded width | 280 mm |
| Rear wheels | 14, 22 or 24 in |
| Crash tested | Yes, ISO 7176-19 (leaflet and manual) |
| Warranty | Frame and cross-braces 3 years; gas strut 1 year |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Karma’s Agile leaflet says “The Agile weighs from 12.7 KG complete”. The product page’s own table lists a lightest build of “12.2 ~ 12.7” kg for the transit chair, and the lightest self-propelled build with 24-inch quick-release wheels at “13.9 ~ 14.4” kg. The leaflet’s table gives 12.7 to 14.2 kg for the 16 by 16-inch chair with 24-inch wheels. We list the heavier product-page range.
The leaflet also gives seat depths of 410 and 460 mm, where the product page and manual list nominal depths of 415 or 420 mm and 465 mm. The difference is 5 to 10 mm and unlikely to matter for fitting.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Millercare ยฃ399.95 for the 18-inch seat (with VAT relief), Mobility World ยฃ425.00 for 16 or 18-inch and ยฃ450.00 for 20-inch (VAT relief; ยฃ510.00 including VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Karma Agile product page, Karma Agile leaflet (Rev.01 Mar.2021) and Agile user manual (EN), read 18 September 2026.
3. Days Whirl: best for heavier users on a budget
The Whirl is a steel self-propelled chair from Days, sold by Performance Health. It comes in four seat widths from 41 to 48 cm, has removable armrests and a half-folding backrest, and Performance Health says it passes ISO 7176 part 19. At 17 kg it is the heaviest self-propelled chair on this list.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Days Whirl has the highest user limit of the self-propelled chairs here at 130 kg, with four seat widths and a crash test, but at 17 kg it is 4.5 kg heavier than the Days Swift.
Best for: heavier users who need a narrow or mid-width seat and a crash-tested chair, and who have someone else to lift it.
Not for: anyone who has to lift the chair into a car alone: it weighs 17 kg complete and 15 kg without footrests.
| Max user | 130 kg (product page) |
| Total weight | 17 kg; 15 kg without footrests |
| Seat width | 41, 43, 45, 48 cm |
| Seat depth | 42 cm |
| Folded width | 29 cm |
| Rear wheels | Not published |
| Crash tested | Yes, “Passes ISO 7176 part 19” (product page) |
| Warranty | 1 year product, 2 years main frame |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Performance Health’s UK product page is the only maker document for the Whirl we could open; we found no UK manual on its site, so we cannot compare two maker documents. The page’s own conversion is loose: it gives “Maximum user weight 130kg / 20st”, and 130 kg is about 20.5 stone. One dealer we checked, Health and Care, lists “Max. User Weight: 115kg (18 stone)”, and Mobility Shop also lists 115 kg. If you are above 115 kg, ask the seller to confirm the figure on the chair’s label before buying.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Health and Care ยฃ199.00 (excluding VAT) or ยฃ238.80 (including VAT), Mobility Shop ยฃ199.99 (VAT exempt). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Performance Health UK product page for the Days Whirl self-propelled wheelchair, read 18 September 2026.
4. Drive Ultra Lightweight LAWC007A: best light Drive chair
This is the 17-inch version of Drive DeVilbiss’s Ultra Lightweight aluminium chair, sold on Amazon under the Enigma name. It has quick-release 24-inch rear wheels, a half-folding back and swing-away footrests. The 20-inch LAWC011A version takes 125 kg; this 17-inch one takes 115 kg.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Drive LAWC007A weighs 12.9 kg with a heaviest part of 7.8 to 8 kg, but its 42 cm seat and 115 kg limit rule it out for larger users.
Best for: smaller users up to 115 kg who want a light chair with 24-inch wheels for self-propelling.
Not for: anyone who wants to travel seated in a vehicle, since the manual says it “must not be used as a seat in a motor vehicle”, or anyone needing more than a 42 cm seat.
| Max user | 115 kg |
| Total weight | 12.9 kg |
| Heaviest part | 8 kg (7.8 kg in manual) |
| Seat width | 42 cm (51 cm on the 20-inch LAWC011A) |
| Overall width | 64 cm (62 cm in manual) |
| Folded width | 32 cm |
| Rear wheels | 24 in (61 cm) |
| Warranty | 1 year; manual adds 5 years on the frame |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Drive’s product page and its instructions for use give different overall sizes for the 17-inch chair. The product page lists a width of “64cm” and a height of “92cm”; the manual’s specification table gives “Overall width 62 cm” and “Overall height 93 cm”. For a doorway the wider figure is the one to plan with, so we list 64 cm.
The manual’s introduction says the range suits a user “up to 125kg (20 stone), depending on the model purchased”; its table shows “Maximum occupant mass 115 kg” for this LAWC007A. The product page lists “Product Warranty” as “1 year”, and the manual adds that “The wheelchair frame has a 5-year warranty.”
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ249.99 (VAT exempt), Badham Mobility ยฃ279.99 (including VAT; ยฃ233.33 excluding VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Drive DeVilbiss Ultra Lightweight Self-Propel Aluminium product page and Ultra Lightweight Aluminium Wheelchair instructions for use (LAWC_IFU 2022-01 rev2), read 18 September 2026.
5. Days Swift: best simple lightweight chair
The Swift is Days’ aluminium self-propelled chair, sold in 41 and 46 cm seat widths. Performance Health says it can be taken apart without tools and describes it as designed for occasional indoor or outdoor use. It is the second-lightest self-propelled chair on this list.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Days Swift weighs 12.5 kg complete and 11.2 kg without footrests, with a 115 kg limit and a 28 cm folded width.
Best for: occasional users up to 115 kg who want a light chair that folds narrow for a small car boot.
Not for: full-time users or anyone travelling seated in a vehicle: Performance Health describes it as “Designed for occasional indoor or outdoor use” and does not say it is crash tested.
| Max user | 115 kg (18 st) |
| Total weight | 12.5 kg; 11.2 kg without footrests |
| Seat width | 41 or 46 cm |
| Seat depth | 42 cm |
| Folded width | 28 cm |
| Rear wheels | Not published |
| Crash tested | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1 year product, 2 years main frame |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no conflicting figures, but Performance Health’s UK product page is the only maker document for the Swift we could open, so there was nothing to compare it against. The owner’s manuals we found online were copies of a version written for the Australian market, which we did not use.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Essential Aids ยฃ219.00 (with VAT relief), UK Wheelchairs ยฃ239.99 (with VAT relief). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Performance Health UK product page for the Days Swift self-propelled wheelchair, read 18 September 2026.
6. Karma Ergo Lite 2: lightest chair, lowest limit
The Ergo Lite 2 is Karma’s ultralight folding chair, with the same shaped seat as the Ergo 3. The self-propelled version has 20-inch quick-release wheels and weighs 10.7 to 10.9 kg; a transit version with 14-inch wheels weighs 9.2 to 9.3 kg. Every version is rated for 100 kg.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Karma Ergo Lite 2 is the lightest chair here at 10.7 to 10.9 kg, but its 100 kg limit is the lowest on the list.
Best for: users well under 100 kg, or a carer lifting the chair alone, where every kilo counts.
Not for: anyone near or over 100 kg, and anyone who needs a crash-tested chair: the manual lists crash-test reports for other models in the series, not this one.
| Max user | 100 kg |
| Total weight | 10.7 kg (16 in), 10.9 kg (18 in) |
| Heaviest part | 6.7 to 6.9 kg with quick-release wheels |
| Seat width | 400 or 450 mm nominal |
| Folded width | 280 to 295 mm |
| Rear wheels | 20 in (self-propel), 14 in (transit) |
| Crash tested | Not claimed for KM-2512 |
| Warranty | Frame and cross-braces 5 years; gas strut 1 year |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Karma’s product page says removing the rear wheels and footrests brings the chair down to 6 kg: “reducing the weight to 6 kg”. The Ergo Lite 2 data sheet says “the transportable piece weighs only 6.7 kg”, and the manual’s table gives 6.7 to 6.9 kg for the heaviest part. We list 6.7 to 6.9 kg.
The same product page gives two weights for the transit version: “Weighing at a mere 8.7 kg for the transit wheelchair” in one panel and “Weighing at a mere 9.2 kg for the transit wheelchair” in the next. Its spec table says 9.2 kg.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Station ยฃ495.00 (excluding VAT), Active Mobility ยฃ525.00 (with VAT relief) or ยฃ630.00 (including VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Karma Ergo Lite 2 product page, Ergo Lite 2 data sheet (Rev.01 Sep.2020) and Ergo Lite Series owner’s manual (ver.27), read 18 September 2026.
7. Drive Lightweight Aluminium LAWC001: best for air tyres
Drive DeVilbiss’s 18-inch Lightweight Aluminium chair, also sold as the Enigma, is the only self-propelled chair here with pneumatic rear tyres, which give a softer ride but can puncture. It weighs 15 kg complete and takes 115 kg. Drive’s product page and its manual disagree on the warranty and on the folded width.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Drive LAWC001 has the only pneumatic rear tyres of the self-propelled chairs here, at 15 kg and 115 kg, and a warranty of twelve months in the manual against 2 years on the product page.
Best for: users up to 115 kg who self-propel outdoors on rough paths and are happy to keep tyres pumped.
Not for: anyone who wants no-maintenance tyres, or who needs to travel seated in a vehicle: the manual says it “must not be used as a seat in a motor vehicle”.
| Max user | 115 kg (18 st) |
| Total weight | 15 kg |
| Carry weight | 9 kg (8.5 kg in manual) |
| Seat width | 46 cm |
| Folded width | 33 cm (24 cm in manual) |
| Rear wheels | 24 in pneumatic |
| Crash tested | No, maker warns against use as a vehicle seat |
| Warranty | 12 months (manual); frame 5 years |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Drive’s product page lists “Product Warranty” as “2 years”. The instructions for use (2025-07 Rev3) say: “There is a comprehensive twelve-month warranty from the date on which your new wheelchair is delivered.” Both add or imply a longer frame cover; the manual says “The wheelchair frame has a 5-year warranty.” We list twelve months.
The product page describes the chair as “8.5kg in its carrying format” and its spec table lists a carry weight of 9kg; the manual gives a minimum product weight of 8.5 kg. The product page gives a closed width of 33cm, while the manual lists folded dimensions of “240 (w) x 710 (l) x 700 (h) mm”. We list 9 kg and 33 cm.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mistry Medical ยฃ142.00 (excluding VAT), Wisbech Mobility ยฃ269 (VAT basis not stated on the page). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Drive DeVilbiss 18-inch Lightweight Aluminium Wheelchair (Self Propel) product page and instructions for use for LAWC001 and LAWC002 (2025-07 Rev3 UKCA), read 18 September 2026.
8. Roma 1300 Orbit: attendant brakes on a self-propelled chair
The Orbit 1300 is Roma Medical’s lightweight aluminium self-propelled chair. It has quick-release rear wheels, flip-up armrests and attendant brakes with locking handles, so a carer can park it from behind. Roma’s product page and its 2022 wheelchair brochure both give 15 kg and 115 kg.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Roma 1300 Orbit weighs 15 kg and takes 115 kg, and Roma’s two documents give seat widths of 45 cm and 41 cm for the same chair.
Best for: users up to 115 kg who self-propel but want a carer to be able to brake from behind.
Not for: anyone who needs a published warranty or a confirmed seat width, since Roma publishes neither consistently for this chair.
| Max user | 115 kg |
| Total weight | 15 kg |
| Seat width | 41 cm in brochure, 45 cm on product page |
| Seat depth | 40.6 cm on product page, 46 cm in brochure |
| Overall width | 67 cm |
| Rear wheels | Not published |
| Crash tested | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not published |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
Roma’s product page lists “Seat Width 45cm” and “Seat Depth 40.6cm”. The Roma Medical wheelchair brochure (November 2022) lists the 1300 with “Seat Width 41 cm” and “Seat depth 46 cm”, each next to inch figures that match the product page. The brochure’s centimetre figures look swapped or mistyped, but we cannot confirm that, so the table lists the narrower 41 cm. Measure the chair or ask the seller before buying if seat width is tight.
Two dealers we checked list a lower weight than Roma: Capable Direct gives 13 kg, and Mobility Shop gives a 12 to 14 kg range alongside 15 kg on the same page.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Mobility Shop ยฃ289.99 (VAT exempt), Capable Direct ยฃ303.33 (excluding VAT) or ยฃ364.00 (including VAT). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Not currently available on Amazon (checked 13 October 2026).
Documents read: Roma Medical 1300 Orbit Lightweight Self Propelled Wheelchair product page and Roma Medical wheelchair brochure section (16112022), read 18 September 2026.
9. Drive Bariatric BTR22BLK: best heavy-duty transit chair
The BTR22BLK is a steel transit chair with a 56 cm seat, pushed by a carer, with 12-inch solid rear tyres and a dual cross brace. It is rated for 200 kg, the highest limit on this list by 70 kg. Drive’s product page and its manual disagree on how much it weighs.
Our verdict (documents last checked 18 September 2026)
The Drive BTR22BLK takes users up to 200 kg on a 56 cm seat and weighs 16.2 kg, but it is a transit chair with no handrims.
Best for: users over 130 kg who need a chair a carer can push, for appointments and short trips.
Not for: independent users, since it has no handrims, or a carer who cannot lift a chair of up to 16.2 kg into a car.
| Max user | 200 kg (31 to 31.5 st) |
| Total weight | 16.2 kg (instructions for use) |
| Seat width | 56 cm |
| Seat depth | 44 cm |
| Overall width | 71 cm |
| Folded width | 29 cm |
| Rear wheels | 12 in solid |
| Warranty | 1 year; manual adds 5 years on the frame |
Where the maker’s own documents disagree
We found no figure that disagrees between Drive’s product page and the instructions for use. The page gives the limit as “200kg (31.5st)” and the manual as 200 kg (31 stone); 200 kg is 31 stone 7 lb, so both round the same number.
UK dealer prices on 18 September 2026: Medisave ยฃ292.99 (excluding VAT) or ยฃ351.59 (including VAT), Great British Mobility ยฃ510.00 (VAT relief available at checkout, per the page). Amazon’s live price is in the box below.
Documents read: Drive DeVilbiss Bariatric Steel Transport Chair product page and BTR22BLK Wheelchair instructions for use (2021-12 Rev1 UKCA), read 18 September 2026.
Which one fits your situation?
| Your situation | Type to look at | From this list |
|---|---|---|
| You propel yourself every day and travel seated in an adapted vehicle | Crash-tested self-propelled chair | Karma Ergo 3, Karma Agile, Days Whirl |
| You weigh between 115 and 130 kg | Self-propelled chair rated above 115 kg | Days Whirl (130 kg), Karma Agile (125 kg) |
| You weigh over 130 kg | Bariatric chair; see wheelchairs for heavier people | Drive BTR22BLK (200 kg, transit only) |
| A carer lifts the chair into a car alone | Lightest total and heaviest-part weight | Karma Ergo Lite 2 (up to 100 kg users), Days Swift, Drive LAWC007A |
| A carer does all the pushing | Transit chair; see transit wheelchair guide | Drive BTR22BLK, or the transit builds of the Karma chairs |
| You cannot propel a chair for long | Powered chair; see best powerchairs | None of these nine |
How to check seat width against the maker’s figures
Seat width is the fit problem most buyers hit. Measure hip width while seated, at the widest point, and compare it with the maker’s effective seat width, not the nominal size in the product name. Karma publishes both: its 18-inch Ergo 3 has a nominal width of 460 mm and an effective width of 470 mm.
Overall width matters for doorways. The chairs here run from 59.5 cm (Karma Ergo Lite 2 and Ergo 3, 16-inch self-propelled) to 71 cm (Drive BTR22BLK). Where a maker gives two figures, as Drive does for the LAWC007A (64 cm on the product page, 62 cm in the manual), plan with the larger one. For Roma’s Orbit 1300, where the brochure and product page give 41 and 45 cm seat widths, ask the seller to measure.
Travelling seated in a vehicle
A wheelchair can only be used as a seat in a moving vehicle if the maker says it passes ISO 7176-19, the crash test for wheelchairs used in motor vehicles. Of the nine here, Karma says the Ergo 3 and Agile pass, and Performance Health says the Days Whirl passes. Drive’s manuals for all four of its chairs say the chair “must not be used as a seat in a motor vehicle”.
Karma’s Ergo 3 manual adds that the chair should only be used this way in vehicles adapted for the purpose, and Karma’s Agile manual recommends transferring to a car seat where possible. A crash-tested chair still needs the vehicle’s own tie-downs and occupant belt.
Before you buy: NHS provision and costs
If you need a chair for long-term daily use, your local NHS wheelchair service may assess you and supply one; our guide to NHS wheelchair service or community equipment explains the routes. Short-term loans for recovery usually come through community equipment services or charities.
If you are buying, the dealer prices on this page run from ยฃ142.00 excluding VAT to ยฃ718.56 including VAT on 18 September 2026. Most of these dealers offer VAT relief to eligible buyers. Our wheelchair costs guide covers the running costs, and our self-propelled wheelchair guide goes deeper on self-propelled models.
Paying less: VAT relief and free loans
If you have a long-term illness or disability, equipment designed for disabled people and bought for your own use is often eligible for VAT relief, which takes a sixth off the VAT-inclusive price. UK dealers usually deduct it at checkout after you sign a short declaration, and many Amazon listings say whether an item is eligible. Not every seller handles it the same way; our check of how UK retailers handle VAT relief covers this. This is general information, not tax advice.
Related wheelchair guides
If you are still deciding between types, our guides to self-propelled wheelchairs, transit wheelchairs, wheelchairs for heavier people and powerchairs are checked against the makers’ documents in the same way. Wheelchair or mobility scooter covers the choice between the two.
For a chair you will use every day, start with who provides wheelchairs on the NHS and the NHS wheelchair waiting times league table. For a few weeks after an operation, wheelchair hire and free loans may be cheaper than buying.
Once you have a chair, the extras that matter most are a pressure-relief cushion and, for steps at home, a portable ramp. What a wheelchair costs covers prices across every type.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best wheelchair in the UK?
Of the nine manual wheelchairs we checked against their makers’ documents on 18 September 2026, the Karma Ergo 3 comes out best: it is crash tested to ISO 7176-19, comes in three seat widths and has a 5-year frame warranty. The Karma Agile is the pick for a 20-inch seat at 125 kg, and the Days Whirl for users up to 130 kg on a budget.
What is the lightest folding wheelchair on this list?
The Karma Ergo Lite 2 weighs 10.7 kg with a 16-inch seat and 10.9 kg with an 18-inch seat, and its heaviest part is 6.7 to 6.9 kg once the wheels and footrests come off. Its user limit is 100 kg, the lowest on the list. The Days Swift is next at 12.5 kg with a 115 kg limit.
Which wheelchairs can I sit in while travelling in a car or minibus?
Only chairs the maker says pass ISO 7176-19. Of these nine, that is the Karma Ergo 3, the Karma Agile and the Days Whirl. Drive’s manuals say its LAWC007A, LAWC001 and BTR22BLK must not be used as a seat in a motor vehicle.
What is the maximum weight limit for a standard wheelchair?
Most standard folding wheelchairs here are rated for 115 kg (18 stone). The Karma Agile is rated for 125 kg, the Days Whirl for 130 kg, and the Drive BTR22BLK bariatric transit chair for 200 kg. The Karma Ergo Lite 2 stops at 100 kg.
Should I choose a self-propelled or transit wheelchair?
A self-propelled chair has large rear wheels with handrims so the user can push themselves; a transit chair has small rear wheels and is pushed by a carer, which makes it lighter and narrower when folded. Karma’s Agile and Ergo chairs can be bought either way. If nobody will self-propel, see our transit wheelchair guide.
How much does a good manual wheelchair cost in the UK?
Dealer prices we found on 18 September 2026 ranged from ยฃ142.00 excluding VAT for the Drive LAWC001 to ยฃ598.80 with VAT exemption for the Karma Ergo 3. Most dealers offer VAT relief to eligible disabled buyers, which removes the 20% VAT.
How long is the warranty on a wheelchair?
It varies by maker. Drive gives 1 year on the chair and 5 years on the frame in its manuals, Karma gives 5 years on the frame for the Ergo models and 3 years for the Agile, and Days gives 1 year plus 2 years on the main frame. Roma publishes no warranty for the Orbit 1300.
Can I get a wheelchair from the NHS?
If you need a wheelchair for long-term daily use, your local NHS wheelchair service may assess you and provide one. Short-term needs are often met by community equipment services or charity loans. Our guide to NHS wheelchair services and community equipment explains the difference.
What size wheelchair do I need?
Measure your hip width while seated, at the widest point, and compare it with the maker’s effective seat width rather than the nominal size in the product name. Karma publishes both: its 18-inch Ergo 3 has a nominal width of 460 mm and an effective width of 470 mm. Then check overall width against your narrowest doorway. The chairs on this page run from 59.5 cm to 71 cm wide.
Which wheelchair is easiest to lift into a car?
Look at the heaviest single part once the wheels and footrests come off, not just the total. Of the nine here, the Karma Ergo Lite 2 is lightest overall at 10.7 to 10.9 kg, but its user limit is only 100 kg. The Drive LAWC007A weighs 12.9 kg in total, and its heaviest part is 7.8 to 8 kg.
Can I buy a wheelchair without paying VAT?
Usually, if you have a long-term illness or disability and the chair is for your own use. Under HMRC’s VAT Notice 701/7 you give the seller a short written declaration. There is no certificate and it is not means-tested. Dealers normally deduct it at checkout, which takes a sixth off a VAT-inclusive price. This is general information, not tax advice.
Sources
All read on 18 September 2026. Listed as plain text so the citation survives if a page is later changed.
- Karma Ergo 3 product page, Karma Ergo 3 leaflet (Rev.00 Oct.2024) and Ergo 3 user manual (EN ver.03)
- Karma Agile product page, Karma Agile leaflet (Rev.01 Mar.2021) and Agile user manual (EN)
- Performance Health UK product page for the Days Whirl self-propelled wheelchair
- Drive DeVilbiss Ultra Lightweight Self-Propel Aluminium product page and Ultra Lightweight Aluminium Wheelchair instructions for use (LAWC_IFU 2022-01 rev2)
- Performance Health UK product page for the Days Swift self-propelled wheelchair
- Karma Ergo Lite 2 product page, Ergo Lite 2 data sheet (Rev.01 Sep.2020) and Ergo Lite Series owner’s manual (ver.27)
- Drive DeVilbiss 18-inch Lightweight Aluminium Wheelchair (Self Propel) product page and instructions for use for LAWC001 and LAWC002 (2025-07 Rev3 UKCA)
- Roma Medical 1300 Orbit Lightweight Self Propelled Wheelchair product page and Roma Medical wheelchair brochure section (16112022)
- Drive DeVilbiss Bariatric Steel Transport Chair product page and BTR22BLK Wheelchair instructions for use (2021-12 Rev1 UKCA)
- UK dealer product pages used for prices only: Mobility Shop, Clearwell Mobility, Millercare, Mobility World, Health and Care, Badham Mobility, Essential Aids, UK Wheelchairs, Mobility Station, Active Mobility, Mistry Medical, Wisbech Mobility, Capable Direct, Medisave, Great British Mobility, read 18 September 2026.
- UK dealer product pages named in each pick, prices read 18 September 2026
Review Mobility earns commission on some purchases made through links on this page, and sells optional paid listings to mobility companies. No manufacturer or retailer paid to appear here, none saw this page before publication, and a paid listing does not change what we publish. Corrections: hello@reviewmobility.co.uk.
Published 2 October 2024 · Last updated 13 October 2026
